We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amanda is Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amanda is Awesome!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked a room at the resort for a girlfriend birthday celebration. The 4 of us arrived late on a Friday night, tired after work and a long drive, and ready for check in. Amanda, at the front desk, lifted our spirits and brought smiles and laughter within the first minute. Due to a booking mix up through a 3rd party, our reservations were not to be found. Immediately Amanda told us not to worry-we'd have a room. Because of the problem, (which wasn't their fault), Amanda upgraded us to a condo. What a great birthday gift that was! The condo was huge, and had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable, and the master bath huge. We loved sitting on the screened balcony, over looking the golf course. Our facials and massages at the on-site spa were excellent. We used both the indoor and outdoor pool, and almost had them all to ourselves. The free hot breakfast was a nice surprise we didn't expect. A nearby Italian restaurant was recommended, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had such a relaxing visit, that was the only time we left the resort. We'll definitely return, much because the friendliness & help of Amanda at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    81
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
73
97
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just returned from a girls' weekend getaway. Had a fantastic time! The grounds are beautiful, and the views of the mountains and golf course are so gorgeous and peaceful. We spent our mornings on the screened in porch enjoying our coffee and the peace and quiet! Friendly and fantastic staff...especially Amanda Smith who checked us in and out. She went way above and beyond taking care of us!!! Visited the spa and had a fabulous massage and facial...the only thing I would recommend for the spa is an increase in staff there...even booking a month in advance, they could not accommodate all 4 of us girls. Definitely will go back...sooner rather than later!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gammie52 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I, along with two other couples, spent several nights at Kingwood Resort recently. The rooms were very well kept and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Ken, the manager, went to great effort to assure our visit was memorable. The food at the restaurant was very good
Our wives enjoyed all the trappings of the spa while we roamed the nearby mountains and Lake Rabun. The location of the resort is close to everything the area has to offer so sightseeing is at the doorstep.
We are looking forward to another trip to Kingwood in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same with two queen beds, coffer maker, tv, and a small refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Rocks Beach Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

One of my favorite places in the country.
Staff members are genuinely friendly.....From the moment I made my reservation to the time I checked out I experienced nothing but smiling faces and employees that seemed to enjoy being at work.
The Rooms have sizable balconies with a great view of the surrounding hills and overlook the pool. The Beds where very comfortable....Slept like a baby.

I couldn't resist playing golf on the beautiful course. I called to inquire about a tee time and availability of rental clubs and the pro shop manager set me up with everything. The course is absolutely beautiful. Each hole is a post card opportunity...take your camera.

The Complimentary breakfast was adequate and tasty and very conveniently located to the rooms.
Cell reception can be very challenging in this part of the mountains but I had no problem receiving and sending from my balcony.
There is free Wi Fi but it is a bit slow.
There were plenty of TV channels to choose from but I have to admit it is time for them to update to flat screens. Not a big deal with me but those old clunkers look kind of funny.

I can't wait to come back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyguanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

For the most part our stay was nice. Great getaway for couples wanting to escape from normal life. Rooms were nice, some updates needed, hospitality of employees was excellent, Spa staff was amazing and services were fairly priced. Would recommend to those who want a break from city life and cell phone service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I spent a beautiful weekend at this resort for her birthday. The resort is located well up into the Georgia mountains and the views from both our room and the restaurant were absolutely breathtaking. The room was large and the bed comfortable. There are 2 Queen beds in each room of the resort so it is fine for a family of four. We had a large balcony that overlooked the outdoor pool. There is also a 18 hole golf course and a fully equipped spa including an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Golf and spa treatments of course are extra. A small continental breakfast is included. The resort is just outside of downtown Clayton and there are many cafe's and antique shops all along Main Street. There are 2 restaurants in the resort but we did not use them for anything other than the included breakfast. There are many hiking trails and waterfalls nearby. The rooms could use some upgrading as the door separating the shower/toilet from the sink and vanity area was very hard to close and the carpeting is quite worn. The service at the front dest was excellent and the housekeeping was fine. I would recommend this resort for a good value and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hows1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We found a last minute TravelZoo deal and decided to check it out for a short weekend getaway with the kids. We weren't exactly sure what to expect since we had never heard of Kingwood (and we aren't a golfing family), but we were very pleasantly surprised. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff members were all extremely helpful and friendly. The kids loved the indoor pool and spent quite a bit of time swimming. The room was clean and comfortable and we had a great view from the balcony. As others have said, the rooms don't fall into the "luxury" category, but for us, they were totally fine. We aren't a golfing family but there is still plenty to do, both onsite and nearby...would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dscsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
7.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#2 of 7 in Clayton
249 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Country Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Country Club & Resort

Property: Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Address: 401 Country Club Drive, Clayton, GA 30525 (Formerly The Inn at Kingwood)
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingwood Country Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away from it all has never been so convenient. With luscious dining options, world-class golf, hair-raising adventure opportunities, and plush lodgings - all accompanied by the stunning mountain views, Kingwood Resort is the perfect vacation retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingwood Country Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Country Club Hotel Clayton
Kingwood Country Club And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing