We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was NOT a good experience. We reserved a Queen room with a sofa bed. On check in we were sent to a room which was already occupied. The next room we were sent to had a tiny, extremely soft double bed. When I returned again to the desk I was first told that I had reserved that room, but I had the email confirming a queen. Then she tried to say I had gotten a discount because the rate was $5 cheaper than usual. That was a AAA discount. After two lies she then said she had no other rooms and I could just check out. At 9 pm I was not about to start looking for a new hotel, so I declined. When I returned to the room, my key no longer worked!
The hotel itself is attached to a mall, which is strange and makes for a lot of traffic around the entry. The lobby is not the elegant atrium one expects at an Embassy Suites, but more of a loud, chaotic nothing, with a full view of service areas. I cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nannya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Please accept our apologies for the situation you encountered. All of the rooms at Embassy Suites Brunswick consist of two rooms, most with a king bed in the bedroom and a limited few with either two queens or one queen bed, all of which were installed fairly recently. The sitting room of every suite has a full-sized sleeper sofa. Apparently you reserved the last room in house that night - a smaller suite with one queen bed. It appears that there were several mistakes made during the check in process which created a disappointing situation - something we never want to happen and which we would always want to rectify if we know about it. Please contact me directly so that we can resolve your concerns.

We sincerely hope that you will consider trying the Embassy Suites Brunswick again whenever your travels bring you to or through Georgia's Golden Isles. We a committed to delivering an excellent experience every time.

With warm regards,

Karen Bass, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel seemed confused with handling a expedia reservation and really didnt want us there. I suspect they had higher paying guests and were happy to transfer me out.

At check-in, the clerk first said my card was declined in a loud voice. I looked at her strangely and she said it was either declined or it didn't swipe correctly, so she would try again. Of course, the second time it worked. She gave us a key to room. We went to the room and key worked, but the latch was locked and there was someone else in the room. Upon returning to the front desk, she proposed a different room than we had reserved. I asked for another option which ended up being another hotel. At least it was supposed to be free. I spent the next 2 hours on the phone between the hotel and expedia and heard various stories about who could do what to refund me for the trip. In the meantime, I moved to the Fairfield by Marriot close by.

The hotel personnel were thoroughly confused. The hotel courtyard (Embassy Suites are centered around an internal courtyard) also smelled like food when we entered the area at 10 pm at night.

If you do have issues, I strongly recommend you get them resolved at the desk and not believe in ffuture promises of refunds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stwhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Ouch! What an embarrassing and upsetting situation! It is always our intent to provide exactly what you reserved for the dates you reserved and at the rate you were promised. When situations arise which create an overbooking (like the gentleman who stayed over in the room which had been assigned to you), we promise to arrange a comparable accommodation within the hotel or, if no alternative is available, to pay for the first night’s stay at as nearly comparable location as we can arrange.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the distress caused by the situation you encountered this weekend. We have already worked with Expedia to assure that proper credit was issued for your prepayment. Fortunately, most of our guests enjoy an excellent stay at Embassy Suites Brunswick. When we do make mistakes, we want to always correct them. Thank you for allowing us to make this right.

Karen Bass, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We truly enjoyed our 2-day stay at this hotel. We chose to stay at this hotel versus the Hampton on Jekyll Island because of the value and the better reviews. We received a 1-bedroom suite (really 3 rooms - a bedroom, kitchen and living room - all with separate doors) for approx $80/night versus the Hampton on Jekyll, which charges appro. $122/night for a 2-bed single room. Although we had to drive to/fr the island each day (approx 25 minutes), having space to stretch out, a kitchen (we bought groceries at nearby Piggly Wiggly and had Lean Cuisines and salads versus much of the island's choices this time of year - expensive hotel restaurants or fried food). The Embassy Suites also offer a Ruby Tuesday's menu at normal prices.

We enjoyed the scented filters in the AC system and having two separate flat-screen TVs. The breakfast was also great - made to order omelets and plenty of other hot foods. The wifi also great, and we had no problems with connectivity. This is another reason we stayed here versus the Hampton on Jekyll.

We also found utensils we needed for dinner in the breakfast area during the manager's special (we were invited but did not go -but happy hour looked great), and housekeeping brought us a couple of trash bags because we found the hotel trash cans too small for using the kitchen for several meals. It would have been great to have paper towels.

The only thing we found amiss here was the low-control AC system. We could not get the rooms cool enough, so we were a little uncomfortable in the middle of the night. We like very cool hotel rooms. The sheets are a little scratchy, as well.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanierndos, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Wow, we are so very glad that you chose to stay with us with your family in January vs. staying on the Island, we are truly honored.

It’s always great to hear that our spacious two room suites, the convenience of having a mini-fridge, microwave oven, and coffee/tea maker in our wet bar made your family’s stay with us a comfortable and convenient one! As well, we are glad that you and your family found our breakfast, evening manager’s reception, Wi-Fi & the addition of the Hi-Def, 42” Flat screen TV’s in both the living room and separate bedroom(s), to be enjoyable amenities adding to the value of your family’s stay with us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future to the Embassy Suites Hotel of the Golden Isles of Georgia ~ best wishes in the coming months ahead.

At your service,
The entire TEAM & Management – Embassy Suites Hotel of the Golden Isles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were really clean and well appointed. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanierndos, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

We are honored that you chose to stay with us here at the Embassy Suites Hotel of the Golden Isles during your recent business travels, and that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Brunswick.
At your service,
The entire TEAM & Management, Embassy Suites Hotel of the Golden Isles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Too much air freshener sprayed in suite. Water hot enough to boil a lobster.,but a very nice room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pageezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanierndos, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Thank you so very much for allowing us, the Embassy Suites Hotel of Brunswick & the Golden Isles of Georgia, to accommodate you during your recent travels. We also appreciate your comments regarding the air freshener and the hot water ~ as, without having this input we would not be able to fine tune in these areas.
From the entire TEAM at Embassy Suites Brunswick, we wish you and yours a very Happy and prosperous New Year!
At your service,
TEAM – Embassy Suites Hotel, Brunswick & the Golden Isles of Georgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This hotel was great. The rooms were very nice, large, comfortable and clean. The free breakfast was fantastic; you couldn't get a better breakfast at a restaurant that you pay for. The evening happy hour was also great. Low key atmosphere with beer, wine and mixed drinks free. There were various and plenty of snacks. The hotel lobby is very professional and large. All these things for a very inexpensive price. The hotel is connected to a mall. The mall is small but you have a place to shop, walk and eat. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLMillCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanierndos, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

We are thrilled that during your recent travels to the Golden Isles of Georgia, you chose to stay with us here at the Embassy Suites Hotel…. It was indeed our pleasure and honor to have accommodated you. It is always great to hear about our guests overall experience upon staying with us, but it’s even that much better to learn that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening reception. As well, that you were able to take advantage of the attached Glynn Place Mall.
Were you also able to take advantage of our in-suite dining provided by the Ruby Tuesday’s restaurant located just across from us in the mall –or, possibly catch a movie at the Movie Theatre also located just across from us in the Mall? If you weren’t able to take advantage of dinner or a movie, this is your official invitation on your return trip… just contact our sales office here and we can make the arrangements for you.
At your service, the entire TEAM & management – Embassy Suites Hotel of Brunswick & the Golden Isles of Georgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I have been in Brunswick for several meetings and we always go here. They are all such nice people! The room is always clean and they have the best TP of any place I have stayed. I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leightonjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanierndos, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

We are honored that you continue to stay with us here at the Embassy Suites Hotel of Brunswick & the Golden Isles for your meetings. As well, we always strive to provide the very best service possible and make our guests meetings and stays with us as comfortable as well as provide the best value.
Thank you again & we will look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
At your service,
The entire TEAM & Management, Embassy Suites Hotel – Brunswick, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brunswick-I-95 (Exit 38)
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Brunswick
Courtyard Brunswick
#3 of 37 in Brunswick
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Brunswick I-95, GA
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick

Address: 500 Mall Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range: £115 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Brunswick is an all-suite hotel located in the heart of Georgia's Colonial Coast. Located just two miles from I-95, the Embassy Suites Brunswick is located a short drive from St. Simon's Island, Jekyll Island, and Savannah. Attached to Glynn Place Mall, the hotel offers shopping without getting in your car! As with all other Embassy Suites hotels, the Embassy Suites Brunswick provides complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, evening Manager's Reception, and spacious, two-room suites. In addition, we offer complimentary wireless internet access and boast on-site business center, fitness center and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Brunswick Hotel Brunswick
Brunswick Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing