We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rude”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

i didnt even go the lady was so obnoxious on the phone. 'howard johnson express what do u want" and hung up before i was even finished... it was so sad the location is convient the hotel is plesant but sadly that lady scared me. over the phone none the less. it was early morning too. i didnt bother calling back or showing up, i found somewhere else to go in phenix city, cheaper and more plesant.... always soundy cheery on the phone and very help ful... thanks but no thanks to this place... what if i needed something important would she be rude to me all night? i didnt want to find out...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clair a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    50
    62
    80
    119
See reviews for
154
35
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I just wanted to say that our stay at Howard Johnson was so much fun. They gave us great service and hospitality. We really had all the comforts of home, internet, swimming, laundry room, and breakfast. Just wanted to Thank the staff for being so friendly and making us feel welcome from Texas. So Howard Johnson is our place to stay for our future vacations, thanks to your service. Sincerely, Vivian Cortez

Room Tip: Cleaned our rooms making them so clean and fresh smelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for the Miss GA Pageant week in June 2012 - Mom had read good reviews of this hotel on some sites, so thought the great deal offered (20% discount for greater than 3 night stay on HoJo website) as well as the location (less than 3 blocks from RiverCenter and uptown Columbus/Riverfront area) made this the perfect place to stay. The TV worked well, as did AC, and there was in-room fridge and microwave and free breakfast (which did NOT have many choices and only lasted until 9am) - that's it for the good points. The bad parts were: dirty carpet with "squishy" places that made you not want to walk on it, extremely small bathroom with lots of mildew on tub and shower walls and frequently variable water temperature that ranged from freezing to scalding, and a rubber band under the bed sheet on the mattress. My daughter and I went out and purchased small area rugs to place around the room so we could feel comfortable walking around in bare feet in the room, and we sprayed the shower/tub with spray-on bathroom cleaner. The room is in definite need of updating as well, but it would have been okay for the price IF THE CLEANLINESS ISSUES DID NOT EXIST.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAnnS538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anywhere USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I thought this was the hotel I stayed in 10 years earlier for the same reason but it wasn't. I was very dissatified with my stay. The carpet was dirty and so was the bathroom. I thought I was getting a good deal but I realized very quickly that you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BButterCup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Booked a room here last minute for my brother's 72 hr. pass from Ft. Benning. They have deals offered on their website on rates - got 15% off for staying at least 2 nights. The room was decent, pool was clean, staff is very friendly, free parking, free breakfast was ok and it's located within walking distance to the Riverwalk, Broadway shops, Coca Cola Space Center and several places to eat. Only drawbacks for me were the pool is locked until 10:00 am and there's really no other place to sit outside. And I noticed the room doors basically have to be slammed to make sure they're secure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvl_mama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I had the misfortune of staying at this decrepit hotel two days ago. Although it is situated near to the wonderful Columbus downtown area, it is in serious need of a major upgrade. The AC did not work (it was 94 outside) and the smell in the room was horrible. The only plus was the incredibly friendly staff. Avoid this hotel at all cost!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatormusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Maybe it was because I didn't meet Shane like the other reviewers did. This is an older hotel in serious need of updating. It was relatively clean (although I did find a contact not belonging to me in the tub). The air conditioning didn't work that well but that's okay because it was a cool day. The bathroom is really tiny...thank goodness the sink and vanity are separate. The fridge and microwave are nice touches. The bed was fine. I actually got a decent night's sleep. Having a separate living room is good for space. I didn't get to enjoy the complimentary breakfast since I got up later. Free wifi is a bonus. Close to the riverwalk and restaurants in the little square area. This place is fine for staying one night...not sure I would want to stay there much longer. If they spent some money to modernize it would rate great, but I guess Shane makes up for it! Oh go to Ruth Ann's next door for your meals...excellent food!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotGrlNextDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#15 of 46 in Columbus
476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Value Place Columbus Bldg. 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 46 in Columbus
208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA

Property: Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA
Address: 1011 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Columbus
Columbus Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing