We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay for Mid-Pass Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbus Marriott
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay for Mid-Pass Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I traveled to Columbus for my son's mid pass weekend from OSUT. While, the location of this hotel is a few miles from Ft. Benning, it is worth the stay. The hotel was nice and clean, the staff friendly and the on-site restaurant (Houlihan's) was convenient for a quick lunch or drink after dropping my son back to Sand Hill -- how ever the bar staff were not very attentive and seemed to take a while to get your order or check in. While there were many other events happening that weekend -- the hotel was not loud or croweded, and parking was ample.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Houlihan's is always "delicious" and we would certainly be honored to have you come our way again and enjoy a wonderful evening with your family! Please call me direct the next time you plan a visit to see your son and we will take great care of you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    116
    59
    29
    13
See reviews for
95
98
20
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Wow. I had a rough go in Auburn getting a hotel, and the staff was awesome at helping me get a nice room at a reasonable rate. The Hoolihan's bar and Grill is great! Great place to unwind and watch sports while drinking a cold beverage. You can walk everywhere Downtown from the hotel. Room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonTider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It was such a pleasure having you as our guest in our "Houlihan's Restaurant" and we are so glad you enjoyed watching your favorite Sport's Team! We have also added a large flat screen TV on our outdoor Patio at Houlihan's so with the weather warming up, you must come stay with us again soon and enjoy a cold beverage on the Patio with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently got married (March 2014) and needed some where to stay the night of the wedding and couldn't think of a better place than the historic Marriott in downtown Columbus! I contacted them ahead of time to let them know that it was our honeymoon and boy oh boy did they out do themselves. As you'll see from the attached picture, they went above and beyond to make our experience perfect including upgrading us to a suite, providing us with chocolate covered strawberries and as with any great hotel-- provided great hospitality. Anytime we have guests in-town, we will be sure to direct them to stay at the Marriott!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We were so excited to receive your very special call informing us of your "Honeymoon Plans" and we wanted to show you just how special this night was to us as well!! We are so glad you enjoyed the special décor and "delicious chocolate covered strawberries"!! Congratulations and please come back again soon as you know we will take great care of you both.*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint augustine
Level Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Checking in to the hotel, my husband and i were muscling our luggage out of the car, when a door attendant, leaving duty, I guess, passed us and said in a joking manner. "If you wait till Monday I can help you then." The next night, there was an event in town and there was not a single parking place in the lot; the gated lot was propped open.

The cleaners were below average. One day, they were doing a training on how to make a bed. We were in the room, and left, but all they did was make the bed; no one changed towels or cleaned the bathroom.

Our bathroom had rusty door molding and dirty grout.

The building and location are terrific. There is just no soul there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your guest room experience and we have such a dynamic Housekeeping Department - we did not relay this to you upon your recent visit with us and we do apologize. Please call me anytime you might plan a trip to Columbus again and we will certainly provide the "very best service" for you and your guests and I would be honored to meet you in person as well.*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Eye
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We recently had the 47th Infantry Reunion at this motel! It was a very beautiful and accomodating place to have a reunion. They worked very hard, in every department, to please our veterans and families. The staff was so very helpful and polite. I found our room to be very nice, clean and very welcoming. It was above and beyond anything I could expect. The motel is an old griss mill and is extremely unique. The old brick walls in some of the rooms and a lot of the motel is absoulutely beautiful.
Hands down..I would recommend this motel over any other in the Columbus, GA area and look forward to being a guest of theirs in two more years when we have another reunion!

PS..We did have a few problems with our room key but it surely doesn't warrent a bad review. The staff was willing and ready to take care of it.

Room Tip: We sleep in an antique full size bed at home so the KING bed was absolutely the most comfortable bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We also look forward to your return in 2 years with your wonderful Reunion Group! It was such a pleasure to be of service and I speak for every Marriott Staff Member as you were certainly our largest Reunion all year and each of you also treated us just like family as well.**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

From the moment my husband and I exited our car we felt "at home." The staff greeted us with a warm welcome and were eager to help us in any way possible. Because I am a light sleeper, I was not satisfied with my first assigned room over the pool area, but my room was immediately changed to a perfect room to meet my special request. Throughout the hotel all of the staff members were friendly and anxious to please my husband and me---often asking if everything were okay. We enjoyed the close proximity of the hotel to Uptown Columbus where we could walk and have lunch or dinner. We also enjoyed dining at the hotel and walking on the riverfront, which is convenient to the hotel. We were a part of a large reunion group, and the Columbus Marriott proved to be the best location for the 47th Regimental Reunion!

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of the pool are quieter during warm weather months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for allowing us to provide just the perfect guest room for you and the entire Staff were honored to take care of everyone with your very large Reunion Group! It was such a pleasure to meet both of you and please just call me direct the next time you might plan a trip to Columbus to enjoy the RiverWalk and our downtown special sites again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville SC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable.. At after a 15 minute check-In with no one that knew what they were doing..We had asked for a king got our room key and headed to the room. Got to the room with a key that did not work.. Back to front desk #1, got another key #2 to the room and got a key and did not work, back to get a new key #3, got to the room an 2 doubles,asked for a king.. Back to get key #4, well we got the right room. Well it it continues, every time you go to your room the key does not work. Hit the front desk
and play the lottery! Because you will be back at the front desk with no one that gives a S... Never stay here!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMcGinnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Sir for taking the time to let us know how frustrated you were with our Front Desk Service upon check in. We do have our Guest Room Key machine working at this time and again, we do apologize for your experience. Please call me direct the next time you plan to visit Columbus and it would be an honor to take great care of you by providing the very best of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Property: Columbus Marriott
Address: 800 Front Avenue, Columbus, GA 31901-2749
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing