We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough without the price hike”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close enough without the price hike”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a lovely modern hotel attached to a Brewers Fayre. It's only a 10-15 minute drive into Aberdeen City Centre, so close enough for a without having to pay extra for the City and struggling for avaiavailability in the Oil Capital! The meal deal is great value, and the quality of the food is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen_Stainton, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen). Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient.
The meal deal is good value for money and very please you found the quality of food great and will pass this feedback to the restaurant .
We look forward to welcomimg you back in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    99
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
127
86
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

lovely setting in leafy quiet area yet handy for main roads

Excellent staff service -couldn't do enough to help

welcoming and attentive to detail

WILL VISIT AGAIN

VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

ROOMS SPOTLESS AND ROOMY




  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyw222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen_Stainton, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We're so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

the hotel was very fresh modern and very clean at all times enjoyable stay, comfortable and relaxing rooms. Not much to complain about only small thing, I felt the room was a little dark could of done with a main light rather than just lamps apart from that all good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen_Stainton, Premier Team Leader at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay.
At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and we consistently monitor our rates to ensure we are competitively priced.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Aberdeen South(Portlethen) in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Generally just ok.
Room rate - expensive
Food - unimaginitive and expensive
Rooms - temperature was too high and no way to cool the room. Noisy with doors banging through the night. No towels one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkEllis034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen_Stainton, Premier Team Leader at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and we consistently monitor our rates to ensure we are competitively prices, your feedback is very much appreciated and the comments have been passed on to our Marketing Team.

We are sorry that your room was hot and noisy. It is matters to us that you have a comfortable nights sleep and your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up with the team.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights when visiting family. As a wheelchair user I wanted to have the ability to wash daily, which is not possible at the family that I was visiting. I would say first of all that every member of staff I encountered was friendly, polite and helpful too.
When I got into my bedroom there was an obvious line of fag ash on the inside window sill - underneath the window sticker saying Smoking is prohibited inside the premises. We told the lady at reception and it was all taken away with no fuss.
The bedroom was a typical Premier Inn disabled room; it had a bath where a shower is a bit easier for me. I managed the bath fine every day but I would warn people to mind the soap dish, I have a cracker of a bruise where I hit my arm of it. I think there could have been another vertical grab rail on the wall by the shower to make get in and out the bath a bit easier - I had to make do with the shower rail instead.
When I stayed here Aberdeen was having absolutely gorgeous weather, so very hot. My room was at the front of the hotel where everybody has a fag. Whenever I opened my window for air I invariably got a whole lot of cigarette smoke coming in. I think either a smoking shelter further away from the front of the hotel or the rooms further away. It wasn’t always the quietest at night; I could hear people most nights.
On the whole the breakfasts were good. I enjoyed muesli and toast, where my mum enjoyed her cooked breakfast. My aunty had cereal and the fruit compote unfortunately it was still defrosting and not the most pleasant to eat. On the final day I was bored with muesli and opted for Coco Pops. These were in a dispense machine with the Bran Flakes and Corn Flakes, I think they had been opened for quite a while they were soft.
The bar has a soft play area and a playground too. We took my nephew and niece there one day, they always really like it - they are regulars. They have a disabled toilet in the pub/play area which is very good; there are toilet seats adaptations for toddler bottoms and a step too.
I think the hotel is best suited for people who only stay fleetingly for one night. The three nights was pushing it.
The staff were very good I must say again, I don’t want it to look as if it’s all bad. I have had much better Premier Inn experiences at other hotels in the chain.

Room Tip: Ask where your room would be and try to get the back of the hotel, should be quieter and less smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen_Stainton, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with everything they need to have a comfortable stay, and apologise that on this occasion it did not provide what you required. Some of the Premeier Inn sites are equiped with full disabled facilities, including wet rooms, though some of the older sites still need updating. We do however state the available faclities on our website and would advise customers to contact the hotel to check availability.
Please be assured all your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the team.
The feedback regarding the retaurant will be passed on their Management Team.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stopped here since Stoneheaven was a bit pricey for just the one night and it was surprisingly spacious, clean, neat... Better than a bed and breakfast. Good sleep and good water pressure. Loved it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen_Stainton, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Many thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Premier Inn Aberdeen South(Portlethen)
It remains our objective to provide a high standard of service and we so pleased you feel we achieved this. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn when you tour again in the future.
Thanks Once again for taking the time to review your stay .

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable, I could even check in a couple of hours before official check in time. The staff were courteous and very helpful, arranging a number of taxis for the wedding guests. The brewers fayre supplied an okay breakfast which helped the hangovers, the location was ideal and was close to the wedding venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphaMike448 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen_Stainton, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Aberdeen South.
We are happy that we could go the "Extra Mile" with allowing you to check in early so that you could get ready for your wedding.
We as a team make every effort to make all our guests happy with the facilities we provide.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another visit and maybe even for you to attend another wedding.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlethen
3.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
7.6 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Address: Mains of Balquharn, Portlethen AB12 4QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portlethen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decisions, decisions. Do you spend time exploring the scenery of North East Scotland, or do you head straight into Aberdeen for all the shopping, leisure and business facilities it has to offer? Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen South (Portlethen) puts you within easy reach of whatever you decide to do. See where the crown jewels were hidden from Cromwell with a visit to the ruined medieval fortress of Dunnottar Castle. Or visit a real gem for garden lovers, Duthie Park and the exotic plants of the Winter Gardens. And don't miss the precious stone of Aberdeen itself, with the shimmering silver of the granite buildings and landmarks. Mouth-watering food awaits you back at the hotel, courtesy of our Brewers Fayre restaurant, as well as extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: On A90, take 2nd exit for Portlethen from either direction and follow signposts for Badentoy Park. The hotel is on the right. Next to the Mains of Balquharn Brewers Fayre. Sat nav postcode: AB12 4YD Transport and local information: Portlethen & Stonehaven Golf Course Aberdeen Shopping Sunset Boulevard Beach Portlethen Train Station 2 miles Aberdeen Airport 12 miles Aberdeen Ferry 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen South Hotel Aberdeen
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing