We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely property close to historical area”
Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columbus Marriott
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely property close to historical area”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My family stayed here for a wedding and we were all pleased with the rooms, the location and the friendliness of the staff. There were several weddings housed at the hotel and one group had an "after party" in their hotel room. The noise disturbed by parents. The desk was very nice and tried to get the group to quiet down. When they were still making too much noise, they offered to move my parents to another room to sleep, and also gave them a later checkout time. We were within walking distance of the Riverwalk, many shops and restaurants as well as the historical district.

Room Tip: We were in 401, closest to the elevator, but heard no noise from the elevator at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    118
    61
    31
    14
See reviews for
96
100
20
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I found the Marriott to be conveniently located for my business requirements. The breakfast was very good though I'm glad it was included with the room. I also found the rooms to be very dated and in need of renovation though they were clean. The carpet had a large wad of something, perhaps gum, and the wallpaper was tattered and in need of replacement. The hallway smelled musty but that did not affect the room. If renovations are planned for this year, I hope this room isn't considered "done." The walls are thin so you're able to enjoy conversations in adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I came down to Columbus, Georgia for a wedding. I picked this hotel because the wedding reception was across the street. The hotel employees had great customer services. We checked in one room that had a dirty bathroom and the next room we checked in had a musty smell. The morning breakfast at Houlihans was great the 2 days I was there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lg2bizzy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed one night when I was in town for a triathlon, which started on the Riverwalk that is across the street from the hotel. The front desk staff were warm & welcoming and were happy to extend my check-out time by an hour to accommodate the race schedule.

The nicely furnished room overlooked downtown and included both a microwave and fridge, both tastefully hidden in a unit beneath the flatscreen TV. A bike accident during the race left me with one arm in a sling, and the bellman that helped me move my things out of my room was great and made a difficult process painless. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This Marriott has traditional rooms on one side and brick suites on the Mill side. The suites are great and having a Houlihans and Starbucks on site was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilburnRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The service was great the employees were very friendly and helpful. The room was wonderful. We love the location. The hotel is close to all the downtown restaurants and clubs. The restaurant and bar inside the hotel is 5 star and starbucks, in the lobby, the next morning was nice. We have stayed here several times and will continue to do so every time we visit Columbus.

Room Tip: The Mill Suite rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murfrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My husband and I travel to Columbus every year for the holidays and this is the only hotel we will stay at. The staff are wonderful and friendly. The beds are super comfy. The architecture of the building is amazing. A true gem in the downtown area. We are already anxiously awaitng our trip this year.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jynn2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Property: Columbus Marriott
Address: 800 Front Ave, Columbus, GA 31901-2749
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing