We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Clarkesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a fantastic place, quiet and peachful. A lot of interesting history and the food is great. The setting is idyllic and the staff and innkeepers are wonderful. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniverary there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We took our grandsons for a final holiday before going back to school. The stay was prefect for all ages. Our suite was ideally accommodating and comfortable. The kids loved the pool, gardens and large property to explore. The food was great at every meal with lots of variety and very high quality. Staff all are very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed there with a group and had a great experience. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed (WiFi is available through out the property). There is an amazing garden that combines flowers and vegtables/herbs that attracts tons of buterflies and humming birds. The staff is very accomodating and helpful, but not intrusive. We had excellent meals at dinner and breakfast the next day (breakfast was a homemade buffett that was always kept fresh). The menu at dinner was varied with nice seasonal specials. The wine list isn't huge, but well-priced and thoughtful. There is some meeting space as well and we were given use of the Gardener's Cottage for pre- and post-dinner cocktails. There is a small pool with an attactive deck. A wedding was taking place on the property and seemed to be very well run and there is a very atttactive spot for an out-door service and reception. Nice get away for a group or for a romantic weekend for a couple.

Room Tip: Ask for room on back facing pool/meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have just returned from a meeting held at Glen-Ella Springs Inn. I can not think of one single thing that could have been done to make the meeting any better. The location is ideal for business meetings as well as family reunions, weddings and receptions, or a quiet get away for two. It is rare to find one location that really works for such different events, but the secluded and beautiful location really promotes "togetherness".

The food was truly wonderful, the service was attentive but low key, the accommodations were luxurious and rustic at the same time.

I can not wait for the opportunity to visit Glen-Ella again and highly recommend it to all EXCEPT those who think they need 24 hour room service, 600 in room TV stations, and a full service bar in the lobby. This is not what Glen-Ella is all about.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

If getting away is what you are looking for, Glen-Ella Springs is the place for you. The remote location, incredible grounds, and delicious silence allowed me to relax like I haven't in a long time. The food was great, Luci & Ed were wonderful hosts, and I enjoyed spending time with the other guests. Great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Clover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I traveled to Georgia and found a wonderful country inn located along the back roads in the mountains that was amazing. We were qute take in with the history of the inn and its surrounding beauty. Innkeepers Luci & Ed along with their Manager Debbie were wonderful and made sure that all of our needs were taken care of. Our room retained the historic integrity of the property while providing modern amenities and was nicely decorated. The Inn has its own restaurant and the food was awsome. Their Chef really knows what he is doing. There was a wedding going on when we arrived. The site lends itself as the perfect venue for a wedding. Glen-Ella Springs is a Member of the Select Registry, Distinguished Inns in America, which we prefer staying in when we travel. They certainly meet the high standards set for those properties.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have porches to relax on with rocking chairs. We lovde our room (21) and would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewhitedoeinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband surprised me with overnight reservations for Glen Ella on our forty-ninth anniversary. From the moment we hit the well-kept gravel road 1/2 mile away, the lush greenery invited us in, and the blooming hydrangeas surrounding the rustic inn through its veil of trees called our names.

The immaculately kept inn, with just the right balance of rustic and antique, delighted the senses with polished wood floors, a mix of bright pattern and color, and fresh flower arrangements from the garden grounds. Our king room featured a large, comfortable bed, very nice linens, a cozy seating area, and a spacious bath, nicely appointed with the fresh smell of bath salts and oils. At our request, the manager delivered a beautiful tray of fruit and an assortment of cheeses and crackers, to be enjoyed with a bottle of wine on the rocking chair porch.

Prior to dinner, we walked the grounds, and Luci, the innkeeper, on seeing my interest, happily invited me in to see the preparations for a birthday celebration in the charming open pavilion, including the flower arrangements being made for the tables. I also observed the work of the two sisters who keep the cottage garden, with its raised beds of flowers, vegetables and herbs, in addition to the wedding courtyard with its carpet of grass and vine-draped arbors.

Dinner that evening on the open patio over-looking the garden was a feast for the senses as we looked out on the garden with its twinkle lights magically appearing midst the sweet pea vines draping an arbor, while the hummingbirds and butterflies chased each other through the blossoms. The service was prompt, personal and friendly, the perfect prelude to a meal that was delectable. The salad was fresh and appealing, the grilled salmon was delectable, nestled on a bed of local vegetables as beautifully presented as they were delicious. All this accompanied by a basket of freshly baked breads and muffins, and an outstanding selection of wines from local vineyards as well as others. Though we resisted the dessert menu, we observed the sighs of admiration and approval from guests at surrounding tables.

Foregoing dessert, we walked the extensive meadow fanning out from the inn and encircled by a babbling brook at the edge of the national forest. Walking hand in hand, we observed the happy sounds of guests celebrating a 70th birthday in the open pavilion which had come alive with an abundance of twinkling white lights. We walked around the creek, towards the open fire pit, ringed by adirondack chairs, clusters of trees and wild flowers. Returning to the inn, we saw that the twinkling lights of the arbor had been joined by a chorus of other white lights, making the inn look like a fantasy land.

As we climbed the stairs of the swimming pool deck, another couple asked if we would mind taking their picture, for it was also their 49th wedding anniversary. We laughed and shared the fact that we had identical anniversaries, and they took our pictures as well. It turned out we lived near each other and had friends in common. Continuing on to the garden house, we discovered a comfortably furnished, inviting room complete with complimentary coffee, soft drinks and snacks, and a young couple celebrating their 10th anniversary. After they helped us figure out the Keurig coffee maker, we shared our stories of courtship and marriage, the accomplishments of our children, and the work that had made our lives meaningful, it was easy to say goodnight and return to our cozy rooms, freshly aware of our blessings through the years.

Breakfast on Saturday continued to delight, as Ed the innkeeper and husband of Luci, welcomed us with a sumptuous array of fresh fruits, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, and spreads, and steaming hot coffee. But the main attraction was freshly-made buttermilk waffles with maple syrup and perfectly crisp bacon served on the porch. The garden, with sunlight streaming through the mist, heralded the morning with sweet sights and smells. We were joined by our friends of the night before, and the combination of terrific service, heavenly food, and good company made us forget the time until we suddenly realized we had to rush to make it to a service in nearby Clarkesville.

Reflecting on our stay, both my husband and I can't say enough about this experience. The costs were very reasonable for the quality and the experience. The service was personal, professional and exceptional. And the inn in all its natural and preserved beauty, beckons us to return as soon as possible, and bring friends and family!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdhredfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkesville
3.6 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
15.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cornelia
Hampton Inn Cornelia
#1 of 4 in Cornelia
419 reviews
16.2 mi away
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
11.8 mi away
The Simmons-Bond Inn
The Simmons-Bond Inn
#1 of 1 in Toccoa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-Ella Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Address: 1789 Bear Gap Rd, Clarkesville, GA 30523-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Clarkesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkesville
Price Range: £139 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen-Ella Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, sits this historic country inn, nestled on 17 acres in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featuring 16 elegant yet rustic guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant, guests are treated to a serene setting and award winning cuisine. There are numerous hiking trails and waterfalls nearby to explore. Or simply relax and enjoy the picturesque setting of the inn with extensive herb and flower gardens, swimming pool, sun deck and expansive meadow where you'll often see deer grazing. Glen-Ella Springs was also named to National Georgraphic Traveler's Stay List 150 in 2008 and has been recognized as one of the Top Ten Dining Destination (in the state)by Georgia Trend Magazine since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Glen-Ella Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen-Ella Springs Hotel Clarkesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing