We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of history in the Deep South”
Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbus Marriott
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of history in the Deep South”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

When returning our son to college far from home Mom and Dad need a mental boost and this property provides each time. This complex is built in and between former factory buildings and takes us back in time. The location to the thriving historical downtown and the river is walking perfection. If you are near Columbus do not stay anywhere else. WAR EAGLE!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieanna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are certainly honored you continue to choose to stay with us as you come to visit CSU with family! The College continues to grow in our downtown area and with the RiverWalk right across the street, CSU has plans for additional "outdoor entertainment" as they have Campus Buildings right on our RiverWalk as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    124
    61
    35
    14
See reviews for
102
103
21
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Probably the best hotel in the best location for Columbus, Georgia. It is in a renovated factory and has a lot of charm. Can't beat the location, but do skip the buffet breakfast. It was abysmal. There is one quirk which may bother some visitors. There is a train track and on Friday night at 1 in the morning, the train came by blasting it's horn and it sounded like it was going right through the room. They even provided ear plugs in the room with a warning. The train did not come Saturday night, however. It was not a big deal and maybe it added to the downtown charm. Columbus has been upgraded and made into a vibrant and charming downtown. You would miss a lot if you stayed outside of the downtown area, so train or not, we really liked the hotel (except for the really, really bad breakfast!)

Room Tip: Ask for one as far from the train tracks as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolyninAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for highlighting the "historic charm" our guests feel when staying with us as we do have so much history here, in our downtown area and the "train" that runs near our Hotel - does create that feel from time to time as well! Our wonderful "Houlihan's Restaurant" is constantly adding new menu features and we look forward to your return to "try something new" upon your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had an outstanding experience with the staff at the Columbus Marriott. This was my second trip to this hotel, and Earnest the bellman remembered my name, helped me with my luggage and went out of his way to ensure some fresh produce I had bought at a farm stand along the way had plenty of ice on it. He actually went and got extra ice for me without saying a word about what he was doing. This is the kind of thoughtfulness and attention to the customer that I have always experienced at this hotel.
The restaurant hotel, Houlihan's, also offered a great selection of entrees and provides great service. Josh, our server, easily handled a large party of festive family members and ensured our drinks were always full and everything arrived on time, from the entrees to the dessert. He was attentive without hovering, and interacted with us in a way that improved our experience there. He suggested wine pairings and favorite dishes.
The building is beautiful with lots of original historical details, but the front of the hotel faces an in-use train track. If you can, request the "pool side" view which mitigates the late night noise from the train.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Mr. Earnest is our "best of service" employee of the Year when it comes to taking care of our Guests and "remembering their names upon returning"! You are very special to us and to Mr. Earnest and I shared your wonderful comments with him today! Josh loves his job as a server in our delicious "Houlihan's" Restaurant and he also looks forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful opportunity for Marriott to have a great location. Unfortunately, the beauty stops at the lobby. The rooms are small, the furnishings are very worn, the guest room door allows light to shine through from the hallway all the way around [almost as bright as Jesus himself standing outside your room door]. The restaurant food is good, but the service in the restaurant and at the bar is awful. Our meal came out one person at a time for a table of four. Drinks were not replenished or even offered. The bar had two tenders that worked the service section and hardly tended to my wife and I. It took 10 minutes to be noticed, and 30 minutes to pay the tab for one drink. The worst offense came from the bar tender, who stuck a straw in my wife's drink to sample it, when my wife said that it tasted funny and was not what she ordered. I have never seen such an ill-mannered service employee in all of my life. Truly disgusted. The good news is that the restaurants downtown, in walking distance, got all of our business the rest of the weekend. Go to the Loft or The Loft downstairs and have the unstuffed chicken. Marriott ought to steal some of their [The Loft] employees away, because they are super-nice. Oh yeah, pool was dirty and full of algae.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We have addressed the experience you have shared at this time and we look forward to providing the "very best of service" upon your next visit with us! Thank you again so much. *
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our son got married across the street at the Trade Center so we blocked a large number of rooms for our families who were coming in from out of town. The help and attention we received from Mary and Meisha in group bookings was second to none. They helped us throughout the entire process and kindly adjusted our many changes! Everyone was most complimentary of the staff and the breakfast buffet. The rooms were lovely and the whole experience was all we ever wanted. THANKS Meisha! THANKS Mary! I highly recommend the Columbus Marriott for your family or business event and/or for a fun day enjoying all Columbus has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are so very happy for both of you and yes -- Mary and Meisha certainly did an excellent job for you and your guests and we do thank you for taking the time to "compliment both of them"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have stayed many times at this hotel and usually rate it 4 or 5 stars. This time there were several problems. Let me say up front, the staff is superb. They are friendly and helpful. Extremely apologetic for the problems and gave us extra Marriott points for the problems. Also, the concierge lounge is one of the best in any Marriott we have stayed in. The food is borderline gourmet. There are many options and all are delicious. Also, the staff in the lounge is excellent. The problems may sound minor, but they are annoying. The room keys did not work most of the time. They were re-keyed four times. Sometimes both keys wouldn't work, sometimes one would and one wouldn't. We were also skipped on housekeeping one day and had to ask the desk for fresh linens. The bathroom even after cleaning was not very clean. We will come back here, because I think this is an exception to the normal was the hotel is run.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Our Chefs were thrilled to hear your feedback and they certainly take pride in preparing "above average" selections and we are very proud of our Team! Our Guest Room Key process has been upgraded and we are ready to "quickly check you in" upon your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times during our relocation. It is very nice and quiet. The pool really needs to be updated. It was a little dirty and had mildew in the tiles, bottom and steps. The deck was nice, but the pool could be cleaned up and expanded. Also, the business center is disappointing. Charging for 15 minutes of Internet use and to print is disappointing. We spent a small fortune downloading and printing items for our re-lo. Sorry, Marriott - computer usage and printing should be complimentary for a hotel of your stature.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank amytap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Our Computer Center has been checked for upgrades at this time and thank you for your important feed back at this time. Please allow me to assist you the next time you visit us as we will print your material for you! Our beautiful Outdoor Pool area has been serviced and we look forward to you enjoying this area upon your return as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Property: Columbus Marriott
Address: 800 Front Ave, Columbus, GA 31901
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing