We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Getaway ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway ”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are on our last stay of 4 nights here. It has been a very relaxing time. The staff are very courteous and friendly. We came here to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary and could not been happier with the food and service. We ate in the restaurant last evening to celebrate our anniversary. The food was outstanding. We unfortunately couldn't get in to get a massage with our vouchers ; but hopefully next time we will. Thank you staff for a great time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us. I am sorry that you were not able to get a Spa appointment during your stay but hope that you will return again to give the Spa another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    81
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
73
97
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Came here for a weekend getaway, based on the website it looked great. It was ok. The room smelled of stale cigarette smoke as did our neighbors. The breakfast was lacking on healthier items such as fruit and yogurt. It was better than most hotels breakfast. The spa was great. They were very friendly and clean. The staff at the resort and spa were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that might have been newly remodeled or added to avoid stale odors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us but do apologize for the room odor. Our housekeeping staff strives to keep the rooms very clean and smelling fresh. The breakfast buffet usually has some healthy items such as fruit and yogurt so not sure why these were not available to you. We hope you will come back for a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paintsville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Pros very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice beds and bedding, pretty scenery
cons bugs in room, need new tvs, cold breakfast bar, and weak luggage rack, parking was excellent and staff always willing to meet your needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here but sorry you had a few issues. As far as the TV's we are in the process of upgrading the rooms with new equipment. The breakfast buffet varies each day with hot and cold items. We hope you will have a return visit with us to see all of the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Kingwood Golf club is just AWESOME - it has always been good but I guess the new management has stirred things up and it is now EXCELLENT. Louis? - he always checks me in for golf and is so friendly and helpful and of course the good ole fashioned country welcome when you walk throughout he front door of the pro shop is very comforting :)
Played there twice on this trip and Robert - I think his last name is Webb - greeted me both times and ensured I felt VERY welcome! On both occasions - and this is new for me - he followed me to my car to get my clubs and got them on the cart plus was very friendly. When I finished my round he cleaned my clubs and reminded me not to forget anything - week I was about to get in my car when he said - "See you almost did!" and handed me my cell phone - thanks Robert :) The course is in good condition and only will get better with the spring and summer approaching. Love the challenging doglegs - gorgeous scenery and close location to Clayton and my home in Tiger - I paid $49 for cart and round. I think it's a must play course in the Georgia mountains - tell Robert and Sunny Max said hi :)

Room Tip: Did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strata-Mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your experience on our golf course and with our staff. The staff all strive to make our guests feel welcome and hope they have a wonderful time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I grabbed two nights at this resort for a mini vacation, and are so glad we did. This resort is nestled in a beautiful mountain area, and the staff were eager to make our stay pleasant and fun. We enjoyed access to the spa with hot tubs, steam rooms and saunas, a large indoor pool, and fitness center. Our room was spacious and nicely laid out, with a large private balcony and wonderful view. Do dine at the resort restaurant - a wonderful menu and everything we ordered was 5 star delicious! We enjoyed the old lovely architecture of the clubhouse and surrounding buildings. If we had more time we would have visited the many hiking trails in the area. Highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place! They all face the same direction with a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyHannahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We try hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay with us and it is always nice to hear such wonderful comments such as yours. We are pleased you had a nice time and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our group of six (three couples) recently booked our reservations with the delightful Amanda. She was fabulous and most gracious, as she gathered all our information and selected rooms next to each other. She also shared many helpful tips to enhance our upcoming visit. What exceptional customer service! We felt like we were family, and we are anxious to visit Kingwood Resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about one of our staff. All of the staff try hard to make everyone feel welcome and have an enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We visited for 2 nights with 3 other couples. The rooms were clean and roomy. Loved the large balconies . The men really enjoyed the golf course and the ladies had a great shopping day in Clayton. The negative attitude by the bartender on our first night definitely affected our overall experience. We did not return for dinner or drinks the second night. Hiring a friendlier, more professional bartender would truly improve the ambience of this resort in a beautiful setting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SisTAH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
I am so sorry to hear about your experience with one of our staff. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome. I wish you had given our Restaurant another chance to show you how good the food is and how friendly our wait staff are. We hope you will return some day and give us that second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
7.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#2 of 7 in Clayton
249 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Country Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Country Club & Resort

Property: Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Address: 401 Country Club Drive, Clayton, GA 30525 (Formerly The Inn at Kingwood)
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingwood Country Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away from it all has never been so convenient. With luscious dining options, world-class golf, hair-raising adventure opportunities, and plush lodgings - all accompanied by the stunning mountain views, Kingwood Resort is the perfect vacation retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, HRS, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingwood Country Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Country Club Hotel Clayton
Kingwood Country Club And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing