We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved everything about this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Columbus-North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbus-North
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

My husband and I visited Columbus and our stay was for a few days. The purpose of our visit was to attend our son's graduation at Fort Benning. How lucky we were to find Hampton Inn, Columbus North. What a delightful hotel - warm-charming and very central with lots of parking facilities. Our trip was during Halloween and the hotel was decorated accordingly to the highest standards. All staff were wonderful - most helpful-friendly-welcoming and did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one. Thank you Barbara for all you did for us. Our room was a delight to be in. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety. This hotel was small-exceptionally clean-warm and most friendly. I felt so much at home especially with all its amenities. If you are visiting Fort Benning you have to stay here.

Vivienne Platten
Ireland

  • Liked — central,friendly,clean and comport
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vivienneplatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonNorthColumbus, Social Media Coordinator at Hampton Inn Columbus-North, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
On behalf of the Hampton Inn North Columbus, we thank you for allowing us the opportunity to accommodate you. We know you have many options when traveling to Columbus and we are pleased and proud that you chose us.

We could not have been more excited to read your review. It is truly our goal each and every day to meet and exceed your expectations. We love nothing more than making you feel like Hampton Inn North Columbus is your local home away from home!

Again, thank you for choosing Hampton Inn North Columbus as your home away from home in Columbus. We certainly hope you will give us a second chance to exceed your expectations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    92
    33
    14
    6
See reviews for
151
79
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

This was a typical Hampton Inn.....which is a good thing. I tend to like Hampton as well as the more upscale Hiltons.

This is located across the interstate from a rapidly growing retail area, so there are lots of options for dining.

  • Liked — Free Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Remote Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

I went to Ft. Benning for a family weekend with my husband. This hotel is convenient to the base (about a 10 minute drive). There are hotels that are closer but they didn't seem to be in as good shape or in as good a neighborhood. I arrived in Columbus after midnight and the front desk clerk was wonderfully friendly after my long drive (8 hours) and let me unload my bags (I had quite a few) into the lobby so I didn't have to drag them all the way from my car in the parking lot in the dark. Our room was clean and smelled very nice. The fresh cookies they have in the room are also a nice touch. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful when we had an issue with our room key (I guess they can't be near a cell phone....Oooops) The pool area was clean and well maintained and their breakfast is excellent. I have to go back in about a month and I definitely will be making my reservations there!!!! Highly recommended to anyone looking for a room for Ft. Benning graduation festivities.

  • Liked — The beds are unbelievably comfortable
  • Disliked — You can't bring pets
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gulliver95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas city
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2007

We stayed here last weekend.
The hotel is in an area that appears to be experiencing new development.
There were other chain hotels within walking distance of the hotel and upon check in, we were offered a coupon for a free appetizer for a local steak restaurant , which I believe was within walking distance of the hotel.
We were unable to take advantage of that.
The area seems safe and within a short distance was a Starbucks and what appeared to be a new outdoor mall area.
Saw quite a few soldiers from Ft Benning walking around.
The hotel was clean, quiet and looked new.
Lobby area was very attractive and welcoming.
Reception desk was very pleasant with an area offering magazines and paperbacks to read-a nice touch.
I cannot say for sure, but, I got the impression that this particular Hampton did not offer an evening Manager's Reception as other Hamptons sometimes do.
Our room was comfortable with 2 queen beds and an ample bathroom .
The beds were very comfortable. The room was immaculate and smelled fresh.
We were greeted with a plate of chocolate chip cookies, a bag of chips and some bottled water in the room.
Another nice touch to tide a weary traveler over till dinner.
The view from our room was of a brick yard next door. But, we were not there for the view.
They also had a small outdoor pool.
Breakfast the next day was of the continental variety-bagels, toaster waffles , cold cereal.
A very nice Hampton, will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — It was clean, quiet and welcoming.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2007

My fiancee is stationed at Fort Benning and we wanted to get away from base for my visit to Georgia.

The Hampton was in a nice place, around exit 10, near a outdoor mall and movie theater (not walking distance tho). The costumer service was EXCELLENT. When I arrived (early), a room wasn't ready, so one of the employees gave me a ride over to the mall so I could entertain myself for a little while. They always said hello and asked how I was. There isn't a shuttle, but they will call a cab for you, if you ask. :)

We stayed in a room with a king bed. It was extremely comfortable and had both soft & firm pillows. There was a desk in the room and they had good wireless internet service.

There is an outdoor pool, but it was too cold when I was there to use it, and there was also a laundry room. My room was quiet and comfortable. If I could change anything, I'd toss a DVD player in the rooms, and have a hot tub, but hey - it was good for the money we paid and the staff is absolutely wonderful.

Oh! There is also a continental breakfast, but I never ate it, so I'm not sure how good it is. :)

  • Liked — employee service, $5 cab ride to food/shopping, comfy pillows
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn North for one night while traveling through town. I am a Hilton Honors member, and had made reservations a few weeks in advance for a standard King room. We got there rather late Friday night and checked right in. We were actually upgraded to the King suite which was VERY nice. There were 2 seperate rooms; one being a living room with a kitchenette and the other being the bedroom and bathroom. There was a carton and milk and a couple of cookies waiting on us in the room, which I thought was a really nice touch. The living room was complete with a sofa, chair, desk and TV. The bedroom was nice with a really comfy king bed and a nice size closet and TV. The bathroom was great with a jacuzzi tub and just the right amount of counter space. The sheets on the bed were nice and clean and everything in the room looked and smelled clean and fresh.
The only problem that I occured was when we were checking out. Because we had checked in so late, the guy that was working was in the middle of an audit, so he just gave us the room key and told us that we could sign and present our card when we checked out the next morning. Well, when I arrived at the front desk to check out, the lady had given me a statement which showed the king suite with a rate of $169.00, which was double what the rate was that I reserved. When I questioned her about it, she told me that we had been put in the wrong room, and it was in fact, their error. She said that the manager was the only one who could refund my card for the difference, and he wouldn't be back in until Tuesday. (This was the Memorial Day weekend). So I was fine with her answer, and I took the manager's card so that I could check with him on Tuesday to make sure that he had been informed of the situation. When I called him on Tuesday morning, I got his voicemail, but left a message. He called me back in a very short amount of time and let me know that he had fixed the problem and also apologized. He had said that we had actually been upgraded to the suite, but since we had checked in so late, the person who was working the front desk wasn't aware, so he charged us the full amount for the suite. He immediately refunded the difference and even faxed me the paperwork showing the correction. I'm not telling this story to keep other travelers from staying here, but rather to show what a great staff this hotel has. I know that because our problem was handled in such a manner, that we will definitely return here when we are in the area again!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UGAFan0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2006

I cancelled my reservation at the other Columbus Hampton Inn and checked in here. It was so much better! It is fairly new, so there is still some work to be done on the outside - but I just wanted a clean, comfortable and safe room for the night. They were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake
1.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbus-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbus-North

Property: Hampton Inn Columbus-North
Address: 7390 Bear Ln, Columbus, GA 31909-2516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#5 Family Hotel in Columbus
#11 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbus-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Columbus, GA North hotel is located near Fort Benning and other local Columbus, Georgia attractions. Relax in our hotel with free high-speed internet and a free hot breakfast. Enjoy our outdoor pool and stay productive in the business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbus-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbus-North Hotel Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing