We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliness of the atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Sandy Springs, Georgia
1 review
“Friendliness of the atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My experience was very enjoyable. The staff was exceptional, especially Mrs. Lashawn. She was very informative of the area with all the local activities, restaurants, and sights we ought to see. Will definitely recommend you all to family and friends. We will be staying again on our next trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I will be sure to share your comments with Lashawn. She is a role model for our staff. We look forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    242
    159
    68
    57
See reviews for
574
74
56
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel feels second rate. We rented 4 rooms here for my son's graduation from Officer School. The upholstery is tattered in one room. Two light switches don't work in another. Another room which is a smoking room (Expedia said there were no more non-smoking rooms) not only smelled of smoke but the rug was cratered with holes and there were big dark stains. When we complained to the management they said we could expect no better in a smoking room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthakarchere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value your opinion and look for ways to improve our service and facility. We wish you safe travels for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The rooms are not being maintained. Our first room had 4 burn sections in the carpet. The second room has furniture with rips in it. The breakfast also leaves something to be desired. The scrambled eggs looked like they were made from dried egg mix with no flavor. The bacon was small stringy and greasy. The internet is so weak I have to use 4G. When I used the hotel computer it crashed 4 times trying to check my email.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We value your opinion and look for opportunities to improve our facility and service to insure your comfort. We hope that you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
via my mobile phone!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you want to lay low at a conveniently close and functional hotel room near Ft Benning, this hotel is perfect. It's not within walking distance to shopping, area attractions, or restaurants, but if you need to get yourself to base in a hurry (or on moment's notice), this is a great choice. The neighborhood is NOT the best, but the service is solid and responsive. The front desk quickly changed and upgraded my room after I reported that it was less than clean or well-maintained. Breakfast was very adequate (continental with eggs, sausage/bacon, fruits, and beverages). For what you get onsite, the price was GREAT when compared to other hotels as close to base (less than a 5min drive to the Sand Hill entrance). For family day weekend, it was perfect because my husband just wanted to get food delivered, lay in bed, and watch TV with the dog in a nice, quiet, clean room with a good shower and a soft bed. If you want more, I might suggest staying at one of the hotels around exit 10 about 8min north - there's shopping, restaurants, and more available within reasonable walking distance - but then you give up how quickly you can get to base if you're running late or are on limited time.

Room Tip: Go see the room you get assigned to before you get settled in - make sure things are in order (hair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogachix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and for taking the time to let others know of your experience. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am usually very picky with the hotels I stay at due to the fact that I work as a hotelier so I hold all hotels at a high standard. Stayed here at the beginning of April with my boyfriends family for graduation at Fort Benning. The front desk staff was amazing and very friendly and helpful with all of our requests. The housekeeper talked to us one morning as we were leaving our room and was extremely nice! I didn't get a chance to eat the breakfast but my boyfriends family did appreciate it and loved the variety of food. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable (extremely exhausted and got little sleep from being so excited) but the little sleep i did get each night was great. The rooms are very quiet and couldn't hear anyone around me. We were bummed because the pool wasn't open for the season even though it was in the 80's everyday we were there (my own fault for not calling ahead to make sure it was open). This is right around the corner from the base and the musem that graduation was held at. Most of the food options are down a few exits on the highway but still very close! Great location for the price paid.

Room Tip: stayed on third floor near the end of the hallway by the road and didn't hear any traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstar2s8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. I hope that you will come to see us again when you are in the area, Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning
8.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus North
5.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 46 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Fort Benning
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 46 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning
Address: 3930 St. Mary's Road, Columbus, GA 31907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Columbus-Ft. Benning Microtel Inn and Suites is conveniently located near Ft. Benning, the National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center at Patriot Park and the National Civil War Naval Museum located at Port Columbus. The hotel is also near the South Commons Sports Complex and Uptown Columbus which features a variety of restaurants and entertainment. The Microtel Inn and Suites will offer single, double and spacious suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Columbus/Ft. Benning Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing