We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly Pleasant Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Franklin TN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Mostly Pleasant Stop”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

On a trip back from Florida we picked this location based on it's pet friendly policy and coupon. When we checked in we asked for a non-smoking king and were advised they only had a handicapped accessible room. We agreed, handed over our coupon and went up to the room.
We were at the very end of the hall farthest from the road and my first thought was "wow this will be super quiet".
After unpacking we went back out and found a nice assortment of restaurants nearby. We came though the lobby and found some cookies and coffee for dessert. The kids birthday party happening in the indoor poor was still in full swing. So not a good option for a relaxing dip.
When we returned to the room to relax and watch some tv we heard a thumping bass sound. At first we thought someone had parked in the vacant lot we were overlooking behind the hotel and had their stereo on. We kept trying to figure out where the sound was coming from. Later we realized there was a dive bar adjacent to the unattractive vacant lot behind us and it was in full party mode til 1PM. Luckily we were so tired we fell asleep, woke up around midnight and my husband took the dog out for a quick walk. The bar was still jamming and the police had arrived!
So the thumping bass was a bit annoying but the room overall was quiet otherwise aside from the occaisional slamming door. We didn't hear a thing til the next morning when we did hear water running.
The room itself was clean and attractive with some dated aspects. It did have an old fashioned bedspread which was kind of creepy...I am sure they don't wash those after each guest. We folded it down near the foot of the bed which just left us with a thin blanket. It did have an old tube style tv but it worked fine.
The pillows on the bed were flat as can be. I did go to the lobby and asked for a couple of extra ones so we could prop ourselves up to watch the tv.
The bathroom was super clean and large and the handicapped version had a walk in shower.
The next morning we took turns going down for breakfast. There were a few hot items, waffles and the usual muffins, toast and cereal. They had a nice juice machine that had delicious peach/citrus juice. It was amazing that many of our fellow guests came down in their pajamas to eat breakfast. Hadn't seen that before at other places. Maybe it is a Georgia thing?
Otherwise the breakfast and stay overall was pleasant and restful. If you choose this place you may not want to be on the backside at the very end of the hall...maybe then you won't hear the noise from the bar next door, or maybe you could just jump the fence and join the fun?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartersvilleGM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear "TNGal",

I am so glad you chose Country Inn and Suites for your stay. I am very sad to hear about some of the difficulties that you had at the hotel but was also glad to hear that there were some positives also. Please feel free to contact me anytime if you would like to discuss some of the issues you had! 706-625-6500

Yours in Hospitality,
Kevin Callesoe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    71
    40
    25
    18
See reviews for
139
52
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I have made it a habit to drive a little further from my locations for business to stay at a Country Inn & Suites because of the quality that they consistently afford. Well I finally ran into one that did not meet the standard that I have held them to. Don't get me wrong, it was better than other experiences I have had but this was an older hotel. The beds were old, the sheets not as comfortable, no flat screen TVs and things were aged in general. The breakfast was good but did lack in comparison to others. I would stay here again but wanted to give an honest report.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear 'Bill0003',
I am so very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Please give me a call at 706-625-6500 so thay we may discuss the issues you had. I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours in Hospitality,
Ashley Layton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Pros: Hotel looks like it has been refurbished recently. Room was clean. Bathroom was roomy and clean with new counter tops and curved shower curtain rod which is nice. Plenty of towels. Breakfast was good enough. Waffles, eggs, canadian bacon, oatmeal, muffins, toast, cereal. Was easy to find off the highway. Cracker Barrel ,Logan's Steakhouse and several fast food restaurants close by. Outlet mall just down the street. Had a coupon we found on travelcoupon.com that gave us a little bit of a discount.
Cons: It smelled old, a little musty even though it looked new. Using the air conditioner made the smell worse. Towels were not very big. The hot tub was low on water and it had a frothy sudsy layer which I have never seen in a hot tub before. Beds were very hard and the pillows were flat and not comfy at all. Had an old timey bedspread/cover. Was a horrible nights sleep for me. Keep hearing a thumping/bumping noise during the night. Not sure if it was the air conditioning unit or what. The breakfast area was very small. Never any cookies out when we were in the Lobby. Had a big old tv and the remote didn't work. Said we had HBO channels but could never find them on the tv. Overall, I guess it was ok but we would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzeq62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear 'Suzeq62'

I am so sorry for all the issues you had at the hotel. Please call me directly at 706-625-6500 so we can address all that went wrong during your stay. I would love to be able to host you again, and look forward to being able to assist you!

Yours In Hospitality,
Ashley Layton

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stay here every time we drive from the Midwest to Orlando and back as we travel with our two dogs. One is special needs; he is orthopedically challenged and refuses to walk on the wood floors in the lobby!!! The staff is always kind and understanding and helpful about that. The rooms are clean and well-stocked. Families seeem to use and enjoy the indoor pool and whirlpool. My one criticism is that maintenance issues are very slow to be addressed (like the inoperable side doors on the first floor, and the breakfast seems to have lost some quality over the past few years. The internet service could use some upgrades and improvement, too. It is not secure. Yet we find still find this motel a great place to stay. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear 'MFHoosier',

As always we love when you and your precious dogs come in. I can say on behalf of all of the staff, we all fell in love with them! I am sorry to hear about some of the issues you had ,if you would like to call me directly please do so at 706-625-6500. We welcome anything thats helps us grow and make a better hotel. Can't wait to see you guys again soon!

Yours In Hosptiality,
Ashley Layton

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Sherri is fanTAStic--I've traveled a lot, and she's the best hotel clerk / receptionist I've ever met! The rest of the staff is great, too--Kimberly, Jacqueline, Blake, and all the rest (I've met them all but don't remember all their names!). This is the best deal in Calhoun, and better than any deal in Dalton. The rooms are large, there's a microwave and fridge (pretty big one!) in literally EVERY room. Housekeeping always keeps everything tidy and replenishes everything. The *only* thing I don't like is the hot breakfast, but that's easy to fix, and if you're not relying on that anyway, it won't matter:)

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but if you have a problem with yours, they will switch it gladly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaggypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Country Inn and Suites in Calhoun, GA and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the occasion to welcome you back again and to exceed your expectations on your next stay.

Yours in Hospitality,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairsville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We spent two nights at the Calhoun Country Inn and Suites.

PROS: Sherry, the desk clerk, is amazingly sweet. The cookies are very good. They readily switched our room and even upgraded us when there was a problem.

CONS: Unfortunately, several of the NONSMOKING rooms truly smell like SMOKE. The suite that we finally ended up in is very lovely, BUT... we didn't notice that the door wouldn't lock until after we had already unloaded all of our stuff for our 2 night stay. They kindly offered yet another room, but eventually they figured out that we could close the door with an upward motion and it would lock. That was great, so we spent the night there.

We woke up in the morning to find that the toilet had not been flushing all night, so we alerted the desk clerk and headed out for a few hours. When we returned, the toilet was still broken AND the door to the room was not closed all the way. The maid had cleaned, but she didn't know to be careful about the broken door. Fortunately, nothing was missing from our room.

The maintenance person was available that day, so he plunged the toilet and fixed the door.

All is well that ends well, but overall the hotel is just average.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharronLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Blairsville,

Thank you so much for your positive comments on our hotel. But the negative was what concerned me the most. I am so very sorry about the issues you had during your stay with us. At Country Inn and Suites we love our guests and we want them to feel right at home when they walk in the door. Please contact me so we may talk further about the situation. You may contact me at the office at 706-625-6500.

Yours in Hospitality,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stopped here on our way back from Florida. We had a coupon to get a deal, but it would have been worth the full price. Room was spacious with sofafed, king bed, and sitting area. Staff was very friendly and hotel was very clean. The breakfast served was good, with hot and cold selections. We didn't use it because it was very busy on a Saturday night, but the pool was indoors and heated. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjk47150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear 'kjk47150',

We are so glad to read your review sharing what a pleasant stay you had with us! Thank you so much for your kind words and letting people know about the coupon booklet! Its a great thing to have traveling anywhere! Should you visit the Calhoun area again in the future, please do consider returning to us and at that time we invite you to contact the hotel direct when making your reservation, as we do value our guests greatly and are always sure to honor your loyalty! Thank you again and we wish you the best in travel!

With sincere gratitude,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calhoun
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Calhoun
Super 8 Calhoun
#1 of 17 in Calhoun
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
#5 of 17 in Calhoun
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dalton
Hampton Inn Dalton
#5 of 22 in Dalton
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
Address: 1033 Fairmount Hwy, Calhoun, GA 30701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Calhoun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country inn & Suites in Calhoun, Georgia is a 64 room hotel. We have 19 Suites available. We are located less than a mile from the Premier Outlet Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Calhoun Hotel Calhoun
Country Inn And Suites Calhoun
Country Inn Calhoun
Calhoun Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing