We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights. The room was clean and neat. The staff is A+. Ken who works the front desk is great. Very helpful and friendly. The room could use an updating. Flat screen TV and new curtains. Don't let that change your mind on this place. Before you book try orbit's. Got a good price under 70 bucks week day rate. We would stay agian.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our staff strive to make our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    81
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
73
97
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I must give credibility to myself on writing this review, I have been in the hospitality industry for 20+ as a Certified Meeting Professional and have seen more hotels,motels and inns that I care to talk about or book, therefore, Kingwood Country Club & Resort,Clayton,GA is one I would NEVER recommend to anyone!. Arrived on Sunday, left Monday morning, but had reservations for 2-days when my fiance and I arrived we asked for a wine cork screw / 2 wine glasses ,the kitchen was CLOSED and the front desk employee could not help me! The outside pool? Not ready! Our room smelled musty and so outdated with the furnishing and NO FLAT SCREEN TV,the remote control batteries were held in with scotch tape!! This is a 4-star "resort" that is rated by TripAdvisor. (I saw the stars of excellence in the welcome center). Called front desk,need more bath towels, no problem, but I have to come and get them, I did...remember this is a "4-star resort"!!!!!! The air-conditioning system is as old as the hotel, build in 1968, so it makes that continuous ON sound, no matter what I did, short of turning it off, it would not go off. Food...what hotel can not make good coffee, THIS ONE!! It was terrible, we had to go to McDonald's down the street to eat! This is when we decided to leave, could not understand why the word, "resort"...is in the name....probably because of the spa??? it is NOT, sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minoritylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I were in Clayton visiting relatives and had a wonderful 3 night stay in the hotel. We enjoyed breakfast each morning, as well as a delicious dinner in the restaurant. All staff were very courteous and prompt with any requests we had. We reported that the AC was not cooling well and the issue was immediately resolved thanks to Amanda's prompt attention! We enjoyed morning coffee on the deck which was furnished with a small table and chairs. Unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to use the spa because of our schedule, but found many things to do within a short drive, including hiking in a beautiful national forest, fishing for trout, and a weekend event in the city of Clayton.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have mountain views, but the the upper set of rooms had easy access to the clubhous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachdawgscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We enjoy hearing from our guests that they had a wonderful visit with us. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our group of 5 people stayed the weekend in a 2 bedroom condo. The condo was very clean and tidy and the back balcony was a good size too it was great. Throughout the weekend us three guys played 72 holes of golf. It's a really fun course. Very short, narrow and with some dog legs and straight turns. Couple drive able par fours to make you think. Great greens. Staff is all very nice and friendly great place to be. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codyjohngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time on our golf course. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are on our last stay of 4 nights here. It has been a very relaxing time. The staff are very courteous and friendly. We came here to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary and could not been happier with the food and service. We ate in the restaurant last evening to celebrate our anniversary. The food was outstanding. We unfortunately couldn't get in to get a massage with our vouchers ; but hopefully next time we will. Thank you staff for a great time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us. I am sorry that you were not able to get a Spa appointment during your stay but hope that you will return again to give the Spa another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Came here for a weekend getaway, based on the website it looked great. It was ok. The room smelled of stale cigarette smoke as did our neighbors. The breakfast was lacking on healthier items such as fruit and yogurt. It was better than most hotels breakfast. The spa was great. They were very friendly and clean. The staff at the resort and spa were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that might have been newly remodeled or added to avoid stale odors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us but do apologize for the room odor. Our housekeeping staff strives to keep the rooms very clean and smelling fresh. The breakfast buffet usually has some healthy items such as fruit and yogurt so not sure why these were not available to you. We hope you will come back for a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paintsville, Kentucky
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Pros very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice beds and bedding, pretty scenery
cons bugs in room, need new tvs, cold breakfast bar, and weak luggage rack, parking was excellent and staff always willing to meet your needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here but sorry you had a few issues. As far as the TV's we are in the process of upgrading the rooms with new equipment. The breakfast buffet varies each day with hot and cold items. We hope you will have a return visit with us to see all of the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
7.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#2 of 7 in Clayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Country Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Country Club & Resort

Property: Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Address: 401 Country Club Drive, Clayton, GA 30525 (Formerly The Inn at Kingwood)
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingwood Country Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away from it all has never been so convenient. With luscious dining options, world-class golf, hair-raising adventure opportunities, and plush lodgings - all accompanied by the stunning mountain views, Kingwood Resort is the perfect vacation retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingwood Country Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Country Club Hotel Clayton
Kingwood Country Club And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing