We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”
Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columbus Marriott
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our first visit to Columbus and we picked the right place to stay at the Columbus Marriott. The location is perfectly sandwiched between the Columbus Historic District and Uptown Columbus and a few steps from the Columbus Riverwalk.
Parking was easy and our check in was smooth. We had a 2 double bed room on the third floor with a south view towards the historic district.
Some of the rooms are undergoing renovation but not on our floor. The third floor has a connector bridge to the "historic" side of the property which houses suite rooms.
The lobby area is very comfortable (after a walk along the Riverwalk and a cool Starbucks chilled drink) for sitting and talking. The pool area and excercise area was nice too.
I would definately stay here again as there is no other real option in this area.

Room Tip: Take a walk around the Historic District and Riverwalk if you have the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoutdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for an annual convention. I arrived very early and was going to bring my luggage up to a friends room rather than have it in my car. I asked the front desk when I might be able to check in and after checking their computer, they told me they had a room open and sent me happily on my way.
The hotel is older, but I loved the way they took care of it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy_in_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This Marriott location offers the typical amenities of any Marriott location. The thing that sets it apart is that it is an old grist mill that has been refurbished, rather than being allowed to fall into ruin. What a great way to preserve some of the rich history or Columbus! It is within easy walking distance of the Riverwalk as well as the downtown area which offers lots of great dining and entertainment venues. This is within the "uptown" historic district, therefore surrounded by historic homes, parks, museums and attractions - what more could you ask for?
The staff was extremely courteous and helpful from the housekeeping staff to the front desk - you wont' regret your stay here!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, none of the rooms offer a river view so I would recommend a north facing room to over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed at the Marriott for a wedding event in the neat town of columbus GA. this was formally a cotton mill and was decorated tastefully! The town on Friday night had a live band and on Saturday it turned into a crafty tented venue! The Hotel is just steps away from a riverside bike and run Trail. Also not far from award winning golf courses!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Awesome room, really cool brickwork (as common in Columbus). Only complaint is no free breakfast, $15 buffet... no thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mycogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Had a great stay here. Everyone was wonderful Great service, and wonderful help. The manager, David Cassell, made sure all our needs were met, and made sure our stay was enjoyable as possible Would highly recomend to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Columbus area.

Room Tip: If your looking for a great suite, try the Pres. Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was great! My bridesmaids and I checked in first to get ready and we loved the room. Everyone was so nice, especially David Cassell, who i understand is one of the managers, he found us on the service elevator and helped us find our way out and was very nice.
As a surprise my mom had sent a bottle of champagne for us to have in the room and to my understanding it was David again that made sure it got there for us chilled and ready to go. The room was outstanding as well as the service, I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Didn't go to the spa or try breakfast but their restraunt does have great food (we had our bache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholeJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Address: 800 Front Ave, Columbus, GA 31901
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: £118 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing