We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed 3 June 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Micheal D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I had booked my hotel stay for 2 nights but only stay 1. I was still charge for 2 nights. As you can guess, I was very upset, because I thought I had booked the room through Howard Johnson Hotel Reservation. After speaking with Laura (the front desk clerk), she politely explain to me that Howard Johnson had only charge me for 1 night. I was not satisfied with her anwer because my bank statement showed charges for 2 nights.

I than requested to see her manager. When Cecil (the manager) came in, he could probably sense that I was a little ticked off. After I showed him my credit card statement, he carefully explain to me that I had book my stay through a travel agent not through their reservation service. The travel agent immediately charge card me for 2 nights, even before I checked in. Cecil advised me to see if could located the number that I had used to book the reservation, to see if they would reverse the charges. Fortunately, I was able to find the number. The agent call called HOJO and spoked to Laura. After speaking with her, he immediately put in a request to refund my card, he also gave me his agent number just incase I had farther issues with this transaction.

Long story short.....Laura and Cecil being polite, calm, courteous, while I was a little upset, made all the differents.

Thanks again Laura and Cecil

Frederick

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrquietstorm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecil W, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

mrquietstorm44 I am happy to see this review and I thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your experience with us! When traveling with so many options its too easy to get mixed up. But through my own experience I have learned some of the "ins" and "outs" of the industry and believe me if I was in your shoes I would have been upset too! This looks like Laura did exactly what she was supposed to do and that great! We try to encourage the team to always put themselves in the guests shoes and view the desk from the other side when there are any guest issues and this is an example that shows that has seemed to work. I thank you for this feedback and you are welcome back anytime mrquietstorm44. I wish you the best on all of your travels and please come back and see us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cecil W, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Safety seems to be a non-issue with this hotel. As a single woman, I felt afraid. There were several contractors drinking, cursing, and having a party outside my door at 11:00PM. I called the front desk and a young woman answered and said she would take care of it. She came down and told them to be quiet. For a few minutes they were quiet and then it started up again.
By this time, shifts had changed and a young man by the name of Evan came on duty. When I called again he told me that there was nothing he could do. He said he had no rooms (over half of hotel was empty) and that they had a right to do what they wanted to in their rooms. He also suggested that I go out and approach the group of drunk men and ask them to be quiet. I asked if there was a security man on duty and he said "No- security is only on duty when the hotel is full." After telling me the hotel was not full I pressed for another room. Eventually, he gave me another room. The room was fine and I finally got some sleep.

My point is that Evan should have given me another room immediately instead of arguing with me and making me feel helpless and vulnerable. I would not recommend this hotel to families or to single women . I know that I will not stay there again and probably will never stay at a Howard Johnson's again. If you want a safe, quiet and peaceful night's sleep DONT GO to the Howard Johnson Inn Express on Veteran's Parkway in downtown Columbus.

Room Tip: Ask before you take a room if there is security on duty at night. Especially if you are a woman tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlmac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecil W, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

jlmac25 I was horrified and and flat out angry when I heard about your experience here at our property and I took action imidietly. I cant believe that this was the kind of service you received from one of our employees and corrective action was taken swiftly. Your instance here will serve as a reminder to all of our employees of how not to handle a situation and horrible guest service. As a result of this we will be implementing changes at the property and begin to redefine how we meet our guests needs. Again jlmac25 I am deeply sorry that you had to go through something like this here and please accept my most sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cecil W, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 47 in Columbus
140 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 47 in Columbus
211 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 47 in Columbus
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#16 of 47 in Columbus
495 reviews
4.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA

Address: 1011 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31901-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: £41 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Columbus
Columbus Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing