We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A pleasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always A pleasure”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have stayed at Mountain Aire 4 times and each time was great. The rooms are always clean. I like that we have a refridgerator, microwave and coffeepot in the kitchenette. The bed and pillows are comfortable. Frank is such a kind, helpful, friendly man. We like the location--near downtown where we can walk. There are really interesting murals hand painted in each rooms bathroom.
Frank gave us some great tips on sites to see as we traveled away from Clayton in northern GA. He has alot of knowledge of the area.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms and 3 cabins. We have stayed in the rooms and were happy with all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
46
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
260 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Affordable, Friendly, and All American:
Affordable means you won’t break your travel budget especially with kitchenette’s in every room. The cottages are meticulously designed with comfortable quilt-covered beds. It's a quiet, clean property that is unpretentious but thoughtfully lain out.
Friendly means you meet a welcoming Innkeeper, who knows how to make his guests welcome in the best tradition of the Georgia Mountains, and laid-back guests who are rocking into a lazy afternoon or evening along the porches or the decks at each cottage or guests who are pitching horseshoes near the picnic table and grill.
All American means that local talent has put this historic little gem back into tip top condition. A leisurely walk to downtown for breakfast is not out of the question, any day of the week save Sunday. Historic you say? Why yes, it’s the original location of Blue Ridge Coffee Company. Just ask the Innkeeper to show you the building where it all started.

Room Tip: The higher up cottages have a spectacular view. All are quiet, though as the property is tucked int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were in Clayton to visit our son, and needed a place to stay for a couple of nights. This place is a group of "cabins" and rooms. Frank, the owner, is very accommodating, and very conscientioius. The Clear View cabin is one-bedroom with a queen bed and queen sofa bed in the living room. It has a washer/dryer, kitchen, barbecue grill, and chairs in the yard. There was coffee, kitchen staples, laundry soap - everything needed. The bed was comfortable, the decor relaxing. We will stay there again when we are back in Clayton. (There were some ants - but I think that is everywhere in Georgia in June.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeebieJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As usual, I consult TA before making a hotel reservation. I was immediately attracted to this property because of the outstanding reviews of the property. It is almost impossible to please every single guest, but clearly this hotel had done that. We made reservations for the following night and felt lucky to get them.

Frank was working outside when we arrived.. He took us into his cluttered little office and registered us while we prowled around for literature on the city, the area and restaurants. Then Frank took us across the parking lot to the room where we were assigned.

Frank is charming, hospitable and out-going. Once you hear his story you have a much deeper appreciation for what he has created. Our room kind of defies a clear description. It was paneled in wood, but real wood, not cheap wood paneling. Every board had been carefully fitted. It is not anywhere close to be favorite decor, but I had to appreciate the time and attention to detail. It was everywhere in our little room. Even the little bathroom had been carefully planned and constructed in a pleasant style.

Across from the bathroom there is a cabinet and a sink with a coffee maker. Frank keeps the coffee in the cupboard, and it is a can of coffee, not some stale off-brand package stuff he purchased from a wholesaler supplier. The same is true for the dishwashing detergent, the hand soap in the bathroom and the bar soap in the shower. It added an interesting and stable touch.

I am not fond of hanging one's personal faith on walls where I expect other guests to pay to stay. It is clear from the tapestry, paintings and slogans that Frank has a deep belief in his Christian faith. Although I would never have decorated my own home with these objects, they kind of fit the room that Frank built and the philosophy Frank follows. At no time did we feel remotely uncomfortable or pressured to find Christ or do anything of a religious nature. He just hangs these decorations as a statement of who he is, not to convert others, and we have to respect this.

This place is a fairly basic motel. Actually it may even pre-date the concept of a motel and perhaps it was once known as a Travelers Court. Regardless of age, it has been meticulously remodeled. We really enjoyed the convenience of being able to park our car directly in front of our hotel room door. The property is located well off the main road in a quiet area with lots of trees and interesting landscape. There were a couple of chairs on our front porch, and we regretted that we did not have time to just sit and contemplate the lovely day that greeted us the following morning.

There is a guest book in each room, and I enjoyed reading through it. Although I recognized that the draw of this hotel is the charisma of Frank when we first walked into our room, the guest book confirmed that there are many guests we visit this hotel on a regular basis because they love Frank.

We loved Frank, and we would certainly stay with him were we to return to this area. Absent Frank the property would lose some of it's charm. The motel is co-mingled with this remarkable individual and you can not evaluate either of them separately.

I had only one rather awkward moment. Frank does everything on his property. He takes reservations, manages the grass, trees, shrubs, and bushes and he cleans up after every guest returning his rooms to their exceptionally clean status. I rarely have long conversations with the people who clean my hotel rooms, and I truly felt more like a house guest than a hotel guest. Accordingly, I seriously had the need to strip my bed and gather up the linen and put it in the washing machine. I just did not want to increase his work load. I just hoped that we left his room as clean as possible.

Staying at the Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel is a unique experience, and anyone passing through this area should spend a night in this unique place. You will absolutely get a great night's sleep, and you might drive away with a slightly improved personal attitude.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busy-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights. First Frank the owner was as nice and accomodating as can be. Super helpful on restaurants and local sights and sounds. Very personalized service! Second, the room was very clean and cozy, bathroom very clean, just an all around nice experience. Oh yes and there is the sweetest outdoor black cat that was the highlight (for cat lovers). Doesnt go indoors but always there at your calling!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellijay, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived to find a cozy area where this inn and cottages are right outside of the downtown area of Clayton, GA. When we pulled in, we knew right away which room we were in as a welcome note was attached to our door. The room was already unlocked and waiting for us. Frank is the nicest and most hospitable person and you will feel welcomed immediately. We had a wonderful time visiting with our family and friends and I am looking forward to next year already.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the motel style rooms but there are ''cottages'' or private '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seencia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenwood, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Came across Mountain Aire, by chance, on a trip to the mountains. You have just got to stay here when you are in Clayton, GA. It is so unique and clean and wonderful. The perfect place to stay. Close to town, wonderful Inkeeper named Frank, and sweet little black cat, Midnight, who welcomes you with loving purrs!! You can really relax and enjoy the ambiance here. We will definitely return. So clean, comfortable beds and great shower and coffee! Happy, happy, happy to have found Mountain Aire!
!

Room Tip: Clean, clean, clean ... quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia-Harold ... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
113 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn

Property: Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn
Address: 18 Motel Dr, Clayton, GA 30525-4126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn Upscale & Affordable Cottages, The Hillside House, Individual Kitchenette Rooms, or Suites Daily, Weekend, Weekly, or Monthly Getaways. Upscale and Affordable - Casual, Comfortable Charm. Centrally located to everything! Please Note: All interiors are Strictly Non-Smoking! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Aire Cottages Hotel Clayton
Mountain Aire Cottages And Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing