We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Horrible”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The room was dirty and had a terrible odor, they tried to give me another room, and that one was as bad as the first one. The only thing that they did do right was to give me a refund for three of the four nights that I had prepaid, so that I was able to find other accommodations, it cost a little more but it was worth it. What they need to do is to do total remodel this facility.





Room Tip: Room must be remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    10
    5
    20
See reviews for
17
2
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was in the "Historic District."(meaning in the older part of the city). This hotel has certainly seen better days. I did notice peeling paint on the exterior. However, our room was clean. The bed was comfortable. We had a microwave and mini-fridge. The front desk help was pleasant--giving us easy-to-follow directions on navigating the city. Housekeeping gave us good service. We reserved our room because of the price. We took a chance and we got a decent room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacksonvilleJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked here because it was last minute & we would only be here long enough to get a few hours of sleep. It was a part of the Choice Hotel chain that we are a member of and inexpensive. HUGE mistake. The place was filty, mildy, smelly, just disgusting.
The price was inexpensive but still overpriced for what we got. A truckstop would have been considered 5star in comparison! Dont do it - keep driving or pay more elsewhere!
Definately NOT a Choice Hotel

Room Tip: pick a room somewhere else - a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here one night. Enough!!! Every aspect of this place was filthy. Chair was soiled, curtains even had muscus on them. Disgusting. The outside stairs were just as disgusting as inside. We should have gotten our money back and kept on going.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you value cleanliness at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWorden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because it was cheap and we would only be here long enough to sleep. Well, I couldn't even do that. It was around 11 p.m. When we checked in and the 2nd shift and 3rd shift clerks had a personal conversation while I was checking in. The room "looked clean" at first tired glance, but was in desperate need of an update. The fridge had paint splatter on it and made so much noise we unplugged it, dust on the t.v., the bathroom door had a hole in it, the shower curtain had mold and there was peeling silicone around the tub. The bed was hard too. I would never stay here again!!! We didn't stay long enough for breakfast. Oh, and forget sleeping cause the walls are thin and there is a busy highway outside.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retreivertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah GA
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Keep your expectations reasonable....and you won't be disappointed. It's a convenient location and felt secure. The lot, buildings were in good repair. The rooms are, ahem, well-used. Still, ours was clean enough and suited us for one night. I wasn't a fan of the mattress but the bedding was clean. The room had a faint odor of smokers and beer which although not unfamiliar, it was unpleasant. Bottom line: if you want an inexpensive room in downtown Columbus, it's worth consideration.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here two weeks. Ago, the price was not negotiable at all. Not even a serviceman discount. I asked the desk worker if we could have a room, where the comforter had been cleaned. She responded, that she never heard of this... That should have been my key to not stay here. So we go in the room. And there is no tissue,soap, etc. I'm going in my head, Ok. well. maybe a new housekeeper. So i go and get some from a housekeeper.
Now I will say one positive thing here, the maintenance man does a great job of keeping good paint and the overall appliances working well.
Getting back on point. So we take a shower, and get out. walk around. and notice that our feet our completely black. while only walking maybe three ft from the bathroom to the bed... At this point i'm going ok again maybe a rookie housekeeper, the next day we had business to take care of so we wanted housekeeping to come in. we came back, again no toiletry's the bed was made. But I had made a mental note to test if they vacuumed anything. Or even mop. they had not. Again, no shoe's = solid black feet.
The next morning I wanted to see exactly what house keeping was doing. I HAD TO KNOW at this point. this is what they did. they grabbed the sheet's not comforter off and washed them, I assume they got everyone's. they did no vacuuming of any sort in any room. And not once did i see a mop. or anything that looks like a mop. This has had to be the most nasty vile place I have ever seen. I never saw any cleaning solutions for the shower. However I will say the shower did look somewhat decent...

So the positives are this.
room is somewhat cheap, still to much for what you get but eh...
Bed was infact decent.
And the maintenance man/woman done there job well.

For bad, Just look up...

Room Tip: There is no tip for this, there are hookers and drug dealers living here for the most part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#15 of 46 in Columbus
480 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 46 in Columbus
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area
1.7 mi away
Value Place Columbus Bldg. 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 1024 Veterans Pkwy # 1034, Columbus, GA 31901-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Columbus
Columbus Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing