We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at short notice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maryculter House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maryculter
Certificate of Excellence
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at short notice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Having read a few of the reviews I was a bit nervous of staying here but I my experince of the hotel was excellent. The room I had was spacious and very well equipped, bathroom was modern with walk-in shower and a bath. One small critiscm of the bathroom is that it is not well lit. I didn't have an evening meal but breakfast was great. I stay in Aberdeen regularly but couldn't find a room for this date in the city itself but glad I found this hotel. It is a 40 minute drive in the morning traffic to get into the city centre but was happy to do this having had such a pleasant stay. Really lovely staff and will definately use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the modern wing are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear EllieA
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us and we use this to continually upgrade our facilities. I hope you will return again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    105
    45
    25
    13
See reviews for
88
139
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Was impressed after reading about the hotel from its own website but upon checking in I could see it was not exactly what I expected.
Staff were very friendly and helpful but my room was very small and the walls were unbelievably thin as you could here everything from the neighbouring rooms i.e. toilet visits!
Food was ok, dining area was clean but constantly looking for big spiders had me on edge and had to wrestle with one to decide who was staying in the room, wasn't big enough for both of us....

Room Tip: Avoid room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimthesmithh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear jimthesmithh
Thank you for your review. Your feedback we use this to continually improve our guests visits. Room 207 is our smallest bedrooms and usually sold last. It is situated next to another room and has an adjoining door so apologies if your stay was disturbed by neighbouring guests. I must also apologise for the spider who wanted to stay in your room. Your feedback is very important to us and I hope you will come and visit is again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

A good stopover and needs some tlc here and there. nice friendly staff help the ambience. clean and tidy and toilets well stocked with what the traveller needs. Value average for Aberdeen area and not bad all-round. Meals fine and good enough value

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear apilgram
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us and used to make continuous improvements. Since your stay we have had quite a few refurbishments and I hope you will return to enjoy them. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I needed a hotel in Aberdeen at short notice for a business trip.The city is well known for its sky high prices but I was shocked to find that even Travelodge charge £140 per night for a room. Luckily their 4 hotels were all full so I searched on line and found the Maryculter had rooms free for the same price. It's 10 miles out of the city but has a very pleasant location by the river and the bedroom and dining were fine. If you have a car and don't mind the 40 minute drive (in the rush hour) to the centre of the city, then I would certainly recommend it and would use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side have a pleasant river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprint955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sprint955
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist you at short notice. I hope you will return and see us again soon. Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a table in the restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived we were told the restaurant was not open (it was midweek and during this time food was served in the dining room). However the staff member who met us at reception spoke to the manager (using his initiative) and we were taken to the restaurant without any question. We were the only people there as other people were eating in the dining room. We had 3 courses and absolutely no complaints. The staff were polite, chatty and helpful. Having the place to ourselves was lovely and we were really pleased at the attitude of the staff to make our meal enjoyable. Can't fault this place at all. They didn't know it was a special meal for us but by their service made our night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peerie-lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Peerie-lis
Thank you for your review. The Team are delighted you enjoyed your visit to celebrate your anniversary, its always nice to receive such nice comments. I hope you will return and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here on business for a meeting for two days. I only had one evening meal and two lunches to eat. The food was quite agreeable and the breakfast was sufficient. The place is a little dated in some rooms and could really do with upgrading after speaking with other collegues who also stayed. The staff polite and friendly. However upon checking out, my eyebrows were raised when it came to the bill. Several items where placed that I did not sign for on my bill. Upon questioning the matter these items where immediately crossed off. Which leaves me to think "One was thrown across my bow". A couple of other collegues also disputed there final bill! Maybe a genuine mistake but I was not shown the receipt which I had signed for at the time of buying drinks etc! I intend to pay for items immediately when purchasing anything next time here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy54southcave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jimmy54southcave
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear that you had to question your bill when checking out, I must apologise for this. Your feedback is important to us and used as one of our tools for training to try and continuously improve our guest experience. I do hope you will return and enjoy another stay with us. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Most rooms here are good and quite cosy. Not a great place to explore aberdeen city as no bus but good if you have car. Stay longer than a few nights and the menu becomes bit tiresome however. All in all a good place, imagine be nice for weddings etc

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehotels99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryculter
3.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
9.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#15 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
12.5 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryculter House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryculter House Hotel

Property: Maryculter House Hotel
Address: South Deeside Road | Aberdeen, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Maryculter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maryculter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryculter House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryculter House Hotel is an independently owned 4 star Country House Hotel nestled on the banks of the famous River Dee, just a few miles outside Aberdeen. The Hotel has 2 restaurants, The Priory is our Fine Dining Restaurant and our Poachers Brasserie for more informal dining. It also has 4 function rooms of varying sizes suitable for conferences, private dining, corporate entertaining and dinner dances, etc. The Hotel is set in 5 acres of gardens with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Maryculter House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryculter Hotel Aberdeen
Maryculter House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing