We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement.”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cartersville
West palm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs improvement.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This Holliday Inn needs several improvements.
1. Elevators - carrying several pieces of luggage up small stair wells was difficult even for a healthy person.

2. The so called breakfast was a joke. They have a restaurant that obviously does not get any other business so they offer crap for the free one in the hopes that residents will buy the $10.00 per person breakfast.

The rooms where clean and the staff friendly but you could tell they are tired of answering the same questions all the time.

Would only use for one night stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WPBREF S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear WPBREF S,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you had with the room you received. We also regret you found the breakfast served during your stay less than satisfactory.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    53
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
42
27
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here on our way to Florida. Check-in went fairly smooth and the little restaurant was able to accommodate our fairly large group-10. But I will not stay at this hotel ever again. Upon entering our room everyone prepped for bed. The room seemed fairly clean, just a little outdated. The next morning while everyone was getting up we noticed a huge yellow stain on lower end of top sheet. I reported it to the desk staff and they actually asked if we noticed it the night before. I told her had we noticed we would not have stayed in that room. Dirty linens is unacceptable!! No excuse for not having clean beds! All she could do was credit the room $10, because there was no manager on duty. I actually tried contacting the manager thru email with my complaint and they could not even take the time to respond. Sad to say it will make me thing twice because of dirty linens and poor customers service due to a complaint... I'm shocked a Manager would not respond.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mb1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mb1019,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cartersville hotels

Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For the final night of a 10-day roadtrip, my travel buddy and I thought we'd like to treat ourselves to a better quality hotel than we'd been using during the trip (traveling with an 80-pound golden retriever limits your options). We searched for pet-friendly hotels north of Atlanta on I-75, coming up with this Holiday Inn franchise. We didn't do any more research, relying on the reputation of the brand, and made a reservation for that night. In hindsight, we sure wish we'd read the reviews on this site, because we would have stayed somewhere else. Upon arrival, it took over 30 minutes to check in, because although the desk clerk found our reservation, the computer wouldn't let her check us in. Eventually she called for help, but no one came. Finally in desperation, she assigned us a room, and said she would complete the check-in process later. Unfortunately, when we entered the room, it was already occupied by another guest. So we trudged back to the front desk, and the clerk tried again to check us in. Finally, another clerk arrived, and together they realized that the reservations clerk had made the reservation for the wrong night. After another 15 more minutes of dithering, we were finally checked in and assigned a new room. After dragging our stuff and the dog up to the 2nd floor (no elevator), we found a decent room that met our expectations -- clean linens and relatively spacious. We tried to call the attached restaurant on the house phone -- to find out if they would do take-out -- but the house phone was dead, and we couldn't find a telephone number for the place. We went for ice, so we could have a (by this time) much-needed drink, but the ice machine on our floor was broken. We then -- belatedly -- looked up this place on TripAdvisor, and realized that the next morning, we wouldn't be getting the free full hot breakfast that had been advertised. So for dinner we got takeout from the only other restaurant nearby (Waffle House), and for breakfast the next day, we hit the road for the nearest McDonalds. So much for trying to go a little more upscale! We were relying on the Holiday Inn brand for a good experience, a good night's rest and a good hot breakfast. We will admit to getting a good night's sleep, but otherwise were very disappointed. Holiday Inn can do better.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balkansinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Balkansinger,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. It’s nice to know that after some initial issues with your stay, these were soon sorted out and allowed you to have a good night’s sleep. On the other hand, I apologize that the in-room telephone and ice machine were a let down during your stay. We always seek to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable which is why your feedback is highly appreciated. We will focus on the issues you have raised to improve guest satisfaction. Should your future travels bring you back to the area, we would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Perfect clean rooms, smelled fresh, spotless. However the free continental breakfast was laughable. It was called a buffet in the book but frozen waffles and cereal isn't a buffet. We left and went to Cracker Barrel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doxielvr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel for many years going to and from Florida. I have always been very happy.....until last week. First, the desk clerk was pleasant, but untrained. It took 30 minutes to check in. I went to have dinner about 8:30 and was told the buffet had been taken down - despite the sign that advertised dinner was served until 10:00. And what's with a buffet? I called the desk to place a wake up call and no one ever answered. I finally walked down to reception and no one could be found? The hot breakfast has been discontinued and been replaced by a poor continental offering. The final indignity was lack of a replacement roll of toilet paper. Again, another trip to the front desk. At least, someone was finally there. Disgraceful! What has happened to my old standby?

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Valerie W,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are happy to learn that our hotel location suited your travel needs.

I am sorry to hear the level of staff service and breakfast items did not exceed your expectations. I assure you the feedback will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate department for necessary improvements.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This Holiday Inn is a bit dated and if not for the hefty discount I obtained through Priceline, my rating might have been a star lower. The Hotel is conveniently located right next to I-75 and made for a good overnight rest stop. It's a two story hotel with stairs only; keep that in mind if you heavy luggage or otherwise having difficulty climbing up stairs. The lobby and hallways looked in pretty good shape, and the room was decently appointed to include a fridge; the only detraction being that the carpets appeared to be in need of replacement or deep cleaning. As Tripadvisor rated the in-hotel cafe very poorly, I walked over to the adjacent Waffle House as there was little else close by. Oddly enough given it's rural location, there's a large science museum next to the Hotel but I didn't have time to check it out. Overall, I don't think this property is quite up to scratch for the Holiday Inn branding but was overall satisfied with my stay given the nearly half off discount that I got from Priceline.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We planned and prepared a couples' workshop for our nonprofit at this facility on April 26-27, 2014.

The issues and problems that we encountered were many. This is very unfortunate since we had stayed at that facility many times and we had been IHG Platinum and Gold Members for 10 years, spending thousands every year at the chain's various properties.

We were offered complimentary breakfast both days of the training. What they forgot to mention was now the hotel has 2 levels of breakfast, continental and hot breakfast. This was not like that in the past. Breakfast was complimentary, period, and it was a full, hot breakfast. On Saturday morning there was no milk, no juice, no yogurt and the few pastries available were stale. We had to buy and pay $8.95 per person plus tax and tip for our guests to eat. Same thing on Sunday. By the way on the IHG rewards page it states that the hotel has free breakfast, there is no mention of 2 different types of breakfast or anything like this. We stay at many, many IHG brand hotels during a year and we have never seen this double type of breakfast option. It is either free or there is a charge, period.

We were offered lunch for our guests for $13.95 per plate plus 18% service charge and a 7% sales tax. This price included one entrée, three sides, salad, rolls, water or tea and a dessert.

On Saturday we got chicken Alfredo, salad and a roll, water/tea. No dessert or additional sides. We had 2 people that step out of the event during lunch because of a family emergency. They came back just as we were done with lunch. I went back to the kitchen and asked for their plates and the banquet manager told me that there was no more food because she had made the exact number of plates that I had told her. I explained her that I told her 32 people but only 30 ate, because 2 were not there. She replied that there was no more food and that the kitchen was closed until 5:00 p.m. I had to personally drive several miles to get this couple food.

On Sunday, we were served a small (tiny) piece of roasted chicken, mashed potatoes and peas. No salad, dessert or anything else. We had to buy snacks because most people were still hungry after lunch.

Then to my dismay they charged me the equivalent of $26.82 per person. Unbelievable!

Sad thing is that we have contacted both the management and the IHG Corporate office with no response.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelisaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear BelisaU,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartersville hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cartersville
Hampton Inn Cartersville
#1 of 23 in Cartersville
311 reviews
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cartersville
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cartersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 23 in Cartersville
49 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Allatoona Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 20 Tellus Dr, Cartersville, GA 30120 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cartersville)
Region: United States > Georgia > Cartersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cartersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cartersville Hotel Cartersville
Holiday Inn White
Cartersville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing