We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard business hotel, you know what to expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Standard business hotel, you know what to expect.”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I stayed here for one night whilst in the ares for a business appointment. The Premier Inn brand is good because you always know what to expect. This hotel has had a significant extension in recent years and is still very difficult to get a room at (unless you're staying for more than 1 or 2 nights). Check in was busy when I arrived but the receptionist acknowledged me when I arrived so I didn't feel like I was being ignored.
Security considerations for females travelling alone are better than in most hotels, and that can't ever be understimated in my opinion.
I had a very peaceful night's sleep in a spacious room with no noise interruptions.
There is ample car parking onsite. There is a neighbouring pub-restaurant for breakfast service (which is absolutely fine) and meals. I didn't eat here in the evening but chose to order from a local takeaway using justeat.co.uk instead, although in hindsight the price and quality of food probably would have been better in the adjoining restaurant
I had been trying to get a room for another one-night stay in March but the website and central reservations insisted the hotel was fully booked, but thanks to the lovely morning receptionist at check out a room was made available for me and for that I am very grateful, Good quality service, comfortable night's sleep, all-in-all a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    103
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
88
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

excellent hotel staff amazing could'nt ask for anything better

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Like all Premier Inns easy check-in with friendly staff, nice clean room and bathroom. As we arrived late we ate at Mains pub next door. Ordered Curry for main meal which came without the accompanying mango chutney (as per the menu), had to ask for that. The drinks we ordered didn't appear and had to chase them up, after a delay (just as about to ask again) they appeared. The staff were all quite young so we thought maybe it was a training issue, but then they became over attentive with one server checking every few minutes if we needed anything, so after our meal we left. At breakfast both mornings the (older) staff had a peculiar habit of seeing you waiting to be seated and then going and clearing a table, then seeing you again and acknowledging your presence, but they knew you were there - this was puzzling. It wasn't as if it was busy and the tables needed clearing to allow you to be seated. Ordered porridge and had to chase that up. First time we have been disappointed with any of the Premier Inn restaurants but I am sure it will be noticed and rectified. The Premier Inn itself was fine as usual, no complaints there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverjubilee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thanks for your review at Premier Inn we endeavour to delivery a high standard of service in all our establishments. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will most certainly be followed up by the Management Team at our Aberdeen South hotel and Mains of Balquharn Brewers Fayre. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and all feedback is followed up to ensure we continue to improve standards and meet our customers requirements. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed only for 1 night - as it was planned that way.
Rooms were a good size and everything was clean. There were a lot of free parking places and it was easy to park the car just beside the hotel. Also the girl at the reception was very friendly.
So all in all: Friendly atmosphere

Next to the hotel is the Brewers Fayre pub, which I used in the evening, and the next morning for breakfast. The pub is only a 5-10 meter "walk" away from the hotel. Also there: Friendly atmosphere.

All in all: No complaints and I would recommend this hotel and the pub.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s85054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights using it as a base for travelling in the area. The Inn was spotless clean and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and also in the Brewer's Fayre next door for dinner. Breakfast was amazing value with lots of choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to deliver the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntisland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Firstly let me focus on the positives from this stay. The rooms were spacious and clean as they always are at any Premier Inn i've stayed in. The staff too were friendly and on hand to help at anytime. Plenty free car parking too which is always a bonus.

A couple of things let this hotel down though. Upon check-in we were advised that we were in the new building which is separate from the main building which houses reception etc. We reached this building only to eventually find out that we gained access through a fire door with our keys – we weren’t told this at reception and got soaked whilst looking for the way in.

Also after returning from the Brewers Fayre at night the fire door was wedged open – hardly security conscious. And the food at the Brewers Fayre was average at best with a long waiting time for our meals.

I have had great service from all Premier Inns I have stayed at and this is the first one I have had issues with so hopefully its just a blip.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tinsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our clean, spacious rooms, and helpful team members met your expectations. Our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. We therefore are disappointed to hear that you encountered some issues with the entrance to your accomodation block, please be assured these comments will be fed back to site and duly followed up. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I travelled to this hotel for a short stay in the area to visit a friend. Convenient location straight off the A90 main road from Dundee - Aberdeen. Situated about 8 miles from Aberdeen City centre.

Check in very simple and straightforward, and I arrived about 1pm, but was allowed into my room still.

Rooms were a good size, had a bath, shower, wc, television (freeview, but not sky), king size bed, tea and coffee facilities... room and bathroom was clean cannot fault it. Plentiful car parking onsite.

The hotel is next to a Brewers Fayre pub, which I used in the evening, and the next morning for breakfast. Both experiences were great, friendly staff, fast efficient service... - again no complaints.

All in all highly recommended for a base for this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vengamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlethen
3.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
7.6 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
476 reviews
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Address: Mains of Balquharn, Portlethen AB12 4QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portlethen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decisions, decisions. Do you spend time exploring the scenery of North East Scotland, or do you head straight into Aberdeen for all the shopping, leisure and business facilities it has to offer? Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen South (Portlethen) puts you within easy reach of whatever you decide to do. See where the crown jewels were hidden from Cromwell with a visit to the ruined medieval fortress of Dunnottar Castle. Or visit a real gem for garden lovers, Duthie Park and the exotic plants of the Winter Gardens. And don't miss the precious stone of Aberdeen itself, with the shimmering silver of the granite buildings and landmarks. Mouth-watering food awaits you back at the hotel, courtesy of our Brewers Fayre restaurant, as well as extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: On A90, take 2nd exit for Portlethen from either direction and follow signposts for Badentoy Park. The hotel is on the right. Next to the Mains of Balquharn Brewers Fayre. Sat nav postcode: AB12 4YD Transport and local information: Portlethen & Stonehaven Golf Course Aberdeen Shopping Sunset Boulevard Beach Portlethen Train Station 2 miles Aberdeen Airport 12 miles Aberdeen Ferry 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen South Hotel Aberdeen
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing