We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST PERFECT!”
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

David and Gail are the best host. We loved the cozy room, with all of the special details. The Food and Wine weekend was a great way to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had a perfect weekend at the Beechwood Inn!

Room Tip: we have stayed in 3 different rooms and found them all to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Pam:

Glad we helped Alan have a wonderful birthday. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
David and Gayle
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband & I spent 3 wonderful evenings at the Beechwood Inn. Our room was spacious, well appointed & boasted a romantic fireplace. The Inn is filled with period antiques & large comfortable front porch for relaxing. The "wine thirty" each evening is a treat to savor some unique local wines, paired with Chef Dave's delectable appetizers.
Breakfast each morning was fresh, local & scrumptious! We had the privilege to experience a wonderful meal Saturday evening prepared by Dave & Gayle. They are both worthy of their Best Chefs of America recognition.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Kim: I enjoyed talking with you and Richard during your visit. I am pleased you found your room comfortable and romantic. Wine-thirty offers us the opportunity to meet our guests, sip some wine and offer suggestions on things to entertain you while visiting the North Georgia Mountains. And thanks for the big compliment about our Saturday Night Chef’s Table Dinner. Your visit coincided with one of our special “Wild Food Dinners.” We characterize our wild foods events as a little off the Eaten Path. Best Regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What a wonderful B&B! Our Host and Hostess were very hospitable, the accommodation was lovely and the food was top notch. If you ever find yourselves in Clayton, GA, there is no other choice but the Beechwood Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Glad you enjoyed your visit to Beechwood Inn. We know visitors have choices on where to stay when in Clayton – so we kindly appreciate your recommendation. Gayle Darugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

If you've never stayed at the Beechwood Inn, you've missed a treat. If you haven't stayed for one of David's "Food and Wine" weekends, consider yourself deprived of the most amazing culinary experience around this area. And if you've never stayed at the Beechwood Inn for the New Year's celebration...well, too bad for you. This was the second year for the six of us to make this our special time together at the Beechwood. And again David and Gayle, along with John (the new assistant chef?) and the wonder staff, made this another unforgettable night for us. From the pre-dinner entertainment (a fun bluegrass trio) with wine and appetizers to the last of the 6 (or was it 7?) course dinner and on to the midnight Champagne toast we consider this to be the best of the best for our celebration. Well done, David and Gayle!

Room Tip: We especially love the Rose Cottage room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you Nancy! Gayle and I love your visits and we compliment your friends as well. They are wonderful lifelong buddies. I agree, the New Year’s Eve music this year was great and I will thank the musicians for you. We try to make each New Year’s Celebration entertaining, fun and of course a special treat for food and wine enthusiasts. I am glad we succeeded again this year. Hope to see you soon. David and Gayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Gayle and David were excellent hosts and provided fantastic meals, especially Thanksgiving meal. Our room was very warm and comfortable. A perfect getaway to rejuvenate, close to Atlanta, but far away from the hustle and bustle.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Tom:

Thanks for the compliments. We are very pleased you enjoyed our Traditional Southern Thanksgiving Dinner. We use some very special products including our 25 pound organic fresh turkey. Hope to see you again soon.
David and Gayle Darugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed at the Beechwood Inn with a friend earlier this month. Gracious is the best word to describe the experience, from the food to the hospitality to the setting to the rooms. Dave and Gayle are delightful hosts, the rooms are generously sized and nicely furnished, and the grounds are lovely. We also took a private cooking class from Dave, which is still paying dividends at home! The dinners and the breakfasts were fantastic, and we loved the freshly baked cookies and appetizers & wine available to guests in the evenings. If there is a better place to stay in the North Georgia mountains, I can't imagine it.

Room Tip: There are about 10 rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, some with separate living areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinmom525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Glad you enjoyed the cooking class – and very glad it is paying dividends! We hope you will return to Beechwood Inn – Georgia’s Premier Wine Country Inn.

David and Gayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I must say I enjoyed Beechwood so much! It is a wonderful place to stay. The food is excellent. The atmosphere is wonderful. The town of Clayton is so neat. I highly recommend a visit soon. I will go back myself. We enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving there!

Room Tip: Any room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Glad you enjoyed our Traditional Southern Thanksgiving Dinner at Beechwood Inn. We have many guests return year after year, and hope you may as well.

David Darugh
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
7.3 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.9 mi away
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
4.1 mi away
Historic Sylvan Falls Mill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Address: 220 Beechwood Dr, P.O. Box 429, Clayton, GA 30525-5287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range: £154 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Living Magazine (November 2016 Issue) Names Beechwood Inn “One of the South’s Best Inns.” View the full article.BEECHWOOD INN – NORTH GEORGIA MOUNTAINS: Georgia Magazine Selected Beechwood Inn as the “Best Bed and Breakfast Inn in Georgia.” Wine Enthusiast Magazine places Beechwood Inn in the Top 5 Destinations “for your next wine and food-focused escape.” Travel writer Becky Lamb says, “Beechwood Inn is the closest thing to a Napa Valley Bed and Breakfast we have in Georgia.” The restaurant was named one of the “Top 10 Farm to Table Restaurants in Georgia.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing