We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couples retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Lincolnton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“couples retreat”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great place to relax and get away from stress of life. Rooms with beautiful views, very friendly staff. Love the spa, espeically the message and pedicures. Have a great hiking trail to take a walk to view 3 waterfalls and just apprecieta nuture. Enjoyed the hot breakfast on the weekend but missed it during the week, was my husbands only dissapointment, but that will not stop us from going again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Our Spa is an excellent place to unwind and relax with a massage or other treatment, we are glad you enjoyed it. The breakfast buffet differs some each day but they try to offer both hot and cold items. We hope you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    85
    44
    19
    9
See reviews for
74
102
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champion, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The staff is fantastic - thank goodness because the rest of this resort needs some TLC. Our room was less than perfect but the staff offered to move us and apologized for the condition of our room. We managed to fix the sliding door so that was good, we managed to get the sliding door to the bathroom back on it's track so that was good. There were other problems that we didn't address but that was ok. The town is totally closed on Sunday so don't plan on going to Clayton, GA on a Sunday for dinner - we had snacks in our room and that was good because we had a wonderful late lunch at the Rusty Bike Cafe and we weren't that hungry. The resort offered breakfast free but it was only continental on Monday but they actually cooked us some scrambled eggs and sausage and biscuits - way more than requested so that was good. Breakfast is only from 8:00 on and we were leaving before that so we didn't do breakfast the second day but that was ok. The golf course was only just waking up to spring and the grass was still brown but we enjoyed it anyway. It is definitely a challenging course and the 18th hole is incredibly difficult at the end of a long day but that was ok too. Like I said the staff was so nice that we really didn't care about all the problems and I'm sure in another month it will be much better - we felt like it was our own personal resort and that was ok with us. As you can see we don't require perfection and the price was right but I do think people need to know that you shouldn't visit Clayton, GA until late April at the earliest to experience the best it has to offer. Having said all this it was an ok visit - just ok - certainly not worth a return trip. Cudos again to the staff - they did the best they could. The outdoor pool was not open but it looked nice and the tennis courts looked to be satisfactory but we didn't use them so I'm no sure.

Room Tip: Not sure what to say except that our room was not the best. Perhaps you should check out your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dquigley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
I'm sorry that you had some problems with your room. You should not have been put in a room that needed some work done on it. Our rooms are a little older but kept very clean and repairs are done when required. Clayton is a small town but very friendly and busy during the season. We hope you will give us and our town another chance sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our group had travelled to play golf over a Friday and Saturday, Check in was a dream, Peggy the manager, very professional got us to our rooms early , Lewis in the golf shop excellent help went out of his way to help with our golf plans for the 2 days, Sea food buffet Friday night crab legs etc.. WOW the chef at this resort is 5 star , breakfast also is one not to be missed the manager at the restaurant made us fell like we had always stayed there and his lovely wife at the reception is about as friendly as they come. Thank you to all !! look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your golf getaway. Lewis is always ready to assist any way he can with a golfers needs and our Grounds Supervisor works very hard to keep the golf course in excellent condition. Our Chef prides himself on preparing the best meals possible for our guests enjoyment. All of our staff strive to make everyone feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Inn at Kingwood. We loved it! Our room was wonderful, the view of the mountains was great. Everyone was very accommodating. It was just the place we needed to relax from a hectic life, so quiet and peaceful. We only had the opportunity to eat breakfast there, but it was very good. I did hear a trio speak among themselves at breakfast they wished a gravy would have been offered with the biscuits.
We hope we will be able to go back sometime.

Room Tip: Have no complaints of our room. It seemed as if all rooms had a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It is always nice to hear compliments. I will pass on your comments about gravy with the biscuits to our Chef. I know he tries to come up with different menu items for breakfast and does prepare gravy occasionally. I am sorry the morning you had breakfast it was not offered. Please come back and give us another try and hopefully it will be on the breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I took my mom to stay for a mother daughter mini vacation. We had a wonderful time. The location was quiet and beautiful, the price was more than affordable, the staff were the epitome of southern hospitality, and the food was very good and priced well. We were about 45 minutes away from our favorite places to visit, and minutes from Clayton. It was a simple wonderful trip and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are pleased that you and your Mother enjoyed your time with us. Clayton is a very friendly town and fun place to visit and live. We are happy when others can see and enjoy the beauty of our area. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We took a weekend trip to Kingwood Resort Country Club and Resort. It's a hidden treasure and the customer service was outstanding. Everything from the check in to the check out was great. The staff was great and we felt like someone cares about us. True southern hospitality in Clayton GA. Elizabeth emailed me several things to do in the area. The resort is located on the golf course but it was still very peaceful during our stay. The food was great. Small downtown area but very friendly. I would stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and pick a condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willisblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. We strive to make everyone comfortable and relaxed during their visit. We hope you will plan on returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powder Springs, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We took a weekend at Kingwood Country Club and Resort and highly recommend it. The front desk staff, especially Mandy, could not have been nicer. True southern hospitality at its best. The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The wait staff there was also very friendly--especially the young lady who worked on the evenings of March 7th and 8th. The room was clean. The golf course was beautiful. The town of Clayton was fun and upbeat full of little shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our staff strive to make our guests feel right at home here in the mountains. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
7.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#1 of 7 in Clayton
259 reviews
5.7 mi away
Historic Sylvan Falls Mill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Country Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Country Club & Resort

Property: Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Address: 401 Country Club Dr, Clayton, GA 30525-5548 (Formerly The Inn at Kingwood)
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingwood Country Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away from it all has never been so convenient. With luscious dining options, world-class golf, hair-raising adventure opportunities, and plush lodgings - all accompanied by the stunning mountain views, Kingwood Resort is the perfect vacation retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingwood Country Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Country Club Hotel Clayton
Kingwood Country Club And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing