We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were clean, breakfast was terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our room was clean and well equipped. Beds were comfortable enough to sleep. The bathrooms next to the pool were out of paper, and their trash cans overflowing. The pool was clean, but extremely cold. The breakfast was terrible. It was explained by the staff as open 7a.m. to 10:30am, but when we arrived shortly before 8a.m., many items were empty and would not be refilled. The biscuits were as hard as hockey pucks, sausage patties were rubbery and tasted terrible. The waffle maker stuck EVERY time people used it, even though they thickly coated it with spray. The only good things were the dry cereal, yogurt, and the individual milk boxes.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnCalhoun71, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hello

Thank you for taking time to write a review. While I am happy you enjoyed your room, I was disappointed that our breakfast was not to your standard. We strive very hard to make The Country Inn and Suites a enjoyable experience. I have spoken to the Breakfast Staff regarding your issues and they have assured me that the biscuits will be hot and all breakfast items stocked and ready. We hope on your next trip through our area that you will try us again.

Have a Wonderful Day

Jacque

Jacque Eells
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites
Calhoun, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were in for a funeral. Had stayed here before & loved this place. The staff was great, knew us from the last we were here, which was about two years ago. The room was nice & quiet. Our dogs loved the place. We had to change rooms the next morning, but it was okay, they gave us a better room for the same price we were paying. We didn't use the pool or eat at the breakfast, so I can't say how they were. Next time we'll try them out. The only thing I would say, was the price was somewhat high, I would recommend this place. It's better then some of the hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The hotel is easy to get on & off the highway. Close to resturants & outlet mall. Great plac...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnCalhoun71, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hello

Thank You for such a nice compliment on our Country Inn and Suites in Calhoun. We are sorry that you were visiting on such a sad occasion, however are happy that you chose us to stay with.

We strive to make the Calhoun Country Inn and Suites your "Home Away From Home"

Thank You Again

Jacque

Jacque Eells
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites
Calhoun, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The beds and pillows were very comfortable. However, the pool, whirlpool, and the pool room, itself, smelled terrible. The water was very cloudy and green. The next morning we checked this area and nothing had changed. As for the breakfast, the sunny-side up eggs were dehydrated as were the potatoes. The fresh baked cookies were delicious, though. We were told they had a baseball team there over the weekend. But I don't know how so much damage could have been done to the pool area and food. The people working there were very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikkin43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Customer Care Specialist at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. With regards to the issues you have highlighted regarding the pool area and the breakfast. may I assure you that I have discussed these issues with the hotel management team so they may be aware and take any remedial action necessary to ensure such issues do not reoccur. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Checkin was quick and staff very personable.

First room they gave me - dirty ear bud on the window ledge, fridge that banged away all night and a pipe somewhere which was clattering every 30 seconds or so. I stuck it out for two nights, then advised at the front desk. They immediately offered to move my room on my return that day - very much appreciated.

Second room - 2 double beds. Chose the one away from the door / bathroom, went to climb in and found sheets which had already been used, hairs and other bits in the bed. So I used the other one. It was comfortable, room was very quiet once I unplugged the refrigerator in here.

Breakfast - complimentary. Coffee was horrid, juice ended up being a glass of coloured water as the concentrate had obviously run out and this was at 6.30 in the morning. There seemed to be a coachload in the hotel, and they had gone through like a pack of locusts. Took a muffin to eat in the car on the way to work. We then went to Walmart and bought breakfast makings to have at work, and bought coffee on the way each morning. Really very disappointing, but then this is appearing to be standard for hotels which don't have restaurants and offer complimentary breakfasts.

Wifi was sporadic at best.The laundry was a bonus and the desk was happy to give me change for the machines, a vending machine had soap powder. Very good value. The indoor pool made the reception area stink of chlorine.

Overall - Reasonable value if all you wanted was somewhere to sleep. If you want to do it inexpensively, this is for you. If you have a few extra dollars, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We needed somewhere to stop off from the highway and this hotel satisfied that need perfectly. Hotel was easy on/off highway. Hotel was clean, bed was comfy, service was good, free breakfast was good, best of all the price was very reasonable, very satisfied, well worth the price

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballydehob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Rates were not too bad if done over the phone or internet. We got a travel book from a gas station that got us a lower rate. Rooms were clean and not smelly. it was a little loud but not too bad. The chlorine in the pool was overwhelming and burned our eyes before even going in the water. Breakfast was ok. A little bit more variety would be better. Beds were a little harder than we wanted. Otherwise ok

Room Tip: Look for the hotel magizines on the interstate to get a good value.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stopped here on our way north from Florida. Very clean and comfortable after a 10 hour drive. On several occasions have stayed in Country Inn and Suites and was able to get a free night with our points.

Room Tip: We actually used our points and stayed free which was awesome.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgmizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calhoun
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Calhoun
Super 8 Calhoun
#1 of 17 in Calhoun
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
#4 of 17 in Calhoun
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Adairsville/Calhoun Area
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dalton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun

Address: 1033 Fairmount Hwy, Calhoun, GA 30701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Calhoun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Price Range: £74 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country inn & Suites in Calhoun, Georgia is a 64 room hotel. We have 19 Suites available. We are located less than a mile from the Premier Outlet Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Calhoun Hotel Calhoun
Country Inn And Suites Calhoun
Country Inn Calhoun
Calhoun Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing