We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Atlanta
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 7 October 2008

My husband booked our stay at the Beechwood Inn as a surprise for me for our anniversary. He had read about the inn online and then had driven to Clayton from north Atlanta to check it out. We were both very pleased with our suite and with the attention to detail that the owners paid to every small element. The food was delicious (the Saturday night dinner was perfect and so was breakfast each day) and so was the wine. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Beautiful scenery, wonderful food/wine, beautiful antiques/bed linens.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanieNorthAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    34
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
190
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2008

My daughter and I stayed her when we went up to see my husband and son for Family Night at Camp Rainey Mountain (Boy Scouts). We had a quaint little room with a view of the secret garden out our window. My daughter just loved it. The owners are great people and very accomodating and gracious. My daughter loved their dog who was a diligent squirrel chaser and quiet porch companion. It was such a treat to be disconnected from the world for a while in the peace and quiet of the Georgia Mountains. The view from the porch of the mountains and gardens while relaxing with a drink and a snack in the company of the other guests was really nice. The sheets were the most awesome thing I have ever slept on and the breakfast was delicious! We had a wonderful time and plan to go back and take the boys when we go so that they can finally know what we keep raving about.

  • Liked — great place to reconnect and enjoy the people in your life
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4katrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We just returned from staying at the Beechwood Inn and had such a wonderful time. The hospitality was outstanding and the food was phenomenal! We will definitely be returning in the future. If your are considering staying there- do it !

  • Liked — The Blueberry Cottage
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kpurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We were looking for a mountain retreat for a couple of days of unwinding. We found it at the Beechwood Inn. The owners and staff are very attentive and full of ideas of what to sample and see in the area when asked. We were able to partake in the Saturday evening wine and supper event, and also enjoyed the breakfasts. The wine thirty social hour is fun and the wine list is extensive. We enjoyed ourselves and relaxed.

  • Liked — great food and wine
  • Disliked — long trip to get there
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2008

I highly recommend the Beechwood Inn for a terrific North Georgia getaway. We only stayed one night but in that time we walked through the gardens; sat on the deck of the Blueberry Cottage and enjoyed the views; and had 2 delicious meals. Also, downtown Clayton and the surrounding parks and nature areas are a great way to pass some time.

David and Gayle couldn't have been more gracious hosts and if you stay at the Beechwood, you should definitely try to arrange your stay for one of the nights when they do a special dinner. They are excellent chefs and the food was outstanding.

We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Liked — The hosts, food and the peaceful environment
  • Disliked — I honestly can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Our second visit was even better than the first. You are made to feel totally at home and the breakfast is outstanding, often made with seasonal goodies from the property gardens. David and Gayle and among the best hosts we have met anywhere. With so many hiking trails and beautiful waterfalls nearby, this is an outstanding choice for a great mountain getaway, wine tasting, or outdoor adventure.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank doublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We recently rented most of the Inn for a wedding weekend. The hosts were gracious and the breakfasts were delicious. Their sous chef prepared a special meal for our guests one of the evenings which was fantastic. The rooms are spotless and decorated beautifully. The porch was a great space to gather and relax. A couple of notes; if you prefer showers check when booking as a couple rooms have tubs with hand held showers which were a bit uncomfortable for our guests to use. Also, only 2 of the rooms have TV's, so if you like to keep up with daily events, be sure and request one of those rooms.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Marymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
7.3 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
212 reviews
7.9 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Property: Beechwood Inn
Address: 220 Beechwood Dr, P.O. Box 429, Clayton, GA 30525-5287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed and Breakfast in Georgia 2013" by the Readers of Georgia Magazine. Beechwood Inn is Georgia's Premier Wine Country Inn and offers luxury lodging and fine dining. Wine Enthusiast Magazine places Beechwood Inn in the Top 5 Destinations "for your next wine and food-focused escape." Travel writer Becky Lamb says: "The Beechwood Inn is the closest thing to a Napa Valley Bed and Breakfast we have here in Georgia." The Inn features Northeast Georgia's only Wine Spectator Award of Excellence restaurant. The inn offers fine dining almost every Saturday featuring Chef's Tasting Dinners paired to fine wines. Most of our seasonal foods are organic and natural, many from sustainable North Georgia farms, orchards, dairies and vineyards. Due to the special nature of our foods advance reservations are needed. Two "Best Chefs America" 2013 on staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing