We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rude and dismissive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryculter House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maryculter House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maryculter
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“rude and dismissive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We attended a wedding at this hotel at the weekend , the event itself was lovely with great food and company. However the hotel had strange rules, as in even though you had booked a room and they had arranged start of wedding for 12.30 they will not allow you into rooms until 2pm ....unless you pay extra £15 ...now call me stupid but how can paying extra suddenly free up rooms.. surely if 5hey are free they are free ..there were young families who were going to be turned away. We booked our room through laterooms and we were not told about discounted rate for guests at wedding , so when I asked about it at checkout the receptionist was just down right rude ..why would such a classy hotel have such a rude and unprofessional woman on their desk oh hold on maybe to cut costs ..I mean all the serving staff and even the maitre de were from eastern europe ..you go to a lovely scottish hotel and all you get is foreign accents ...not impressed at all .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babiedood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Babiedood
I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us while attending a wedding.
We have a policy that if a guest wishes an early check in then there is a £15 fee to guarantee that they will be let into their bedroom by 12 noon. Our check out time is 11am. We allow 4 bedrooms to take this guarantee.
We inform all our Brides and Grooms that their guests can obtain a discounted rate if they book directly with the Hotel and pay when they book their bedrooms, if the guest wishes to book their bedroom through an Agent then that is outwith our control.
I am disappointed that your experience with our Receptionist was not satisfactory and your feedback is important to us as we continuously use this as part of training tool for our Team
Thanks again and we hope you will return to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    103
    45
    25
    13
See reviews for
86
137
8
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great. Staff friendly, food amazing - I recommend the broch haddock and hand cut chips. Breakfast was a large selection of everything. My room was on the second floor it was massive with a comfortable bed. It was very quiet. The bath and big shower was great especially to unwind after a long day. The lounge with the fire place was a touch I loved. The veiws were stunning over the river dee. A true Scottish hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear M8GWX
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your Broch Haddock and chips, that's one of my favourites too. We hope you will be back to see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had fish and chips, the missus had a burger. I was underwhelmed. I hope the wedding food is better. Wasn't awful but really wasn't that tasty.i love tartare sauce and it was horrible.

Service was excellent though. The young chap was first class. A bit nervous but extremely polite.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeinchelsea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Madeinchelsea2013
Thank you for your recent review.
I was sorry to hear you were disappointed with your supper with us, this feed back is important to us to try and make continuous improvements. Good to hear the waiter was polite, we do have a very friendly and hardworking Team who try their best to make every guests visit a welcoming and pleasant experience.
We hope you will return to visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I attended our friends' wedding located at this hotel and also opted to stay the night. We asked for a room with a river view and it was well worth it. We were on the second floor and had a great view! The rooms are very spacious and the high ceilings give it an air of "manor house" (in a good way). The decor is modern, perhaps a little on the "jazzy" side.

The staff were very attentive and friendly.

The food at the wedding was very tasty and the wine was good, although I hear it was rather on the pricey side and there is a high corkage fee if you want to bring your own. The breakfast was also very good and took the form of a buffet. The scrambled eggs were especially nice.

For a 4 star hotel, I'd say it is pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Gary S
Thank you for your recent review, the Team are always delighted with positive comments. We hope you may wish to visit us again and enjoy another good nights sleep and tasty breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent a weekend in this beautiful hotel after a family dinner in one of the private rooms.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was nice, the restaurant and breakfast were good but best of all is the residents lounge, open fireplace, comfy old couches, suits of armour, stags heads and banners hanging from the ceiling. The perfect place to relax and have a drink or two or three..........

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevezzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Stevezzr
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased you spent some time in our Residents Lounge, it is a very special room for us, steeped in history and very cosy on a dark winters day when its cold and wet outside.
We hope you will be back to visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked this hotel for a short break between Christmas and New Year. We had a large and very comfortable room with views out over the river.

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful - no false "learned from customer relations course" obsequiousness - even though they must have been working very hard over the festive period

Food was excellent.

The residents lounge with its open log fires and huge beamed ceiling is the perfect chill-out zone.

Lovely gardens down to the riverside and we discovered a riverside walk which we couldn't really explore because of the condition of the ground.

No gym or sports facilities which might prove a problem for some, but not for us.

We'll be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailie_Nicol_Jarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Bailie_Nicol_Jarvie
Thank you for your recent review, its always nice to receive such nice feedback, we are delighted you will be back to see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I got married here in May 2012 and it was the most perfect day. The hotel met every need of ours. I'd defo recommend this place for weddings.

We got a free nights stay in honeymoon suite for our anniversary from them 1 year later which was a fab touch.

Just stayed here again as a early valentines with my husband, we had got a gift from my mum at Xmas, but by time we came to stay I'd lost the letter with it in so was very upset, I rang the hotel and the man on reception was so lovely and helpful and found a copy so we never missed out which was a relief. His customer service was spot on.

As always we enjoyed it, room clean and nice. We took our dog which is nice they allow you too. Had a nice dinner in the restaurant the lady who served us was really nice, friendly and chatty. We always like staying here, beautiful setting, lovely rooms and great food. I don't think I could ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvine1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Irvine1979
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stays with us. Its always nice to receive positive comments for our Housekeeping, Restaurant and Wedding Teams. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryculter
3.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
9.5 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#16 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryculter House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryculter House Hotel

Property: Maryculter House Hotel
Address: South Deeside Road | Aberdeen, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Maryculter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maryculter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryculter House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryculter House Hotel is an independently owned 4 star Country House Hotel nestled on the banks of the famous River Dee, just a few miles outside Aberdeen. The Hotel has 2 restaurants, The Priory is our Fine Dining Restaurant and our Poachers Brasserie for more informal dining. It also has 4 function rooms of varying sizes suitable for conferences, private dining, corporate entertaining and dinner dances, etc. The Hotel is set in 5 acres of gardens with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maryculter House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryculter Hotel Aberdeen
Maryculter House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing