We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hiking Bliss” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Top Mountain Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cartersville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Top Mountain Park
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cartersville
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Hiking Bliss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Hiked on Jan 3rd. I believe the entire loop of the trail is 4 miles but there are many breakaways from the main trail here. Very easy hike and bike trail here! $5 parking fee unless you get a free parking pass from the library. Nice scenic views as well. I recommend a visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nquirinmginds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We camped out this past weekend. We had the best time. We walked the trails and took our boat. We love the lots in the cove by the lake. It makes for easy access with our boat. Also the campground hosts were super sweet. We always enjoy meeting them!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dscowgirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Ga.
Level Contributor
317 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had a quick getaway to cottage #13 at the Red Top Mountain cottages! It was my family of 4...my husband and I along with our 2 children (ages: 15 and 4). Also with us was my father-in-law and his girlfriend. We had a 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath Cottage right on the water (#13). We arrived on a Friday and left out on Sunday. Check in was no problem! We all got there right at 4pm, check in time. Got the key and was on our way to open the door. The cottage itself was nice! The smell had a musty, old mildew smell....Thank Goodness we brought Lysol. We had to spray everything in the cottage down! There was a full kitchen, dining area, living room with a TV and the 2 bedrooms each with 2 double beds. The shower had NO Pressure at all!!! It was more like a mist of water for sure Not a shower! The beds were Very comfortable!! It was Very nice to have the picnic table and the grill outside! We used it each day! And the firepit was awesome, of course you need to bring your own wood (which we did) and we all enjoyed sitting around the firepit each night with the water glowing from the lights off of the marina, Very Pretty View! We took our 3 Jet Skis and my father-in-law took his pontoon boat so each day we were all on the water! Very Fun!! Of course this was way better than camping out in a tent and sleeping on the ground and of course this was still in the woods and we Did see some bugs inside the cottage but that was to be expected, no problem with us. If go here expect to see bugs and spiders inside and outside of your cottage. We had a Great Time and we will for sure go back! This is something I recommend if you like the woods and chilling out on the water! :)

Room Tip: Get a cottage close to the water like we did (#13) if you have a boat or jet skis and you can go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank joanie30735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had our Family Reunion here at Red Top this summer 2013. We rented all the cabins that were available to rent. Warning: state policy is that cabins can only be rented 12 months out, but someone was allowing them to be rented earlier than that... so if you want a group of cabins, don't wait for 12 months out because they could be reserved prematurely. Our family does plan to come back to Red Top again in the future.

Cabins were nice, especially the ones with two bathrooms. They all sleep 8 people, each bedroom having 2 double-sized beds. My daughter preferred sleeping on the couch in front of the tv. There are no telephones, no wifi, not even maid service. Although we were given fresh towels, we were not supplied with extra soap or toilet paper, so be prepared to go to the lodge for a fresh supply or bring your own. Our bathroom light was out and did not get replaced during our stay (yes, I did tell the lodge on day #1).

This is a somewhat rustic location, so be prepared for spiders & cockroaches to surprise you in your cabin and tics to hitch a ride on your kids. Keep your food sealed tightly if you leave it on the kitchen counter.

The lake is terrific if you have/rent a boat. We rented a picnic pavilion for only $50 - I think pavilion #7 is my favorite. And nearby Cartersville has an amazing art museum... a huge surprise to find one of this calliber this far outside of Atlanta. A day trip to Atlanta is very doable from here.

Room Tip: When choosing a cabin, be aware there is one "dog friendly" cabin, one handicap cabin, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We called early in the week and was told we didn't need RSVP so drove in RV from Indiana. Called two hours out and was asked abt reservation- was told to come and get packet. Got there, CLOSED. Picked up late packet, gate CLOSED.. Told to find 'Host'.. NO HOST! Camper let us in so we could get out of park.. Really tight and hilly..was told that the host is never there we shld go elsewhere. So 12hours later with RV and two small children we ended up at the Best Western. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluepineapple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a fantastic time during our visit (second one night trip we've done here in a row) this time and I must add, the staff is phenomenal! The park staff are always very kind and effective during check-in, so we were shocked this time when the party checking in in front of us were directly insulting them. We realized that a minor mistake had been made and the party checking in started shouting at them and making things a much bigger deal than they were-- but, the park staff kept composure and were very polite.

Besides this, inexpensive water side camping was very easy to find and very secluded this visit! The water was very warm and the perfect time to hit the lake for kayakers. It's super easy to navigate after the first time you go, and they have plenty of restrooms and are adding more as I type.

Room Tip: Go during non-holidays/check in early for campgrounds by the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svallish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We reserved several cabins at Red Top Mountain this past weekend for a family reunion. A beautiful spot on the lake! Cottage Rd was wonderfully shaded, tranquil and rustic. Great views of the lake, although no real area to swim (better to go to the public areas for swimming). The cabins were very clean and well-equipped. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the cabinets, appliances, dishes, bathroom and beds. Comfy accommodations - and all very close so we just had to walk to each cabin for visiting! Overall it was a great experience. The only downside was the public area where picnic pavilions and beach is located - VERY crowded and the beach area was just okay...way too crowded at the beach area, which made the water just a little too icky for me...but it's June and it was a Saturday, so it's to be expected. I would definitely recommend Red Top Mtn for families looking for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockerpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartersville hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cartersville
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cartersville
Hampton Inn Cartersville
#1 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cartersville
2.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites Cartersville - Emerson Lake Point
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Cartersville - Emerson Lake Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Top Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Top Mountain Park

Property: Red Top Mountain Park
Address: 653 Red Top Mountain Road, Cartersville, GA 30121
Region: United States > Georgia > Cartersville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cartersville
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Red Top Mountain Park Hotel Cartersville
Red Top Mountain Park Cartersville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing