We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring caravan stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deeside Holiday Park
Strichen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Touring caravan stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just back after staying here for four nights, had an enjoyable stay. I am a regular visitor to this park, its very handy for Aberdeen. You can choose your pitch when you book, good email booking correspondence and good facilities. My kids enjoy the play area and the games room, although they miss the table tennis table. A lot of work has been done to improve this site over the years I have been going and still seems to be ongoing and they are always out working on site doing work. New showers in toilet block are a great replacement to the electric showers although water wasn't that hot even when fully turned on and work still needs to be done to tidy up the inside of this toilet block such as the walls etc but I am sure this will be done in due course. My only negative would be that it is sometimes well into the afternoon before the toilet block is cleaned and one occasion I found no toilet roll and the toilets quite dirty and this was well into the day, unusual for this site so I didn't complain. Always enjoy our stays here, my kids ask to go to this site and I have bought their loyalty card in the past, sadly wont have any other trips this year here as have other plans unless we manage to fit in a weekend but hope to make good use of this site next year.

Room Tip: I always choose a pitch beside the toilet block away from the play park as although I have kids I en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Deeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing Deeside Holiday Park.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you are a regular visitor to Deeside.

We appreciate your comments on our ongoing upgrades and do our best to continually improve our park and facilities. We did unfortunately have to take away the table tennis but we are looking at ways we can accommodate it outdoors for the Summer months.

We are sorry to hear that the toilets were not up to standard on an occassion during your stay. We will certainly look into this to make sure it dosen't happen again in the future.

Have a great Summer and hopefully we will see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the park while our house was getting worked on and it had everything we needed. The park was always nice and quiet but very accessible from the business areas on the south side of Aberdeen. The pub next door served good food and the staff at the park were always very friendly and helpful. Thanks all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Deeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing Deeside Holiday Park.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and glad we could make your stay as pleasant as possible while your house was undergoing work.

We hope you are now settled back into your house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Only stayed one night as a stop-over but great alternative to a cold and damp tent. Slept four, had an ample sized fridge, tv, kettle, storage shelf and heater which we didn't need as was cosy, outside picnic table and bench for each lodge which we used at breakfast time getting entertained by the ducks. All lodges are around the fenced pond, close to play area, games room, campers kitchen and showers and loos, ideal for young families. Site is quiet,well maintained and spotlessly clean and only ten minute drive to Aberdeen or convenient for touring Royal Deeside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Deeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing Deeside Holiday Park.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in our camping pods. Customer feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your positive comments on the cleanliness and facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in a caravan for 4 nights at the Deeside Caravan Park. The caravan was clean and very well kept and provided a good base for a few days looking around Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire. Our young son loved playing in the well equipped childrens' playpark and feeding the ducks. The food at the adjacent Old Mill Inn, 2 minutes walk from the holiday park, is very good too although a little expensive (but then this is Aberdeen where nothing is cheap!). While the park is well kept and well located (as long as you have your own car - there's only one bus a day passing by) there are quite a few areas in which it could improve. The access road is in a terrible condition with potholes that could damage a car; the poor ducks have more of a muddy hole than a pond to swim in; the site is rather tight with a lack of landscaping and a lot of overlooking from adjacent vans; and we have stayed in far more 'homely' caravans - more imagination could be given to the interiors. Having said this though the staff are friendly and helpful and we would certainly return for another short break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Methven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Deeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing Deeside Holiday Park.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We are aware that are roads require attention in places and are resurfacing the entrance and main road on the park in September.

Unfortunately, our pond water level is dictated by the water table. As we have had a very dry Summer, it has left the pond empty for a couple of weeks which is very rare. We are starting work this week to try and improve the pond for the ducks and we do keep a fresh supply of water for them.

Customer feedback is very important to us and we hope that you see an improvement on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have always wanted to camp but had not commited to owning caravan or tent etc so the lodge here was ideal to fill the gap of what we wanted and what we did not have.
Looking at other people's equipmet was fun on its own but the facility was very well maintained, clean and easy to access. The staff were all friednly and helpful. The cost was very reasonable and we are already talking about going back next summer.
There is a nice pub nearby. The kitchen in the lodge is well equiped, there is no problem cooking proper meal too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Deeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Deeside Hoilday Park.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is the 2nd time I have visited Deeside and both times were very enjoyable. The campsite on its own is very clean and always busy. The facilities are outstanding with very clean toilets and showers (showers are very powerful too!). I would definitely visit the site again when in Aberdeen. Great trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Deeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing Deeside Holiday Park and for returning to stay with us.

We are delighted that you found or facilities 'outstanding' and that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Aberdeen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

spent 2 dys here in camping pods + it was great !! haven't done any kind of camping since children were small so wasn't looking forward to roughin it ! every minute was enjoyable. nice clean wash rooms + campers kitchen rite next to us,of which had everything you could need. staff very welcoming , helpful + informative + very hardworking, so it seems Arnold M not very bright ! pet friendly so had our 2 dogs with us. wonderful wee hol break - will defo return. the Old Mill Inn next door is lovely aswell , serving nice food + bowl of water for our dogs !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynKdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Deeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Deeside Holiday Park.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in our new camping pods and it is lovely to hear such great feedback about the park and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryculter
0.0 mi away
Maryculter House Hotel
Maryculter House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maryculter
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Blairgowrie Holiday Park
Blairgowrie Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Blairgowrie
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Campsie Glen Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Corriefodly Holiday Park
Corriefodly Holiday Park
#4 of 9 in Blairgowrie
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewisville
Lewisville
#1 of 3 in Maryculter
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deeside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deeside Holiday Park

Property: Deeside Holiday Park
Address: South Deeside Road, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Maryculter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Maryculter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular Royal Deeside, the Holiday Park is the perfect base for nightly or weekly breaks. Luxury lodges, pine lodges, award winning caravan homes, nightly touring pitches and seasonal pitches are available. Glamping pods and tent pitches are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Deeside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deeside Holiday Park Maryculter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing