We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Efland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good, but some flaws”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

First the good stuff. Our room was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable, the shower spray full and hot, and the staff friendly and helpful. For a budget motel, we know we can count on Microtel, and I usually give each one 5 stars. I am removing 2 stars from this one, though, for 2 reasons.
First, the tub floor lacked any texturizing and was very smooth and slippery. We both felt anxious about falling, and with no bar to hold onto, it was difficult even getting out of the shower without slipping. I consider that a danger.
Second, I personally found it very offensive that there was a little tray (where the small coffee service usually is) that held a variety of what looked like complimentary snacks. There was a tiny vial of m&m’s, a teensy packet of peanuts, a small packet of candied pecans, etc. My husband reached for one of the packets and was about to tear it open, when I stopped him and examined it closely. Each item had a smaller than dime-sized little white sticker somewhere on it with text too small to read without magnification, that said the treats were provided for your convenience and that if consumed a charge would be added to your bill. The little packet of candied pecans was seven dollars! And the other packets were $4. I have to wonder how many people fail to see the tiny nearly hidden stickers and think that those things are free, only to see a $25 charge added to their bill when they get home. And I missed the little coffee pot with a 2-serving packet of coffee. They said they’d removed that from the rooms since we could get coffee in the lounge. Little things make a difference, folks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Diana B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit here with us. As we are trying a few new things it is nice to receive feedback on these and see how our regulars feel about these changes. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration. As you are correct with the shower we are working or getting the textured feature back in the tubs. Thank you again for the kind words and we hope to see you again.

Thank you,
The management team at
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham, Brunswick North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    367
    283
    170
    131
See reviews for
510
391
112
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coal Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We are here for one night. The staff is wonderful. What hotel at this value serves cookies and nachos for happy hour! The bedding was new. Each bed had three pillows and a very nice mattress pad. The down(like) comforter was a huge draw for me. I hate bedspreads that have been used continually. The room was large. Not too many amenities and the pool was a big disappointment ...very dirty! Flat screen tv was nice and appreciated the WIFI in room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rox6415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Rox6415

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to. I am sorry to hear that you were not 100% pleased with your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Sincerely,
The management team at
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham, Brunswick North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Muskegon
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Service/staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was adequate; no shower pressure and big red stain on floor. Bed was extremely uncomfortable. Breakfast was okay. The same every day. If you're only spending one night here and need a place close to the Interstate, then this would suffice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank CRamseyNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear CRamseyNM,

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations during your recent visit to our property. I have shared your feedback with our entire team to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior customer service and accommodations on your next visit to the area.

Warm regards,
The team at
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had to travel due to a family emergency and only needed a place to crash overnight. We arrived about 3 am and left by check out time. We have stayed in other Microtels and found them to be fine for no frills, safe, basic shelter at a decent price. This one was below our expectations. The bathroom fan had painted-over mildew/mold stains all around it. There was, of all things, an "upsell" area in the room for snacks that would be charged back to the room if you took anything, I guess? Like a snacks/liquor frig in other hotels, but sitting out in the open on a counter. The window in our room was unlocked when we arrived. The air conditioner unit did not keep the room cool. The pillows were awful. The water for our morning showers was tepid at best - this is not the place to take a hot shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear candee0512,

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations during your recent visit to our property. I have shared your feedback with our entire team to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior customer service and accommodations on your next visit to the area.

Warm regards,
The team at
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkinsville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I will not stay at this hotel again. I don't expect a lot for what this hotel charges per night, but I do expect a hotel to provide what their website claims they do. After checking in, I immediately realized there was no refrigerator in the room, even though their website says all rooms have one. I have food allergies and pack food when I travel. I turned on the AC unit and immediately had to turn it off because the noise it made was almost deafening. The front desk attendant said he would have to put in work orders for the AC and to get a refrigerator, but those issues wouldn't be fixed until the next day. Their description on Hotels.com says the property had a total renovation in November of 2013, yet the AC/Heating unit looked to be at least 20 years old and so did the bathroom fixtures. The "plush pillow top bed" is an old mattress with a thin pillow top added to it. Their check out time of 12:00 pm listed on their website is wrong. Checkout is actually 11:00 am. The "all-season" pool was cloudy. The free Wi-Fi in the room is spotty at best, and sometimes didn't work at all. It was faster for me to walk outside and use the 4G network on my phone. The fact that they list a "game room" as one of their amenities is laughable. The "game room" consists solely of one foosball table that is in the small alcove at the bottom of the stairwell. The only good things I have to say are that my room was clean and there was a lot of space outside the hotel to walk my dog.

Green Features: Even though I hung up my towels to reuse the next day, the staff changed them all out anyway.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zookeeper53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear zookeeper53,

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations during your recent visit to our property. I have shared your feedback with our entire team to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior customer service and accommodations on your ext visit to the area.

Warm regards,
The team at
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brunswick hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Brunswick GA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brunswick I-95
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
1.8 mi away
M-Star Brunswick
M-Star Brunswick
#15 of 36 in Brunswick
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
Address: 146 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525-6736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North hotel on your next trip through southeastern Georgia and experience a true Southern gem. Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North is an award winning hotel, whether you're visiting southeastern Georgia for business or leisure. We’re just off Interstate 95, and only minutes from the airport, Jekyll Island, popular restaurants, and other attractions. In addition to our friendly staff and great service, we offer a 35-item hot breakfast buffet, a 24-hour coffee bar and citrus refreshment center, nacho's social hour, freshly baked cookies each evening, and a lobby gift shop for all your desires. You can work out in the 24-hour fitness center, work hard in the business center, or relax and unwind by the pool, and there's even a game room for your enjoyment. Our spacious guest accommodations feature plush, pillow-top beds with triple-sheeted bedding; bedside candy; flat screen TV's with expanded cable TV plus HBO; an array of personal care amenities; and a coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave. With everything you need to feel right at home, you’ll love our Southern hospitality at the Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham - Brunswick North location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Brunswick Hotel Brunswick
Microtel Inn And Suites Brunswick
Microtel Brunswick
Brunswick Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing