We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was my first experience in a "pet friendly" hotel. I was traveling with my cat and had put in almost 1300 miles. Check in was chaos as the clerk was also caring for her baby in a playpen behind the counter and keeping her eye on a small girl running around the lobby. The cost was also excessive, comparatively speaking. The first thing I noted upon entering my room was the odor, musty, and dirty mixed. Once the curtains were opened I could see why. Large dark stains covered the carpeting, the walls were stained as well (?) How that happens is beyond me. The six panel bathroom door was dirty with fingerprints and what appeared to be urine stains caked in dust on the bottom panel. The entire room was dusty as was the bed spread. Three of the four bathroom towels were badly stained as were the washcloths. One lone small bottle of shampoo was provided. I returned to the desk to see if another room was available and described the condition of the room. A woeful smile and an "I'm sorry" was all I got, plus two bars of soap. Luckily I always bring my own blanket and I gingerly removed the bedspread surprised to find clean sheets albeit, musty. I did not check the mattress nor pillow covers as I was almost too tired to care at this point. Next AM I checked out the Free Breakfast dismayed to find food scattered about the counter and crusty serving spoons. I wasn't surprised.
Take my advice and skip this one, my cat is still ticked off at me!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 86Allie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had always stayed at the Hampton Inn at this exit when travelling back and forth to Florida but it has changed hands so we decided to try the Laquinta. Have stayed at LQ's in the past but will NEVER stay here again. Filthy carpet, bad animal odors, no air conditioning in the hallways, black mold in the dining room fridge and woke up with bites in our legs. LaQuinta should revoke their partnership in their chain as this hotel does not measure up. Tried to lodge a complaint online and only received a computer generated response. Showed a total lack of interest on the manager's part. The young lady at the front desk however was a pleasure to deal with.

Room Tip: a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank OhioSnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel has dirty stairways,The manager was rude. They Change your booking information then argue with you about it.The stairways are narrow, and the carpet needs replacing has tears in it.Not to mention they have no elevators to the upstairs. I hope you are not handicapped and have a strong back. better hope the sprinkler system works as narrow as the stairway is you probably would get trampled getting out of the upstairs level.Be careful booking they tell you one thing and when you get there your information and there information certainly will not match.

Room Tip: Do not stay upstairs at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have stayed at many different La Quintas in the past because we travel with pets. They are usually fine, not where I would stay if I didn't travel with pets, but clean & friendly. This did not happen at the hotel in Calhoun,GA. First off we were traveling with our grandkids who planned on using the pool but the pool was closed and they never bothered to mention it when I made the reservation earlier that week. Second they have no elevator. We had to haul luggage for four and the pets up the stairs. The entire hotel looks tired, in need of a good cleaning and new bedspreads. I was glad we were only there for one short night. We will never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
1
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed at La Quinta Inn & Suites in Calhoun, GA. The staff was very friendly and the hotel location was convenient. The room was clean and very comfortable. I must say I was pleasantly surprised at the overall quality, cost, cleanliness and comfort of this hotel. When I am on the road, I will definitely be "waking up on the bright side!"

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dayton, Ohio, USA
21
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Employees were very helpful to our family. We had two handicapped people in our party and they did everyyhing to make our stay pleasant.They answered all questions we had about the area and directed us where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calhoun
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Calhoun, GA
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Calhoun
Super 8 Calhoun
#1 of 17 in Calhoun
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Adairsville/Calhoun Area
21 mi away
Howard Johnson Dalton
Howard Johnson Dalton
#4 of 22 in Dalton
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Calhoun

Address: 150 Cracker Barrel Dr, Calhoun, GA 30701-3974
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Calhoun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Calhoun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-75, the La Quinta Inn Calhoun is just 2 miles east of historic downtown and several area attractions. Less than an hour drive north to Chattanooga or south to Atlanta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn Calhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing