We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kagyu Samye Ling Tibetan Buddhist Monastery and Centre for World Peace and Health
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This isn't a commercial attraction, but a working monastery. It's home to community of people brought together by shared religious beliefs.
Day visitors are free to walk through the gardens, visit the tea shop and sit in the temple at most times through the day. Mainly it's a place for contemplation and appreciation of genuine spiritual beliefs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MacyMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    22
    8
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Found this place most interesting. Set in lovely surroundings and grounds well attended to. Still lots of work in progress so will no doubt go back to see the results. The Temple is magnificent and well worth a visit. Small tea room with tasty, inexpensive food. Monks, nuns and staff friendly. Do visit this beautiful place and experience the calm ambience all around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank HughM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An oasis.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was very wary of what I would make of a residential weekend at Samye Ling. For me, it was an unexpected oasis. An opportunity to simply pause....The accommodation is basic, and it was perfect for it's simplicity. It served its purpose as did the food. Provided nourishment and a place to rest. The monks and nuns quietly acknowledged visitors, with no ceremony and carried on with their own lives, this, for me contributed enormously to the atmosphere of mutual acceptance and respect.
I've been asked if I wanted to stay longer, as I personally gained so much from the weekend. Although I do plan to stay again I, possibly surprisingly, was actually more than happy to leave. Rather than escaping from reality for a period, I found reality and was given an insight into how much of my stresses are entirely self inflicted and maintained by my own energy.
I would recommend a residential stay as it gave an opportunity to take part in the rhythms of the community.
Blessings to all.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“it is whatever you want it to be”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

just come back from a week at the centre. Went alone and wasn't sure what to expect. As a previous comment rooms are basic and you make your own bed but this isn't the ritz. It's in a monastery. Everything that is needed is there, and clean. The monks, nuns and volunteers work hard to give visitors the best they can. I wanted to recharge the batteries and interacted as and when i felt like it. Lovely walks, plenty of exploring, the temple is beautiful outside and in and it pays to read about the back ground of it being there. You can attend the prayers, silent meditation ( which i did) or not. The vegetarian food was the best i've eaten, proper home made and nothing goes to waste, i love my food and i was never hungry in between meals. The shop stocks so much even though it is small and the birds and rabbits are pretty tame. And the yaks are huge...i'm definately going again....at the end of the day you'll make of it what you will, blessings to all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One night at Samye Ling”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very basic accomodation. Small room. A pile of bedlinen to make your own bed and strip in the morning, washbasin. 2 toilets and 1 shower for 8 people are along the corridor. vegetarian meals. Interesting tour of the monastery. Remove shoes on entry to any building, except cafe.I would not stay longer than one night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nonymousEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kagyu Samye Ling Tibetan Buddhist Monastery and Centre for World Peace and Health also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Kagyu Samye Ling Tibetan Buddhist Monastery and Centre for World Peace and Health? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing