We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a lovely stay here this week. Yes the rooms were a little dated, but exceptionally clean and the view from our deck was spectacular. The breakfast was excellent, lots of food, and our lunch and dinner were delicious and cooked perfectly and very tasty. The fried cheesecake for dessert, which my husband and I shared, was over the top delicious. The staff, through out the resort, were extremely friendly and accommodating. We golfed two days and loved the course. Although a challenge to us "low landers", we can't wait to go back. Loved the look of the dinning room. Oh yes we did also dine in town several times for variety. Great general store in town, and a selection of good eateries.

Room Tip: WE asked for a second floor room, and if you don't mind carrying luggage up a short flight, The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

The room was clean and pleasant, although the lighting was a bit dim for my taste. Since this was our first stay at a golf & country club resort, I guess I expected more of the "Wow!" factor.
That being said, we got a fantastic deal, the atmosphere and views were beautiful, the food was really good, and Amanda Smith was very personable, answered all of our questions, and took great care of us! .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Let's start off with all of the negatives .... we first stayed here about 3 years ago - and this was not the very best place we've ever stayed at -- 3 years ago it was rough - very rough.

That said, obviously things have changed ... the room was clean, very clean .. we had a nice size closet, a large mini-refrigerator, two large queen beds and a large 2nd story patio deck with a wonderful view of the pool area and an outstanding view of the golf course.

The people that work here went out of their way on every level to make sure the hotel quests were happy and satisfied -- they have a good restaurant with a great breakfast with another great view of the golf course with the 9th hole just paces away from the outside patio - not a bad way to start your day.

Kingwood isn't the newest or the shiniest of the "resort" style hotels, but the golf course is challenging and in impeccable shape with a great staff that has big smiles -- looks like they've turned this place around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraySouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and it was awesome! It was just like being at home only better! Bed was very comfortable we both slept like babies! Golf was great, a very challenging course with beautiful vistas and views. The greens were smooth and fast...a well maintained course! We ate at the main restaurant (The Lodge) one night and Nathan was great....very personable...great service....great food! We give this resort 5 stars!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The resort is just out of town in Clayton, GA. The room was comfortable and clean, nothing fancy but adequate. Did not use any of the amenities at the resort this time but will try the spa and golf next visit. There is a short hike to a small waterfall on the property. It is very nice and peaceful. The resort offers a hot breakfast with the room. We stayed for two nights and it was the same both mornings, so it would have been nice to change it up. The staff in the restaurant could use more training. There are shops in Clayton that are fun to visit and several good local restaurants. Great quick getaway to just relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our second visit to the area and we knew after the first time we would come back.
Not just because the golf was amazing, there's lots of golf courses but it was because of the great people. "Chicago Mike" made you feel like you were truly welcome and they were glad "ya'all" came. A must see if you're in Georgia. And for an even warmer welcome tell Mike "GO HAWKS"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our family traveled to the Kingwood Resort from all parts of the U.S. to participate in and/or attend a family wedding the weekend of May 17; the resort and dining staff were welcoming, responsive and "no" was not in their vocabulary; our rooms were clean and relaxing and, yes, could use a little updating but we had everything we needed or wanted; the chef and dining/catering staff closed out the dining room Friday and Saturday nights and were back there first thing the following morning(s) -- never skipping a beat or a smile -- there may be some opportunity to support the chef in his efforts to serve the perfect meal to a large group (perhaps a good opportunity to upgrade some of his kitchen equipment) as the salmon and almond encrusted salmon were excellent but a little dry but the barbecue chicken and beef entrees were perfect! The guests stayed in the hotel accommodations and all of the rooms for the wedding guests were wisely placed together; the bride and groom had an amazing condo further back in the golf course and it was a great place for friends and family to gather between events. One heads up -- there is no cell coverage which ensures an excellent escape for all but did slightly impact wedding coordination efforts and the condo telephone does not allow calls room-to-room. Final kudos to the wedding coordinator, Elizabeth (the wedding coordinator), thank you, thank you, thank you for your amazing wedding coordination efforts and for "pulling some strings" and giving us one hour of sunshine just in time for the (outdoor) wedding! This is a place to escape, to celebrate, or bring your family together ... great setting for families, couples, weddings, events, and meetings/conferences ... the mountains are beautiful but the staff make it worth the drive.

Room Tip: I don't know that there is a bad view from any one room but you will want to specific whether or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
7.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
8.8 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
120 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Country Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Country Club & Resort

Address: 401 Country Club Dr, Clayton, GA 30525-5548 (Formerly The Inn at Kingwood)
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range: £75 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingwood Country Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away from it all has never been so convenient. With luscious dining options, world-class golf, hair-raising adventure opportunities, and plush lodgings - all accompanied by the stunning mountain views, Kingwood Resort is the perfect vacation retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingwood Country Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Country Club And Resort
Kingwood Country Club Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing