We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet spot in the NE GA mtns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Clarkesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“A quiet spot in the NE GA mtns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The inn keepers Ed and Luci are delightful host. I was greeted by a friendly smile and by room was ready 1.5 prior to check in time. The room was warm and inviting. Very Cozy. There is a gathering space where you could watch tv hang out and meet other guest if you are so inclined. The view was wonderful and Miss Ann make amazing fresh cinnamon rolls/ biscuits and homemade strawberry jam. The pool was beautifully maintained, although too cool to use it. The fitness center is the beautiful terrain in which you can hike on God's tread mill. :) Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    46
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
260
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ive never stayed here as we have a house nearby but the restaurant is really good. Be sure to make reservations.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdawg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautiful north georgia mountains
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

the evening meal superb! tub bath- ahhh! cozy room- divine! Ed and Luci are delightful innkeepers. I treated myself to an overnight getaway not too far from home but felt like i'd been gone more than 24 hours!

Room Tip: not a bad room at the inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I received a warm welcome as soon as we arrived to the Inn. The innkeepers are extremely friendly and knowledgable about the area. They had so many ideas of what we could do, we were sad we could only stay one night. They gave us perfect directions to many terrific hikes and waterfalls.

We spent 4 hours hiking to one of the most gorgeous waterfalls we have ever seen. When we returned we took showers and relaxed before eating our hearts out. My wife had the Macadamia Chicken and I chose the Steak and Lobster. The steak was cooked perfectly and my wife loved her plate. We drank good wine and finished the night with lava cake. YUM! The service was terrific.

I would like to address a knock I have read about the Inn. The noise was sort of an issue in the queen room, we could hear people walking next door. But hey, its 120 years old...what do you expect?! Everyone person staying there was so nice, barely anybody made a peep in their rooms so it didn't hardly bother us. The price was $165 which included a gift basket. We paid for the kindness of the people, quaint atmosphere and unbelievable warmth from the Inn keepers. We are going back during the summer....it was 19 degrees in the evening, so we coulnd't explore the grounds.

Totally recommend! Thanks Ed & Luci Kivett!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I woke up this morning, and the first thing I said was, "I don't want to leave!" My husband on the other hand said, "I can't wait to eat that breakfast!" :)

This was our second trip to Glen Ella Springs Inn, and it was even better than the first time. We stayed in one of the beautiful Penthouse Rooms on the third floor, and it was heaven!

Once again, we had great service as we scheduled our trip, the staff always being helpful and courteous with all my questions. Debbie is the best and on this trip we met many other staffers that really went out of their way to help. We also loved the Valentine's Day Special, as it allowed us to get away from our busy life. I was so glad when the email popped into my inbox, because my husband and I really never take time to look for these getaways, but when the special popped up, I knew I had to talk my husband into this trip. We are both so glad I did!

With two teens who play many sports and are just so busy, we live a hectic life, and to get away is a great luxury, but I have discovered it is so worth it to try. Talking my rather frugal husband into spending the money for a quick getaway, can be difficult, but after this time away, he admitted the trip was so worth it!

Just driving up to Glen Ella puts me in a relaxed mood. Checking in was a pleasure, and once I was in the room, I instantly felt all the stress leave me. We have stayed in a Queen room, and it was lovely, but what was so great about the Penthouse room was the character, ample size, and the fireplace. We immediately sat down in the comfortable chairs and just enjoyed talking and reading in front of the fire. The bed was so comfortable, and the robes were soft and smelled nice. I wanted to stay forever. I was looking forward to dinner, but I was so relaxed it was hard to leave!

Another thing we love about this inn is that they will make your dinner reservation, and dinner is steps away. Warm fireplaces and beautiful decor welcome you. It is so relaxing, and dinner last night was wonderful! We both agreed it was even better than the first time, and that time we also loved it. The salmon was so yummy...and the crab cakes...and chocolate cake...we felt pampered.

Both of us slept so well on the comfortable bed, and we would have wanted to sleep all day, but we knew the great breakfast was waiting for us. It was just as good as last time, and the service was excellent. So many choices to pick from and everything was fresh and wonderful.

We were sad to leave, but our memories will carry us over until we can have another quick getaway at Glen Ella. In a busy, hectic life with teenagers and meetings and jobs...it is so worth it to just take some time and rest, relax, and enjoy the beauty and hospitality of your inn.

We thank the innkeepers, Lucie and Ed for all they did to make our stay so wonderful. It is truly unique to find service that is so outstanding, and they go the extra mile to really make sure that their guests feel pampered and special as they get away from busy lives.

We hope to come back very soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely....from what I have seen as I peeked in a few. The Penthouse on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GASooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A much needed respite from the real world restored my spirits. Thanks to the individualized attention from Ed and Luci Kivett and their staff, my weekend away was extraordinary.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Glen-Ella Springs Inn was the perfect choice for our June wedding and reception. It was a truly magical experience! From Luci and her staff being so hands-on and respectfully paying attention to the fine details, to the delicious cuisine, the breathtaking ambience, and our luxurious penthouse suite my husband and I were thrilled with our experience there. The mountains of north Georgia provided this magical and relaxing backdrop for the rustic elegance of this beautiful and well appointed Inn. All of our guests were impressed with the quality of service, food, amenities, and the natural scenery. We had our nuptials in the garden under a wood arbor layered with green vines, and the grounds were immaculately groomed with colorful flowers in bloom and full trees providing a natural decor for our wedding. It was super convenient and cost-effective to utilize their pavillion, which is on the same grounds, for our reception. My husband and I have already started talking about celebrating our 1st year Anniversary at Glen-Ella Springs Inn. It was simply a gorgeous day, and just what we'd imagine for our BIG DAY. Thanks so much Luci!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NATUREL0VERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkesville
3.6 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
15.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-Ella Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Property: Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Address: 1789 Bear Gap Road, Clarkesville, GA 30523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Clarkesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen-Ella Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, sits this historic country inn, nestled on 17 acres in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featuring 16 elegant yet rustic guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant, guests are treated to a serene setting and award winning cuisine. There are numerous hiking trails and waterfalls nearby to explore. Or simply relax and enjoy the picturesque setting of the inn with extensive herb and flower gardens, swimming pool, sun deck and expansive meadow where you'll often see deer grazing. Glen-Ella Springs was also named to National Georgraphic Traveler's Stay List 150 in 2008 and has been recognized as one of the Top Ten Dining Destination (in the state)by Georgia Trend Magazine since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glen-Ella Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen-Ella Springs Hotel Clarkesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing