We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly warm and amazing food!”

Aberdeen Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aberdeen Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarves
Tarves, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly warm and amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I actually had my wedding reception there and was blown away by how helpful Val and Colin were - the rooms are modern comfortable and spotless! Paul the chef put on an amazing meal for our reception and he has cooked for us before and every time exceptional local sourced food! We will always go back. I highly recommend it - oh also full cooked breakfast the morning after the wedding was lush!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebelldawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Just moved to the village of Tarves and this is our new local hotel.
The restaurant is very good pub food. Fish and Chips were great, we all enjoyed our meals.
We have not stayed in the accommodation, but based on truant we would recommend friends and family to stay here as well.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdeenArms, Owner at Aberdeen Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and yes, our fish and chips are very popular! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labrador, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My son and I stayed at the Aberdeen Arms Hotel when we visited the area a couple of weeks ago. We shared a twin room and although it was small it was clean, bright and had a good view of the town square. The adjoining bathroom was large, clean and modern. Breakfast offered many options to choose from and was generous.The dinner menu is excellent and the chef lives up to his good reputation. Colin and Val were friendly hosts and very welcoming. Val gave me lots of good suggestions for places to visit in the area. Good value for the stay and I plan on staying there again when I return for a visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadicalMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdeenArms, Owner at Aberdeen Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for trip advising. We appreciate your positive review and look forward to your return. Our aim is to present a clean, friendly hotel where our guests can relax and enjoy good food from the local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We are locals and eat in the lounge at least once a week. It is a very relaxing, homely and friendly place ran by Val and Colin who will make you feel at home

The local home cooking is fantastic and staff are all friendly. Although we have never stayed in the rooms, we did get a tour the other day by Val and confirm that all rooms are en suite and very nice.

Trip advisor should remove the reviews that are not even aimed at this hotel

Alex and Rachael

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AI1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarves, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is a fantastic hotel and bar. The Aberdeen Arms Hotel offers a warm welcome and provides a wide & varied section of drinks with excellent home cooking. As a regular visitor with friends and family I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brockengespenst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed at the hotel overnight when attending a friends birthday party in the area. Having seen some of the previous reviews was not sure what to expect, but must say was pleasantly surprised on arrival. We were shown to our room which appears to one of four at the hotel. Room was ideal for our stay. It was clean, in good decorating order. The bathroom looked to recently have been renovated and was to a higher standard than many 3 or 4 star hotels we have stayed in. We opted to have an evening meal in the hotel and found the food to be well prepared and the dining room was pleasantly decorated. Breakfast was included in the room price and we surprised to be asked at what time we would like to have it. Never been given this option before and it was a good example of customer service other hotels should adopt. The breakfast its self was very good and again to much higher standard than we expected. We did hear some noise from the bar in the early evening but this did not bother us as we were going out for the evening. When we returned the hotel was quiet and no noise from the bar below. The only negative comment I would have was that the bed was too soft for me, but unfair to blame the hotel for that, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you need somewhere to stay in the area. I am sure you would be made welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank servite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Working in Aberdeen, we couldn't find any accomodation other than the Aberdeen Arms, some 35 miles away from Aberdeen.

We arrived after having collected the keys from a house 2 streets away. We then found out that the building was unmanned and the pub etc mentioned in other reviews seemed to be closed, but at certain times the pool room was in use by some of the locals or was the pub open, we couldnt tell which.

The hotel had no heating "it's being fixed tomorrow" so we had electric heaters in our rooms and in the hallway. The shared and very grubby/ tired bathroom was unheated. The bathroom was dirty enough that my colleague refused to use it for the duration of our stay.

There is no food provided but the rooms are equipped with a kettle/toaster/microwave/fridge and a strange assortment of crockery/cutlery. I have not been to a hotel that provides this type of stuff before. It was almost like a bedsit

My room had a seriously damp type smell and in the hallway the wallpaper was coming off the wall in full strips.

Luckily the beds seemed to be clean, as we had to use them for the night as we had no other place to go.

We left the following day, even though we had paid four nights in advance.......

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZebraDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberdeenArms, Owner at Aberdeen Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Hi there Zebra Driver

I'm sorry to hear you had such a terrible time, but from your description, I don't think you stayed in the Aberdeen Arms in Tarves. There is another hotel of the same name in the area though, perhaps it was there? It was brought to my attention that the page on Trip Advisor seemed to combine the Tarves and Tarland address, leading to lots of confusion! I have reported this to try to get it clarified.

At our hotel in Tarves, we have 4 bedrooms. Three of these have been recently renovated with new en-suites and work on the 4th is starting shortly. We also have locally sourced, freshly prepared meals served daily by our new chef.

We hope to see you in Tarves some time and hope that we can offer you great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarves
9.8 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
8.7 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
14.2 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
8.5 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
11.4 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Arms Hotel

Property: Aberdeen Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Tarves AB41 7GX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Tarves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarves
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are far more than just a hotel with four bedrooms: we also offer a popular village pub, a lounge bar, a restaurant and a function hall that is the perfect party venue. We can provide you with outside catering and a mobile bar for any event or occasion as well.We look forward to hearing from you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Arms Hotel Tarves, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing