We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
134
18
3
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
18
3
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolacelestial suitehot tubfort mountain state parkin room jacuzzimountain viewgas fireplacecouncil roomscreened in porchwonderful hospitalityb bsgeorgia mountainsrelaxing vacationperfect weekendus feel at homeblue ridgegreat room
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed in the Celestial Suite. Beautiful scenery. Old house converted to Inn. Main room is nice with a great view. Do not waste your money on dinner. Heated in microwave for 70 dollars. Stick to the wine and cheese. Shower sprays water on the floor. Basic cable. WiFi was terrible. Spider webs on lights. Dust on furniture. Expected more for the money.

Room Tip: Maybe the cabins would be a better choice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonW220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOverlookInnOwner, Owner at The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

I am sorry that your stay at The Overlook Inn was disappointing. Our mission is to provide quality accommodations and an exceptional vacation experience so we take our guest’s feedback very seriously. We have worked alongside our housekeepers to address the cobweb and dust issues you raised in your recent review and made adjustments to the shower so that it doesn’t spray on the floor. We are revamping our dinner offering and can assure you that our dinner package will only include the freshest ingredients in the future. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority so we appreciate your review. Your comments have helped us identify and correct problems so that all our guests may enjoy a relaxing and carefree stay with us.

Robert & Liz Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Conquistador Room. It has a private porch and the biews from the mountaintop were amazing. The staff was very hospitable. In the evening we were served wine and cheese. They even made sweet green tea for us! Homemade nuffins, sconces, and breakfast was perfect! Very peaceful.

Room Tip: Our room has its own private bath. We like that in a B&B
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Up_Up_And_Awa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Overlook Inn last month and had a wonderful time. We love to hike and were pleasantly surprised at the number of hiking trails around the Inn. We hiked from the the back door of our room, through the lovely wildflower gardens and along the border of the National Forest. The trails from the Inn were strenuous and not for the novice hiker however we found easy to moderate trails nearby in Fort Mountain State Park, where we hiked to the Indian ruins and around the lake located on the park grounds. The next day, we drove down to Ellijay and enjoyed the various shops and ate at a quaint cafe on River Street before driving up to Blue Ridge to enjoy a train ride. When we arrived back at the Inn, we were treated to dessert by candlelight while we lounged in the big, comfy leather chairs overlooking the gorgeous mountain view. In the morning, we watched the innkeeper walk down to the garden to pick fresh herbs for our delicious three course breakfast. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful and made our stay all the more enjoyable. Thank you, Robert and Liz, for sharing your wonderful, restful inn with us!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 677Lagniappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in the Celestial Suite, Overlook Inn on July 4 - 6 2012 at a cost of over $800 for a cheap room, cobwebs on light fixtures and bookshelves, water damaged floors, shower that would not regulate and an owner who was rude. This place is nothing more than a cheap motel accomodation.

Room Tip: Check out reviews other than those on the Overlook Inn site; those reviews must be regulated because when we tried to sign the guestbook several times the site would not let any new reviews to be posted.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOverlookInnOwner, Owner at The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations at The Overlook Inn. I am grateful for your review as it points out serious problems that I will discuss with our morning and evening Innkeepers so that we can correct and improve our service to our guests. I am especially sorry if I seemed rude during your visit. My wife and I train every member of our staff to be courteous and attentive to guests and we strive to make every guest feel comfortable and pampered during their stay with us.

Robert & Liz Coleman
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed in the Prince Madoc room. It's very big and has it's own bathtub. Our private bathroom was across the hall. All in all the visit was very nice. The staff is super nice and very helpful. We aren't very picky so we really did enjoy our stay. If you are picky though, you might want to know a few things before you get there.

1st - you have to walk across a hallway to get to the toilet/shower
2nd - it's not totally quiet, we could hear people walking by our room and sometimes in their room (luckily all the guests were pretty quiet)
3rd - you do share a porch with another room, there is a wall up to keep it private
4th - there is no way to control the ac in your room, so in the summer time it can get hot. We asked them to make it cooler and they tried, but we were still a little hot
5th - we picked this room for wheelchair access, they do have it, but it is a very bumpy path and if you don't have good balance popping a wheelie, it could be very difficult. Also, there is a small curb you have to get up to get on the path

The only thing I would recommend is, the fireside meal wasn't that great for the money we paid. I suggest going out somewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank micsue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews