We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing”

Red Top Mountain State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular park on Lake Allatoona is ideal for swimming, water skiing and fishing. Visitors can bring their own boats or rent from nearby marinas. A sand swimming beach is nestled in a cove and surrounded by trees, providing a great place to cool off during summer. Picnic shelters and group shelters may be rented for meetings, parties, reunions and other celebrations. Guests often stay overnight in rental cottages, a spacious campground or the park’s lakeside yurt. While best known for the 12,000-acre lake, Red Top Mountain is also a hiker’s haven. More than 15 miles of trails wind through the forested park, providing opportunities for exercise and nature photography. A short, paved trail behind the park office is suitable for wheelchairs and strollers, welcoming guests to explore a reconstructed 1860s homestead. The gravel-topped 4-mile Iron Hill Trail is open to both hikers and bikers, offering pretty views of the lake’s shoreline.Named for the soil’s rich red color caused by high iron-ore content, Red Top Mountain was once an important mining area. Iron pour programs are occasionally held near the Vaughn Cabin behind the park office.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fishing”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our day fishing at one of the picnicking areas here in the park. Of course, we didn't catch anything, but the park is amazing. It's quiet and beautiful. Great shore areas to get close to the water. We saw a couple pull up and hop in the water and swim to the other shore and back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jentlewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    79
    18
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barbara LeFranc"Family Reunion Cookout"”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had our 44th Family Reunion Cook-out here, and it was one of the best we have ever had. We reserved one of the group shelters which was very spacious, with a full kitchen. We also went swimming at the beach there. It was very enjoyable and relaxing. The view of the lake is absolutely beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bluegrass bands Summer Saturday nights”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Friends of Red Top Mountain sponsor a series of Bluegrass bands that play at the Lodge most Summer saturday nights. A different band plays each week. The bands are quite good and the price of admission is your park pass ($5.00)... and a "pass the bucket" voluntary donation. Bring a folding chair or a blanket, sit under the stars and listen to some classic bluegrass played by some pretty awesome musicians. The show starts at 8:00PM and usualy runs for an hour and a half or so. If you like bluegrass music, this is quite a bargain. Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank steverinoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great state campground. The lake entering the park is beautiful. The RV spot we had was very spacious and across the street was the bathhouse and a little down from that - I believe it was site 91 - there is a way you can hike down the hill to an area of the lake that is very private. It was just us and a family down in the canal off the lake and they had floats. Very peaceful! The only downside of camping here was the bugs. We have camped at numerous campgrounds and this one was the worst for bugs especially daddy long legs. The fireflies were breathtaking!! The exit past Red Top had lots to offer - Chickfila, Walmart, Shoney's, McDonald's, etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tpag8rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok hiking trails, scenic campground”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Park is chock full of hiking trails but sadly lacking in biking trails. The one trail that is open to bikes is actually an old series of fire road that used to be a campground. Hikers have other options but they crowd the only bike trail with kiddie strollers and walk 3 deep across so on the weekends it is pretty much impossible to ride without frustration at pedestrian traffic.

I have also encountered many loose dogs on the trail and the park staff doesn't do much to enforce leash laws.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mtbxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Top Mountain State Park also viewed

 

Been to Red Top Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing