We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to stay near Fort Benning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
LONG BEACH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay near Fort Benning!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I recently traveled to Fort Benning for my son's Airborne Graduation, and highly recommend this hotel! I started out at a hotel on Victory Drive, but did not feel safe. This brand new Hampton is located just outside the Ft. Benning gate, adjacent to the Infantry Museum and Fyfe and Drum restaurant. It is clean, safe, and beautiful, and the staff is exceptional and full of Southern hospitality! From the moment I stepped into the property I knew I had made the right choice. Free coffee 24/7, free, hot breakfast, business center, fitness center, pool, clean rooms and linens, and an exceptional staff make this the only place I will stay next time I'm back at Fort Benning. Do yourself a favor, stay here!!

Room Tip: The King Suite is great for a family trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JanAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    98
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
627
93
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southern california
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The location to Ft Benning can't get any better. Staff was very helpful. Room was great. The breakfast was very good. The national Infantry Museum was across the very large parking lot. The Hampton Inn is very easy to find from the highway

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nomad1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your comments about our property. we truely love to see everyone come to these graduations . We feel just as proud of these graduates as the families do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howey in the Hills, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

When making my reservation I used my HiltonHonors Points for one night. I needed to make a reservation for 3 nights. I messed up and only made a reservation for 2 nights and did not realized this until I checked in. The night I needed was sold out but the manager told me not to worry she would do everything to get me a room. She made sure that I was on the list for any cancellations which did happen and immediately contacted me. I really can't express how pleased I am with the entire staff at this hotel. I will be back in 12 weeks and know my experience will be the same because they care!!!

Room Tip: I had a room by the elevator and did not hear a thing!! That means alot to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was a very nice place. Recently opened, so still smell the new carpet and paint. Very nice lobby and rooms, and great staff. Even had a basket of small toys that my three year old was able to choose something at check in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mciufalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My mom, sister and I stayed at this Hampton Inn on March 22nd and 23rd during a grief conference for fallen heros in the military. The staff was kind, helpful, and professional. Way to go Paige and Cindy! We stayed in the Queen non-smoking room. The room is very spacious, even for three adults. The bathroom looks like something out of a gallery of homes magazine. The bathroom is spacious. The sink is made of marble, and it has a large area underneath where you can store toiletries, etc. The showers are roomy and the shower curtain does not move near you once you turn the shower on! Hooray! I hate how hotel shower curtains fill with air and move inwards near your wet skin while you are taking a shower. That is the grossest feeling! The beds are firm, but not so firm that you can't fall asleep. The pillows are made from goose feathers and they are thick enough. The top of the mattress seems to be made of gel or memory foam. The sheets and comforters are crisp and white. They look like they have been starched and pressed.
They serve coffee, and they provide tea bags all day. Last, but certainly not least, the hot breakfast was great! They served everything that you would expect for a southern breakfast (except for bacon). They even had home-style potatoes which is usually served for breakfast in northern states. The hotel is less than a mile from the Fort Benning gate. The hotel is also next to the National Infantry Museum and the IMAX theater. This is a beautiful hotel! I would stay here again. Keep in mind that there are two addresses for the same hotel: South Lumpkin Road, and Legacy Way.

I want to give special consideration to a young lady who is part of the dining staff. I did not get her name, but I remember her kind words of condolence to my sister and I on the loss of our loved one, Major Paul Anthony Bradley. She said that her husband is stationed in the Army. If one of the managers read this, tell her thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dst30712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Islip, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

There is no better place to stay when you come to visit fort Benning or the National infantry museum. well appointed rooms great staff,high test coffee 24/7 slept like a babe every nite A perfect airborne meeting location short walk to the infantry unit memorials Will book this inn whenever we come to visit the NIM or the fort Benning area

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank herdpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Here at our property we are exited to have the chance to make the 173rd group stay the best it can possibly be . We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to your group coming back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithsburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I originally had another hotel reserved but found out about this hotel. It is within walking distance to the National Infantry Museum which was nice. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great with many options to choose from. We booked rooms again for graduation coming up and would recommend this hotel. The only suggestion I would have is that if you have a soldier out on family pass who will not be with family and no transportation, they will have to take a taxi to the areas with all the restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeanbean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
9.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning

Property: Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
Address: 2870 S Lumpkin Rd, Columbus, GA 31903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy friendly hospitality and a warm welcome at a great hotel in Columbus, GA, just seconds from Fort Benning Maneuver Center of Excellence at the Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning hotel. Our 2-time Enjoy friendly hospitality and a warm welcome at a great hotel in Columbus, GA, just minutes from Fort Benning Military Base at the Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning hotel. Located less than a quarter mile from the front gate of Fort Benning, our hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. Take in the history of the National Infantry Museum only a short walk away, or admire the military art and artifacts at the Port Columbus Civil War Naval Museum. Enjoy a stroll along the Chattahoochee RiverWalk, or explore downtown Columbus, GA and visit the birthplace of Coca-Cola. Unwind in a cozy and comfortable Columbus, GA hotel room equipped with a range of amenities, including a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, mini-fridge, free WiFi, a 37-inch flat-screen TV and a spacious work area. Join us each morning for Hampton's free hot breakfast. If you're in a hurry, simply grab a free Hampton On The Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. If you're visiting for business, our friendly Hampton team members will be delighted to help plan your event in Columbus, Georgia in one of our two meeting rooms. Wind down after a busy day with a rejuvenating workout in the free fitness center or with a swim in the outdoor pool.Connie Award winning property is located less than a quarter mile from the front gate of Fort Benning, our hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. Take in the history of the National Infantry Museum only a short walk away, or admire the military art and artifacts at the Port Columbus Civil War Naval Museum. Enjoy a stroll along the Chattahoochee RiverWalk, or explore downtown Columbus, GA and visit the birthplace of Coca-Cola. Unwind in a cozy and comfortable Columbus, GA hotel room equipped with a range of amenities, including a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, mini-fridge, free WiFi, a 37-inch flat-screen TV and a spacious work area. Join us each morning for Hampton's free hot breakfast. If you're in a hurry, simply grab a free Hampton On The Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. If you're visiting for business, our friendly Hampton team members will be delighted to help plan your event in Columbus, Georgia in one of our two meeting rooms. Wind down after a busy day with a rejuvenating workout in the free fitness center or with a swim in the outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing