We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mind the gap in Room 210”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maryculter House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maryculter
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mind the gap in Room 210”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

There were a number of disappointing issues:

1. The light fitting above the bed appeared to be insecure and it was fitted with a variety of mis-matched lamps, one of which was not functioning.
2. The shower head had not been secured properly in its bracket and consequently the riser pipe was standing unsupported away from the wall. I was able to relocate the fitting but it required to be permanently fixed.
3. Staying with the shower, the height of the shower rose is no more than 6 feet above the bath - not great if you happen to be taller than 5' 9".
4. The bathroom window frame was rotten to the extent that there was a gap of approximately 1" between it and the edge of the glass, which had been stuffed with tissue paper! I would suggest that this is not very safe.
5. There was no soap provided.
6. The curtain linings werevvery badly torn - in fact shredded.

When we returned to the hotel at night, there was no-one at reception. So, had to seek out a barman, who had to leave a wedding party, in order to give us our room key.

We were shown into the Poachers Pocket for breakfast ( we were the only ones there) but were not provided with a menu. Instead, we were offered the full Scottish breakfast. I was happy with this but my wife asked if she could have smoked salmon and scrambled egg. We were not told that there would be a £5 surcharge. We only found out on checking out.

In summary, our experience of Maryculter House Hotel was not what we expect of a 4 star rated hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Bobj

Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed to read about your experience during your stay with us.

I believe our Operations Manager has emailed you directly in this regard

We take all feedback very seriously and all your points are being dealt with to make improvements for our guests.

I do hope you will come and stay with us again soon and enjoy a much improved experience

Many thanks again

Bev Mackinlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    105
    45
    25
    13
See reviews for
88
139
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Our son and his fiancée got married here on 16 May 2014. We booked rooms for the night before and the night of the wedding for family and friends.

Nothing was too much trouble for either the excellent staff or the wonderful wedding planner Jane. Everything went super smoothly, and we were all made to feel so welcome.

The weather was kind so the ceremony was held outside in the courtyard. It was truly beautiful and a stunning venue with glorious views of the River Dee and surroundings.

The food, both in the Poachers Pocket the night before, and at the reception itself was delicious. We all loved the breakfasts too. Freshly cooked and much care taken over presentation too.

The rooms were lovely. All our guests remarked on the quality of the rooms and the service.

I can't recall the name of the really nice guy who was our master of ceremonies, who worked at the hotel, but he was so good, and so helpful too.

Everyone at the hotel made the wedding personal to us and fun.

The oldest part of the hotel which dates back to the Knights Templar is amazing and so atmospheric. The beautiful log fire in the evening was delightful.

Thank you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 681Cassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear 681 Cassandra

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we are delighted that everything went well for your son and new daughter in laws wedding day.

We hope that you and some of your guests will want to come back and visit us again in the near future.

many thanks again

Bev Mackinlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hi I attended a Wedding here which we booked to stay the night as we have two young children with us.

When we arrived the pre-booked room had missed the detail that we had the kids with us and as there is no lift to the 1st floor we asked and it was changed that we would move to a ground floor room.
The reception team and housekeeping were great and made up the room within about 10 minutes.

The hotel is lovely but looks like it needs some money spent on the general upkeep of the property with wallpaper peeling of some of the common areas and in the room we did say in had cabling running up the outside of the walls instead of buried underneath.

The room was OK if not a bit cramped for 3 beds and a cot.

The stay was good however im not sure really it is a 4 star.

+ Good Breakfast
+ Lovely setting
+ Good reception staff

- The room was pre booked but was not recorded correctly meaning we had to be moved.
- The room had a dent the size of a head in the bathroom door
- I could not find the remote.
- Grounds were not all fenced off from the river, not good for young kids
- No Soya milk for Breakfast

The function, really I was disappointed
- Some bar staff need to learn customer service, with people only serving one side of a two sided bar
- My room was overcharged 24 quid for a bottle of wine.
- We were charged for a Lemon
- Rudely Asked to move from one section of the bar as it was for cleaning, however should have been a sign.

Id stay again but I would not recommend the function area, while the waiting and chefs were really good and helpful most of the bar staff soured a good night

Room Tip: River side seem bigger on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le1ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear 1ther

Thank you for taking the time to review Maryculter House Hotel

I am sorry you were disappointed in certain areas of the Hotel

Your feedback is important to us and we will be looking at each point you made to resolve the problems you experienced in the hope that other future guests will not have the same experiences

I am, however, pleased that you would return to stay with us again and I hope that when that happens you will see the improvements we have made

Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel staff lovely setting superb, hotel and bedrooms need up dating they are now looking shabby , the lime green picture frame hanging above the stairs was a poor effort at shabby chic !!! You so can't rely on good old Scottish charm

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is lovely if only the rooms were better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeh258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear janeh258

Thank you for taking the time to review Maryculter House Hotel

We take your feedback very seriously and are continually working to improve all areas of the Hotel.

We are currently dealing with improving the art work and décor in the bedrooms and public areas of the Hotel and I hope that if you return to visit us again in the future you will see an improvement in these areas

Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
732 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for one night to attend a wedding in the hotel. I have to say the quality of food at the wedding was first class, both the main meal and the evening food. Breakfast was a well stocked and well replenished buffet. Setting is fantastic and staff very helpful. I do agree that bedrooms are a bit tired and in our case you would need to be over 6 feet tall to use the hanging rail. Shortage of power points in same place as mirrors gave my wife some grief when getting ready.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Viewlander

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Maryculter House Hotel

I am delighted that you enjoyed the quality of your meals with us when attending a wedding

We are continually trying to upgrade our bedrooms and other facilities and your feedback is greatly appreciated

I hope you will return to see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I like these sort of hotels, they may be a bit tired but they more than make up for this in character.
I stayed here on business with a couple of colleagues, check in was quick and after a quick blast of deodorant & aftershave I was down in the bar.
Once I had got my pint we went to the residents lounge, a wonderful room that dated back to the 12th century, high ceiling big fireplace.
We then went for a bite to eat, I had the mussels followed by monkfish, both dishes were really nicely cooked and full of flavour.
After the food headed back to the residents lounge for a couple of pints before retiring to bed.
The bedroom was a little tired as were the communal corridors but the room was clean, well appointed and the shower was a walk in which was a nice change. The bed was also very comfortable.
Breakfast was standard hot buffet but as the hotel was quite small it didn't feel like it had been there for hours.
Finally the real winner was the location as it is on the banks of a river and the patio outside the residents lounge & the breakfast room all benefit from cracking views of the river.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundbites30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear soundbites 30

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and dining with us.

We are continually trying to make improvements to tired areas of the Hotel and appreciate your points.

I am delighted you enjoyed your pint in our residents lounge and you had time to soak up some of our history.

We hope to see you again when you are next back up in this area.

many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I took 15 students on a visit to an Aberdeen based Company and stayed here. What an amazing experience. Great views of the Dee and unique interior. The Templar Bar was a highlight. Very nice rooms and comfortable bed. 100% class.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHHGenMan, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Julian D

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you experienced some of our history and lovely views.

I hope you will be able to return and stay with us again soon

many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryculter
3.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
9.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#17 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
12.5 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryculter House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryculter House Hotel

Property: Maryculter House Hotel
Address: South Deeside Road | Aberdeen, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Maryculter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maryculter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryculter House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryculter House Hotel is an independently owned 4 star Country House Hotel nestled on the banks of the famous River Dee, just a few miles outside Aberdeen. The Hotel has 2 restaurants, The Priory is our Fine Dining Restaurant and our Poachers Brasserie for more informal dining. It also has 4 function rooms of varying sizes suitable for conferences, private dining, corporate entertaining and dinner dances, etc. The Hotel is set in 5 acres of gardens with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maryculter House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryculter Hotel Aberdeen
Maryculter House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing