We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, lots to do” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Mountain State Park

Fort Mountain State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
103 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, lots to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We took our little RV to Fort Mtn mid-May. We got a spot on the trail around the lake. The camp store is too far away to walk to or even bike to if you're just a leisurely biker, but the store is great - super selection of items from cookbooks to necessities to apparel and hats, etc. The park has a small swimming area and there were two school buses there with kids using the beach, having fun. The walk around the park is a good way to look for wild flowers. Did not see any wildlife other than crows and squirrels. There are longer hikes; one connects to the lake trail, the others you need to drive to. Events include marshmallow roasts, little ranger activities, camp fire cooking demonstrations and a wagon ride to the fort trail head. We took the wagon ride and were the only participants. Very instructional ranger rode up with us and back. There was some confusion on the part of other campers/visitors about the $3/pp cost being included with park entrance or pavilion rental -- it is not. It is a separate change. Would be neat to have time to hike to the fort and wall after the wagon ride takes you there, then ride back. Facilities were well maintained with lots of hot water and good water pressure. Great park, great people running it, great campground hosts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank naniboujou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    49
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great day for a hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff in this park seems to be more down to earth and freindly than some of the other state parks. They have done a great job of keeping the park in good condition considering all the cut-backs with state funding. All trails were well marked. The views from several locations including the overlook were fantastic! Campgrounds were in great condition. Biking trails were a blast. Good location to use as a base camp to visit surrounding areas.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Camping ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our 4 day camping trip so much. They have lots of supervised activities for children, which means Mom and Dad get to relax a little. The trails are very well maintained, but you should still watch out for snakes. LOL!! We found one by accident and he wasn't happy about being bothered. The bathhouses are clean. They even have a washer and dryer if need to wash clothes. The roads in the campground are narrow but if you are careful you shouldn't have any problems. Our camper is 33' and we pull with a full size extended cab truck. We will visit this park again. The best thing about this park is that cell service is limited.

Helpful?
2 Thank GLMOMOF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to go for a hike, have a picnic, go swimming, and to just enjoy the outdoors. A must do if you are visiting Chatsworth, GA.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kld76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Georgia State Park located on top of Fort Mountain is a delight. It has camping, swimming, cabins, hiking trails, a historic fort and gorgeous scenery. My favorite activity here is hiking and the trails are well marked and maintained. Just be prepared for the fact that the temps will be lower than down in the valley. Last time we visited the park it was quite chilly up there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthGeorgiaPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Mountain State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing