We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As I was visiting my fiance at Fort Benning after his military graduation we were guided to stay at the Suburban Inn by a "neighboring" hotel. We were told that they only had two rooms left and everything else was booked in ALL of Columbus. Both rooms were horrific! Both were non-smoking. One reeked of smoke and the other reeked of.... I really don't know what. Years of uncleanliness is my guess. We could hardly sleep it was so dirty and smelled so bad. I was worried we'd have to sleep in the car that night, but after staying in the hotel room I would have rather roughed it in the parking lot. I understand when you travel you can't expect the best. At this price I couldn't have expected ANYTHING worse!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I honestly do not know how to respond to your review. My first response is that maybe you stayed somewhere else and had us mixed up with that hotel. We have never had a complaint such as this. We have had complaints that we are showing wear and tear, but nothing like this. I would like you to contact me at gin.suburban@gmail.com so that I may look into this situation further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    82
    58
    50
    44
See reviews for
227
37
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Was in town for 2 nights to participate in the Soldier Marathon at Ft Benning, just needed somewhere to rest & relax before and after the marathon. Conveinent to entrance of Ft Benning, only about one mile away. Check in/out was easy and without problems, desk clerks were friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice and spacious. Walls must be thin, noise from hallway and other rooms were quite noticeable, but at least it wasn't constant since we were in a more secluded area of the hotel. Breakfast starts at 7AM, the marathon started at 8, so that wasn't good, but I had brought my own food, so it worked out. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom45030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to send us this review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We actually did start breakfast an hour earlier (at 6am) on race day for our Marathon runners. I apologize that our staff did not make this clear to you. Your reference to thin walls is not our first and we are trying to find ways to correct this problem. I hope that you get to stay with us again and run in the marathon again next year. We enjoy having the marathon runners stay with us and we are always looking for ways to improve our guests' stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My family stayed for a graduation. The lobby was nice and big, the amenities were great. The breakfast would've been good but the young lady was just a completely rude and cussed worst than a sailor. I heard her frequently using the f word and if anyone asked her something she would start yelling. Things ran out in breakfast and when she was found and told she yelled. I am an adult and spending MY money...actually a lot more money than other hotels in the area.... and was treated badly. Not only me but others. The other lady that did breakfast was wonderful and very helpful. The rooms were dark and dusty. Also, I noticed that if you leave a negative review on here it gets removed. I guess that is why there aren't as many reviews as other hotels. I will never stay there again nor recommend to anyone. There are better hotels in the area with a lot classier people working.

Room Tip: Go to Holiday Inn or Candlewood. If you go here, stay in your room and dodge the rudeness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I would first like to thank you for taking time out to share your experience and to apologize that you did not receive the level of service that we are known for at our hotel. I would like to discuss this situation with you further in detail so that I may address this with our staff. I do not want any guest to feel treated badly by our staff. Please contact me at gin.suburban@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The rooms are reasonably priced. The bedroom and kitchen were antiquated but clean. The mattress absolutely sucked, terrible.
The breakfast is formula, right out of a can or the freezer. Eggs are terrible. Biscuits too. Coffee is .....well count on using lots of creamer. Elevator is never swept, same debris remained in place for my entire five night stay. Room 222 needs new sheets and blankets as the ones we endured have many holes. Friends in other "suites" reported similar conditions. Internet only works in the lobby, and half of the phones do not work; lightening strike a few months ago, they say.

Close to the Infantry Museum and a stream of soldiers to thank for their service but.?.?.... There are better options close by.

Room Tip: Stay here to save money, somewhere else for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to leave us a review about your stay. We apologize that it was not up to our usual standards. We strive to keep all of our facility clean and comfortable for all of our guests, all of the time. We were struck by lightning a few weeks ago and are still having some fall out from this incident, such as low wireless signal and some phones not working. Our goal is to make this as little an inconvenience as possible. I apologize that we were apparently unable to meet that goal for your stay. I hope that if you should ever be in the area again, you will give us another chance to show you our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My daughter and I traveled to Columbus to attend my son's Airborne Graduation at Fort Benning. I was looking for somewhere close to the base with a small kitchen and a more "feels like home" atmosphere. My family can attest to the fact that Duke Doubleday and the entire staff at the Suburban Extended Stay - Columbus are doing it right. From the clean facility, to the pool, the charcoal grills available for use, the sitting area, made of logs and boasting a tv, near the well landscaped courtyard was the place to be for conversation and relaxing. The complimentary breakfast was hot and delicious, the ping pong table was open all day, and there were rocking chairs along the back patio for a place to rest. The kitchen with a full size fridge, cook top and microwave was perfect! For a family get away - to relax, and enjoy each other, not worry about anything, book at the Suburban Extended Stay in Columbus, GA. Duke - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I like seeing that families were able to enjoy their time together while staying here with us. I am also happy to see another guest that felt that at home here with us. We do like our guests to feel as if it is one big happy family here and it seems as if we certainly are accomplishing that more often than not. Congratulations on your soldier's graduation and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Booked 2 rooms, 1 was supposed to be for a wheelchair. IT WAS NOT. They are not honest. Had confirmation for 1 price and billed my card for another price. Don't leave your keys in the room at checkout VEIW what they are charging you. They billed me $49.10 more then my confirmation. Jennifer who is supposed to be the manager there told me I should be happy that the girl who booked the room undercharged me. She said she charged me for a king not 2 doubles, even though my reservastion confirmation states 2 doubles. How am I supposed to be happy about something they OVERCHARGED me on. She said she would credit me $20. BIG DEAL she should haved credited me $49.10. Also no housekeeping, they charge if you want your beds made. Stick to the HAMPTON or MARRIOTT. Dog area not for wheelchair it's down a grassy hill. Breakfast...don't eat the biscuits very dry.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hampton or Marriott instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review. Even if a review is not a 5 star review, we still appreciate the time it takes to share your opinion. Sometimes these reviews are the ones that give us the greatest advice. Your reservation for two rooms with two double beds was made incorrectly; you received a confirmation for both rooms. One confirmation was at the $86 room rate and one was at the $76 room rate. You were charged the $86 room rate on both of your rooms; however, when you brought this to my attention I apologized for the mistake and credited your credit card for the rate difference of $10 plus tax per night. I apologize again that you feel we did not give you a handicapped accessible room. Unfortunately, not all of our accessible rooms have roll-in showers. Also, we do not charge extra for any housekeeping needs. We are required by our franchise to put magnets on our refrigerators that say if you need housekeeping there is a fee and to let our staff know; however, we do not charge for housekeeping and we do provide daily housekeeping. We provide light service for guests that are staying over and full housekeeping services once a week for our extended stay guests. We were not aware that it was difficult to get down the small grassy hill to the fenced in pet area. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will be looking into ways to make the fenced in area more accessible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Suburban for our son's graduation from basic training and absolutely loved it. The staff is friendly, courteous, and willing to please. I had the pleasure of meeting Jennifer, Jessica, Tina, and Amy who greeted us with a smile every time we walked through the lobby. They go out of their way to provide soldiers who are on their family pass or those awaiting housing a wonderful down home atmosphere, and to that end, they have a foosball table, ping pong table, basketball court, horseshoes, bean bag toss, and a other items available at the front desk for recreation.

They have a beautiful pool, outdoor pavilion with fans (where we spent an entire day from 11:30 to midnight) with grills and TV, a fitness room, laundry room, small dining area where they serve a hot breakfast, office area, and rec. room. They also have a beautiful patio area complete with rocking chairs, outdoor fans and a TV. They even have a 'doggie park' where your pets can play. There are 'bags' provided to clean up doggie messes out in the park. The park area includes timer lights that can be turned on at night or early morning.

The rooms are very clean and secure. All doors including any into the building from the backyard are all key entry. The entire area is fenced so I felt safe and secure. The room even included a safe with a code that is created by the person using it. The rooms have a small kitchenette with a full-size refrigerator and a stove with two eyes. They have a skillet and a pot along with a few pieces of silverware, spatula, serving spoon, and potholders which would have been useful, but not knowing they would be there, I brought my own. They even had a few plates, bowls and glasses up in the cupboard. We prepared quite the feast for our son and four other soldiers.

The feast wouldn't have been complete without the owner of the hotel joining us. He entertained the soldiers with a few war stories and entertained the parents with his humor and wit.

Great hotel, great price, great service...definitely coming back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave us this wonderful review. We appreciate it so much. It makes us very happy to read how much our guests enjoy staying with us. It look as though you and your family enjoyed all of our amenities while you were here. I am so glad that you were able to have so much fun while you were here. I hope that you get a chance to come stay with us again. You could even choose to come visit on your next vacation time. Congratulations on your soldier's graduation and we hope we do get to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Fort Benning
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
2.3 mi away
Value Place Columbus Bldg. 2
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbus Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning
Address: 3662 Victory Dr, Columbus, GA 31903-2746 (Formerly Hotel Fort Benning)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay - Columbus Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing