We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Their added efforts make them better than average.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Columbus Ft. Benning
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Their added efforts make them better than average.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

With so many websites offering accommodations at great deals, paying $125/night is almost unheard of in today's society. My husband, however, travels for work and - while getting a good rate through his company's preferred travel company - he still pays what others might consider full price. I base our overall review of the places we stay by comparing what is given, offered, etc. with the amount paid. Because of this, I would say that this hotel is just over average.

They're customer service is lacking, just as their open lines of communication are. We always request a room on the top-most floor, away from elevators and ice machines. This is so that my husband can get the most sleep possible; and, other times it's so that our rambunctious two-year-old does not disturb other guests. When we arrived, they said that our room was not clean yet and that they would call us when it was ready. In all honesty, I do believe we were about an hour and a half early for check-in at 3; but - honestly - who hasn't checked in a couple of hours early before? Because of my husband's work schedule, he checks in when he gets in to town so that he doesn't have to unpack after a hard day's work. This way he can just walk in like a zombie, take a shower, and flop down in the bed. I was astonished they just wanted us to go away and they'd call us on his cell phone when our room was clean. They didn't offer for him to sit in the lobby and have coffee, grab a bite of lunch at a place they recommended or anything. They just left him with a, "Go away - no soup for you!" feeling. It wasn't a great first impression for people who are IHG members who easily rack up 25,000 points in a matter of a couple of months if we so choose. We decided to try Staybridge just to try something different from it's sister company Holiday Inn Express.

In any event, because we had our sleeping son with us they said they had one other room available but warned that it was handicap accessible. This wasn't a problem, more like a benefit, as I had recently had minor surgery that made getting up and down only slightly difficult. What they didn't tell us was that it was also on the second floor, full of construction workers coming and going at all hours, and, while it was around the corner from the elevators, it was also right around a reciprocal corner where they were renovating the rooms. That was greatly disappointing. The hotel also did not disclose on their website that construction is going on (hence the construction workers staying on our floor) right outside of the hotel so early in the morning (for someone who must work into the late hours) throughout the day until dusk there would be the typical loud noises of construction work going on. None of this stuff would we have minded if we had been told up front. We would've simply waited for a higher room, assuming that the one being cleaned was in fact as we had requested a month prior - the top-most floor.

The room itself was good except for minor things: a part of a candy wrapper was missed on the floor, the trash cans were filthy behind the plastic bags within them (I know because when my son needs a diaper changed I tie up the bag and take it out), and when my husband took a shower he almost freaked out because he thought there were shaven body hairs (like from a woman's legs) all over the bathtub when, in fact, he found it to be dust or something comparable that subsequently helped to explain the stale smell to the room. One weird thing: our bedroom door locked from the wrong side. In other words, if my son happened to lock me in the bedroom by accident, he could be out the front door and gone before I was able to get someone from housekeeping to let me out. Random note: the cute "Shh. I'm sleeping like a baby." magnet for the door didn't seem to stop the nice lady stopping and starting her vacuum over and over again right outside of our hotel room as my son napped. To wrap it up, they're wifi is atrociously slow, the dishes weren't all clean (dried food on drinking glasses), and they have not one kids channel on their cable. The best they can do is PBS until about 3pm is kids shows.

Now that the ugliness is out of the way! The good things: While a few of them stink at customer service, good attitudes, and good communication, they almost make up for all of that with the few that truly do have good attitudes and want to be helpful and with all of the extra amenities that are great for a guy that is working. They do offer free wifi, even if it does time out from being too slow. We have to remember that's an amenity and not necessarily free everywhere yet. They also have a movie room. This is a room that has somewhere around 6-9 movie chairs in a room off of the lounge where they have a widescreen tv and it's set up for you to borrow a DVD and go watch to your heart's content. They also have a small library of books and board games. Their work room is better than a lot of even nicer hotels than we've stayed at. It's more professional looking and offers more than one station. Tuesday through Thursdays they don't just offer a mixer - where you get canapés, pigs in a blanket, cheep wine, and beer. They actually were out there cooking up hamburgers on the grill outside! This did make it a little awkward for the people that wanted to swim on their first day of opening the pool (i.e., they need some more outside seating that doesn't include sitting around the pool as if the swimmers are a spectacle at the local aquarium, "Look! It's Shamu!" "No, honey. That's the nice lady from 214."). It had not turned into a sloshed free-for-all like we have, unfortunately, ran into on a few work trips at other hotels. This was low-key, good food, free, and fun. They offer chocolate chip cookies at the front desk at all times. They're breakfast is good. They're rooms, while needing a bit of updating, are not OUT of date. They do have those pesky "clean" remotes but theirs actually worked! They didn't have a lot of channels; but, we weren't running into porn and twenty sports/news channels with only three entertainment channels either. Everything worked. It would've been nice if they had USB plug-ins as some hotels offer lamps with those in them but that wasn't the end of the world. The location is good: you're not too far from anything: major roadways, restaurants, movies, shopping, etc. We will probably stay here again simply because renovations and construction will be over before you know it and next time we'll do our best to not get here before 3pm. We'll hope that the rest of the employees were just stressed from a full house and too much loud noise and give them the benefit of the doubt. I'm pretty hard on people in service industry simply because that's where I started out; so, I have expectations of what COULD be. I see a lot of potential here, though, and think it'll wind up being one of our favored hotels if things keep going up - after all they're renovating and grilling burgers!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor away from the elevators. You might ask if the construction and renovations are ov...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do offer one recycling bin in each room. Because it offers not explanation as to what their city/county actually accepts, though, it makes someone like me - who now works as an Environmental Steward - wonder if they really just dump it all in the trash at the end of the day.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cress115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    50
    9
    15
    11
See reviews for
105
25
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Point, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I recently visited a friend in Columbus and stayed at Staybridge Suites. The rooms are exceptionally clean, spacious, and has a furnished kitchen. All of the staff members are very friendly and make you feel welcomed. I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Staybridge by far is the best hotel I will ever recommend anyone to stay during their visit to the Columbus area. They truly do define what the family feeling is and deliver what hospitality is. Just to sum the story up, me and my sister came to check in early and ran into some conflicts with the reservation our mom made and being that she was not here either didn't help. That's when the most warming thing happened to me. The manager came out to see what happened and what happen next was a miracle he took my word even knowing I was a stranger and treated me and my sister like family and checked us into our room my mom orginally reserved. The front desk receptionist helped out so much and the total experience was exceptional. I will definitely be sure to only come to this hotel when visiting the area and with that recommend anyone else looking for warming hospitality. To add that the manager also gave my son gummy worms free of charge let's just say he will be forever grateful for the manager kind acts.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

i loved everything about my stay at staybridge, the room, free dinner and cookies on Tuesdays Wednesdays and Thursdays, free breakfast every morning and especially the warm feeling you get when you first walk in, the staff is amazing, it doesn't matter who is at the front desk when you walk in you are always greeted with a smile. You can tell these girls love what they do........they really do treat you like friends or family there, It cant get any better than this. This is definitely my home away from home. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here while attending a graduation at Fort Benning. What can I say, the rate was good, breakfast was good, room was spacious and very clean. The hotel is also very quiet, which was appreciated. I also like that the staff puts a board up next to the desk with ideas of places to visit and things to do. I would definitely recommend to a friend and would stay again. A great place for business travel, personal travel or for families.

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knicksfan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The room is luxurious. Kitchen stocked with frying pan, kettle, steamer basket, and dishes & silverware. Clean!! Pet fee reasonable. Staff exceptional. Amanda & Sabrina went above and beyond my expectations. Social hour with dinner 3 nights a week! Breakfast every morning. What a value!!!! Thank you Staybridge !!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Trying to find a place to stay for 7 families was a lot harder than I thought it would be. We come to Columbus State University each year for OotM state competition and we WILL be staying with them each every year from now on!!! Amanda was SOOOO very helpful and accommodating and was able to get all the rooms we needed for our stay. The staff at checkin were so friendly and showing the kids where the theater room was, letting us know that they had meeting rooms for us to practice in. I've never had a staff go out of their way to make me feel so comfortable and welcomed! The room was very clean, spacious and very comfortable. Knowing we had to be at CSU at 7:15 they went out of their way to have the breakfast ready an hour early for all the teams staying there. I could go on and on! Just know, you will NOT be sorry to stay here. Wish we could have stayed longer! :)

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and all was FINE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENISEGLENN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Columbus
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus - Northeast
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Columbus Ft. Benning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Columbus Ft. Benning

Property: Staybridge Suites Columbus Ft. Benning
Address: 1678 Whittlesey Rd, Columbus, GA 31904-3646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Columbus
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#8 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Columbus Ft. Benning 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus - Fort Benning hotel provides guests with all the comforts of home. Ideally situated near the Columbus Metropolitan Airport (CSG),Fort Benning Military Base, Columbus State University, St. Francis Hospital and Hughston Orthopedic Hospital, Staybridge Suites Columbus - Fort Benning features upscale accommodations with easy access to top attractions and businesses in beautiful Columbus, Georgia. Long term guests of our pet friendly hotel in Columbus, GA can enjoy shopping at Columbus Park Crossing or strolling along the Chattahoochee River Walk. The Springer Opera House and the Coca Cola Space Museum are also close to our hotel, as they're just a short ride away in downtown Columbus, Georgia. Business oriented travelers appreciate our Columbus lodging near companies such as TSYS, Synovus Financial and Kellogg. To best accommodate our guests' needs, a conference room and a 24-hour business center are provided in addition to free high-speed Internet access. During your visit, we hope you will take advantage of our Columbus hotel's complimentary laundry services, outdoor pool, well-equipped fitness center and barbecue pavilion. In the morning, you can start your day by visiting our complimentary breakfast buffet, and in the evening, we hope you will join us during our Social Receptions. As you prepare for your trip, we invite you to explore our exceptional Columbus - Fort Benning hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Columbus Ft. Benning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Columbus Ft. Benning Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing