We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST Visit!”

Timpson Creek Gallery
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in Clayton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Rabun Gap, Georgia
1 review
“A MUST Visit!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The moment you pull into the parking area at Timpson Creek Gallery, you get a feeling that you're about to experience something special. When you walk in the door, your senses are stimulated by an eclectic mix of rustic furniture mixed with contemporary art, home wares, bold fabrics, textiles, jewelry and more.

When you meet the proprietors, Cecile & Dwayne Thompson, you know right from the start that you're speaking to a couple with a definite style filled with colorful character and charisma. And when they share some of their design experiences with you, you immediately understand why many of the homeowners on Lake Burton and Lake Rabun have relied on Timpson Creek design services and custom furniture making for more than 30 years.

I highly recommend Timpson Creek Gallery to anyone interested in filling their home with handcrafted goods that are American made in the highest quality and many time one-of-a-kind.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile T, Owner at Timpson Creek Gallery, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Sarah,

Thank you so much for your very kind words . We try very hard to give nothing but the best quality in our products and service. We do appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a review. We look forward to seeing you back in the store very soon.

Cecile Thompson, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Do not miss this secret treasure”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Gallery/shop full of beautiful objects. Dwaine Thompson is a nationally know maker of furniture,etc if you only go to one sop near here........make it this one ! Old Adarondak/Applalation furniture and antiques mixed with jewelry and chic clothing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank flabeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile T, Owner at Timpson Creek Gallery, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much @creek1414. We appreciate your kind words. We strive very hard to offer only the best, unique, and American Made products for our customers. We thank you for leaving a review for others to see. We look forward to seeing you back in the shop sometime soon.

Cecile Thompson, owner Timpson Creek Gallery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you are in the Clayton GA area, Timpson Creek Gallery is worth a stop. From fine art to artful finds, this retailer has an array of items, new and old. I particularly like to see what new jewelry finds the proprietor, Cecile Thompson, has brought in and there is always a good selection of women's clothing. Beyond that Cecile and her team are designers and have bountiful sources for fabric and furnishings of all sorts! You might also be lucky enough to meet Dwayne Thompson, Cecile's husband, who is a craftsman extraordinaire. High-end rustic is his specialty and you will see armoires, TV lifts, tables and chandeliers throughout the store that bear his signature. You can also get framing done by Kitty Barnett, who has a wide selection of frames. You can't see everything in one visit but I always find something that is unique and special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile T, Owner at Timpson Creek Gallery, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much Peggie! Your comments are so very kind and we are very thankful that you have left such a wonderful review. We strive very hard to offer a unique shopping experience and are grateful for customers like you. We look forward to you coming back to visit soon. We are always adding new and unique American Made items. Thank you very much!

Cecile Thompson, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
2 reviews
“Highbrow Houseware in the Hills of Northeast Georgia”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

When I am in the hills of northeast Georgia I always try to stop by Timpson Creek Gallery to see what's new and get tips on the local happenings in a part of the world where they like to say "spring spends the summer". Everything is top drawer and you will find something that will compliment any home or office. In a building full of hand made pieces of art and really old cool stuff, the real treat is to see the one-of-a-kind creations that Dwayne Thompson crafts out of natural materials - his furniture is absolutely outstanding. If I were forty years younger I would ask for an apprenticeship.

A must see!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mojobear_on_tripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile T, Owner at Timpson Creek Gallery, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words. Dwayne and I appreciate them very much. We strive very hard to make shopping at the Timpson Creek Gallery a unique and special experience. Each piece that we place in the store or that Dwayne creates is done with much thought as to whether it is to the same standards our customers have come to appreciate. We look forward to seeing you back in the store very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Something for Everyone!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Shopping at Timpson Creek Gallery never fails to satisfy! The staff is lovely, courteous and helpful. The selection at Timpson Creek Gallery is amazing -- there is something there for everyone. Whether you are looking for one-of-a-kind jewelry (the turquoise jewelry is my favorite) or something special to wear or a one-of-a kind piece of furniture for your home or even a unique piece of artwork (they only have the best and most interesting pieces!) you will find what you are looking for! I always do!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile T, Owner at Timpson Creek Gallery, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you Christy for your very kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our behalf. It is great to hear that you love our items and especially the turquoise jewelry. The jewelry is one of my favorites as well. We try very hard to only add items in the store that are unique, one of kind, and American Made. It is great that you appreciate that effort. We hope you get to come visit again very soon.

Cecile Thompson, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timpson Creek Gallery also viewed

Clayton, Rabun County
Clayton, Rabun County
 
Clayton, Rabun County
 

Been to Timpson Creek Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing