We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely park - cottages pretty nice too”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cartersville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Top Mountain Park
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cartersville
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had our Family Reunion here at Red Top this summer 2013. We rented all the cabins that were available to rent. Warning: state policy is that cabins can only be rented 12 months out, but someone was allowing them to be rented earlier than that... so if you want a group of cabins, don't wait for 12 months out because they could be reserved prematurely. Our family does plan to come back to Red Top again in the future.

Cabins were nice, especially the ones with two bathrooms. They all sleep 8 people, each bedroom having 2 double-sized beds. My daughter preferred sleeping on the couch in front of the tv. There are no telephones, no wifi, not even maid service. Although we were given fresh towels, we were not supplied with extra soap or toilet paper, so be prepared to go to the lodge for a fresh supply or bring your own. Our bathroom light was out and did not get replaced during our stay (yes, I did tell the lodge on day #1).

This is a somewhat rustic location, so be prepared for spiders & cockroaches to surprise you in your cabin and tics to hitch a ride on your kids. Keep your food sealed tightly if you leave it on the kitchen counter.

The lake is terrific if you have/rent a boat. We rented a picnic pavilion for only $50 - I think pavilion #7 is my favorite. And nearby Cartersville has an amazing art museum... a huge surprise to find one of this calliber this far outside of Atlanta. A day trip to Atlanta is very doable from here.

Room Tip: When choosing a cabin, be aware there is one "dog friendly" cabin, one handicap cabin, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We called early in the week and was told we didn't need RSVP so drove in RV from Indiana. Called two hours out and was asked abt reservation- was told to come and get packet. Got there, CLOSED. Picked up late packet, gate CLOSED.. Told to find 'Host'.. NO HOST! Camper let us in so we could get out of park.. Really tight and hilly..was told that the host is never there we shld go elsewhere. So 12hours later with RV and two small children we ended up at the Best Western. Never again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluepineapple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a fantastic time during our visit (second one night trip we've done here in a row) this time and I must add, the staff is phenomenal! The park staff are always very kind and effective during check-in, so we were shocked this time when the party checking in in front of us were directly insulting them. We realized that a minor mistake had been made and the party checking in started shouting at them and making things a much bigger deal than they were-- but, the park staff kept composure and were very polite.

Besides this, inexpensive water side camping was very easy to find and very secluded this visit! The water was very warm and the perfect time to hit the lake for kayakers. It's super easy to navigate after the first time you go, and they have plenty of restrooms and are adding more as I type.

Room Tip: Go during non-holidays/check in early for campgrounds by the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svallish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We reserved several cabins at Red Top Mountain this past weekend for a family reunion. A beautiful spot on the lake! Cottage Rd was wonderfully shaded, tranquil and rustic. Great views of the lake, although no real area to swim (better to go to the public areas for swimming). The cabins were very clean and well-equipped. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the cabinets, appliances, dishes, bathroom and beds. Comfy accommodations - and all very close so we just had to walk to each cabin for visiting! Overall it was a great experience. The only downside was the public area where picnic pavilions and beach is located - VERY crowded and the beach area was just okay...way too crowded at the beach area, which made the water just a little too icky for me...but it's June and it was a Saturday, so it's to be expected. I would definitely recommend Red Top Mtn for families looking for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockerpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We tent camped over Memorial Day weekend, no electricity. The camp was packed and when it is full you definitely feel too close to other campers, I could hear people snoring. I would go on a less popular weekend next time. The website said check in was at 1pm, I arrived at 12:30 to try to get a lake side spot, the camp was already full. After talking to other campers people had paid for camping two days prior and just put their tag on the lakeside spot and went home, you won't get a nice spot unless you do that on a busy weekend.
The bathrooms were fine, but I noticed the one closest to us was 10 times cleaner than the one further in, maybe because we were next to the camp monitors?

We could fit our two room tent on our site, no problem, we had a smaller tent for our friend and it was no problem to put it off to the side, it wasn't on the actual camp pad but it was flat and fine.

We drove down to the designated swimming lake and it wasn't great, super small, other parks on Lake Acworth have much better swimming lakes. If you are going there for the swimming lake, I'd look elsewhere. Our friends found an area to swim off of one of the trails, we went back the next day and boats were parked in all the possible swimming spots, so it didn't work out for us.

The moral of my story is don't go on a holiday weekend. Getting a lakeside spot would have made all the difference, we could have had swimming at our site, and further away from everyone ( we had to be next to road by the time I arrived .)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Vacationed for one night in the campground in a tent site with power and water. Went midweek which meant we have the section all to ourselves. Very peaceful. Very quite. The ranger at the front station was helpful with directions and very pleasant. The park is very easy to navigate around. You can make reservations but you are only garunteed the type of campsite not the location meaning we drove around for 30min debating which site offered the best options (kind of a pain and a waste of time). The beach area is small and can be crowded and loud with screaming children but the lake is very large, very beautiful and great for swimming. We rented a pontoon boat for the afternoon which was definently a must. Boat rentals are offered by the marina in the park which makes renting extremely easy. There is no more lodge or restaurant in the park. The negatives: the bathrooms suck to put it lightly. Two stalls and a shower head for each building of which there are 4-5 for the whole 90+ site campground so you do the math. Cleaning them was obviously something they are not big on. Other than that everything else was gorgeous. Will return. Will bring friends. Will recommend to others. Will try a cabin next time. Will not return on a weekend or holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dinner-For-Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Recently we rented a two bedroom two bath cottage at Red Top. I have lived in the area all my life and have visited Red Top many times. This is the first time I have rented the cottages. I had a class reunion and several of us went back to the cottages and stayed two nights and visited. Cottages were clean and well maintained. Beds were very comfortable. We had a nice view of the lake from our balcony. I will considered renting again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susanb8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartersville hotels
6.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cartersville
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
601 reviews
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Cartersville
Super 8 Cartersville
#12 of 23 in Cartersville
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cartersville
Hampton Inn Cartersville
#1 of 23 in Cartersville
351 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cartersville
1.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites - Emerson Lake Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Top Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Top Mountain Park

Address: 653 Red Top Mountain Road, Cartersville, GA 30121
Region: United States > Georgia > Cartersville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cartersville
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Red Top Mountain Park Hotel Cartersville
Red Top Mountain Park Cartersville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing