We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby's is no gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The good stuff first: Ruby's is at the prime location for anyone visiting Bryce Canyon. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel for the free shuttle to the park. Very convenient.
Now, the other stuff: Ruby's Inn is a huge place, with many different wings added over the years. So it is understandable that some rooms will be newer or nicer than others. When we made our reservation, we were unfamiliar with Ruby's, and did not request a specific location or type of room. So when we arrived in the early afternoon, and were told that "our room" was not available yet, it seemed odd that there would be no room immediately available, out of all those rooms. At any rate, they checked us in and told us to return later to get the keys for "our room." After touring Bryce for a couple of hours, we returned, picked up the keys, and proceeded to the room, which was right next door to Ruby's Diner. To say it was a disappointment would be an understatement. I am guessing that this particular row of motel-type rooms is one of the older sections of Ruby's. The room was dank and charmless. There were issues with the plumbing and with the fluorescent lighting. I cannot comment on what any of the other rooms are like; I assume that on average they are better than ours was. I am sure that -- even with the near monopoly that this family has in the area -- there must be nicer places to stay for about the same price, though maybe just a trifle less conveniently located. If I return to Bryce, I will definitely look elsewhere for lodging.

Room Tip: Avoid the row of Columbine rooms next to the diner: dank and dingy! Ideally, stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubys_inn_management, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Ruby's Inn. We do have plans for that particular section of rooms and plans for improvements and upgrades. We do enjoy the prime location just outside the entrance to Bryce Canyon National Park.

We appreciate your comments and hope to have you visit again! If we can be of assistance in the future, please contact us at 435-834-5341.

Sincerely,

Manager's Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,153 of 5,226 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is located right at the entrance to Bryce National Park, therefore a desirable location. But the double room I stayed in -- two king beds with a tiny refrigerator and microwave -- was overpriced ($167 a night, discounted through costco.com) for the quality of the room I was given. Downstairs unit that does not muffle the noise from upstairs and the next door neighbors + nothing special about the room. The food in the restaurant is expensive and poor in quality. The food at the Bryce canyon Lodge is much much better and cheaper. I was supposed to get breakfast with the room -- costco.com states that the rooms come with breakfast -- but was told the room does not come with breakfast. The food in both the hotel restaurant and their fast food pizza/hamburger place smelled over fried and we decided not to eat it. The hotel receptionist who assisted me the first night promised to give us a room upstairs for the next day but I never heard back from him and we were out most of the day and were tired by the time we got back to bother following up on the matter. Keep in mind that the receptionist promised to take care of it and move us out the next day. When we get back to the room around 2 pm, it wasn't made it. I requested towels and toiletries and that was that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubys_inn_management, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We apologize for the miscommunication by reception and will continue to work with our staff on meeting the needs of our guests. We apologize for your experience with the restaurant and are pleased you were able to find a meal you enjoyed!! Thanks for coming to the Bryce Canyon area!

We appreciate your comments and hope to have you visit again! If we can be of assistance in the future, please contact us at 435-834-5341.

Sincerely,

Manager's Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel 5 years ago and were happy with it. This time they didn't disappoint us either. The rooms are of a good size, simple but clean and quiet. The location is great because it is just outside of the Bryce park and it is almost impossible to get accommodation in the park itself.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor if you don't mind bringing luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikefr0mNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubys_inn_management, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thanks for your comments! We are pleased you found Ruby's Inn to be a solid choice. We do have a great location just a few minutes from Bryce Canyon National Park!

We appreciate your comments and hope to have you visit again! If we can be of assistance in the future, please contact us at 435-834-5341.

Sincerely,

Manager's Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel was excellent, the staff were great and helpful. Just a great hotel experience. And if you are staying to visit Bryce Canyon, there is no better hotel to choose. Drive out of the hotel parking lot, make a right and drive 3-5 minutes and you are at the entrance to Bryce Canyon. Super close. You can find cheaper hotels but they are further away and not as good as this one. Worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Good place to stay, safe, clean, and good accomodations. We were poolside in the main hotel, and didn't think it was too noisy even with all the kids running in and out of the pool. We had a jacuzzi suite, it was nice.. Bed was a little hard for me but it was't horrible. :) Great service. Great place to stay. Food isnt so great in the restaurant tho, but given there isn't many places to eat, it works.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

While I did not stay at Ruby's hotel, I did shop at a couple of their stores and eat at one of their restaurants. It doesn't take long to figure out that this family or company owns and operates virtually every business in this little village just outside the gate to the Bryce Canyon National Park. That's the bad news.

I was made to feel like a shoplifter as soon as I walked into their souvenir and rock shop. One of the female employees shadowed me all around the store, pretending to fiddle with the cheap merchandise while actually watching every move I made. It was pathetically obvious.

I quickly decided that I would not reward this absurd behavior by buying any of their overpriced merchandise.

The service at the other Ruby's stores was just mediocre and unfriendly at best. Everything is expensive. I will avoid all of Ruby's operations.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank NWbasecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubys_inn_management, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We do apologize that you had a negative experience while visiting our shops. We do hope you were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery during your visit here!

We appreciate your comments and hope to have you visit again! If we can be of assistance in the future, please contact us at 435-834-5341.

Sincerely,

Manager's Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

BW Ruby's Inn is a convenient and centrally located place to stay when visiting Bryce. Everything you need is located on premises; you can purchase park admission, groceries, sit down or take out restaurant, and catch the shuttle into Bryce, but the rooms and staff were mediocre. We stayed in a ground floor room and could hear every single step taken in the room above us. All things considered we would stay here again for the location, but would make sure we were on the second floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubys_inn_management, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us at Ruby's Inn. We do have a great location just outside beautiful Bryce Canyon National Park. We do have great stops such as Ruby's General Store for sundries and souvenirs. The Cowboy Buffet & Steakhouse for a great meal, and even the Old Bryce Town Shops for a little ice cream! Thanks for staying with us!

We appreciate your comments and hope to have you visit again! If we can be of assistance in the future, please contact us at 435-834-5341.

Sincerely,

Manager's Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce Canyon City
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
13.6 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
567 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
706 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
5.4 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn

Address: 26 South Main Street, Bryce Canyon City, UT 84764-8002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bryce Canyon City
Price Range: £47 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Ruby's Inn, the closest accommodations to Bryce Canyon National Park, is the perfect base for your exploration of scenic Southern Utah. We offer the finest accommodations and amenities in the Bryce Canyon National Park region. Ruby's Inn at Bryce Canyon is a destination in and of itself. Rubys Inn has 368 Spacious Guest Rooms, 2-Bedroom Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Color Satellite TV, Air Conditioning, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools and Spas. At Bryce Canyon you'll enjoy horseback riding, ATV and helicopter tours, along with Bryce Canyon western experiences such as chuckwagon dinners, rodeos and more. You'll also find our General Store to be the largest, including an impressive selection of authentic Southwestern Indian arts and crafts including jewelry, pottery and weavings. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Ruby`s Hotel Bryce
Best Western Rubys Hotel
Best Western Bryce
Bryce Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing