We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem off the I-road” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoakies Bar-B-Que

Smoakies Bar-B-Que
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Cordele
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A gem off the I-road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

There was the billboard: Smoakie's Bar-B-Que, exit 102, left one mile (off of I-75 in Georgia). Let's go there for lunch and we did and wow! are we glad we did. It's just a little place with BBQ every which way - we learned we liked the vinegar based sauce best. Unfortunately they were out of fried green tomatoes as a side, but the cold slaw and onion rings were just fine. We both had pork sandwiches, I had the two little ones, and it was hot, lean, moist and tasty. Make the stop, don't stick with the chains that are at all the exits, go where the locals go, you won't regret stopping at this little, bright, clean hole-in-the-wall place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    34
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
708 reviews
488 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Mediocre Bbq, small portions, plastic utensils, expensive for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I am fine with dumpy places if the food is great, but the ribs were not too good, 4 tiny bones, onion rings out of a bag, OK but tiny slaw...for $10.25 plus drink at lunch. Won't be stopping here again....

Helpful?
Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

A little off the beaten track, not much to look at on the outside, a little shopworn inside, but if you're looking for great Bar-B-Q, this is the place. Friendly service & tasty food. Worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great real bar b q”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great pit stop on our way to Atlanta based on previous reviews. Only a mile off of 75... True southern bar b que. Super attentive and kind staff. Don't miss your chance at a great meal! Will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nateems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great ribs, nice people!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

True to other reviews, this little BBQ spot is a few miles out into the country (next to a corn field, to be exact), and the ribs are really good and DO fall right off the bone! Our fried green tomatoes were good, the baked beans were VERY good, and the ladies who serve the food were really friendly.

It seemed like all of the customers in there were locals, other than us. We liked that aspect.

But, despite good food, I felt a little sad for ol' Smoakie. The place really needs a good sprucing up. A good cleaning, fresh paint over the water leak stains on the ceiling, a few obvious repairs to be made, and a sprucing up of the exterior would greatly enhance the ambiance of this little BBQ joint.

Mom notes: Pretty clean restroom but you'll have to change the little one in the car as it is a tiny bathroom. Kids menu available. Friendly waitresses. Bring your own coloring book and crayons. Short wait for food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artMom93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoakies Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Smoakies Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing