We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE”
Review of Skyland Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skyland Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cornelia
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel staff was VERY nice. That being said, the rates are NOT what are posted on their website!! I booked a double room for somewhere to stay that was close to my wedding site. I was looking for cheap with good location. I booked a month in advance and was quoted a price of $35.00 a night ..... very cheap! When I got here they tried to charge me $50.00 a night ..... too much of a difference! AC is horrible, decor outdated and furniture needs to be thrown out because its lumpy and worn out. I was in room #4 which does have two bathrooms. One of them has a toilet and a sink, the other has a tub/shower and a sink .... no outlets in the bathrooms for hair dryers though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tina74682002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We were on our way to Helen, GA and took a wrong turn - We pulled into the first Motal we could find. We checked into two rooms next to each other and were offered a discounted price of $30 for each room - They were also kind enough to inform us that we really did not need to rush out. Before we left, they gave us not just directions to Helen, but also advice on the places to visit as wells as stay. We were so happy to have gotten lost and ended up at this motel for several reasons - Service, Clean, and did we mention Friendly People!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Email M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

A nice family owned an operated motel. Very dated rooms. It feels like staying in a motel from the 1960's, but it is clean and comfortable. I liked the retro decor.

Room Tip: The owners will negotiate room rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

From a giant, squashed, dead bug in the bathroom to not enough toilet paper to last two people 14 hours, I found myself disappointed in this affordable, but not-quite kept-up motel.
On the good side, the sheets were white and clean and there was an air conditioner (albeit a very loud one). Otherwise, it was a little run-down and there were some maintenence issues that should be attended.
It was ok, but not a place I enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grillus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cornelia hotels

alpharetta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

it is worth the cost you pay. i compared the rates of all other motels in nearby area and found this one is lowest with all good facilities which we generally expect in any room. clean, spacy, cable tv, phone, wifi everything.

management staff seems to be very kind and helpful all the time.
no issues at all.

Room Tip: i stayed in non-smoking 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jp123Alpharetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I worked as a contractor in Cornelia for five days and needed a place to stay, so I picked Skyland Motel. The motel is not a franchise but sure it is in a very nice location and chipper then any motel or hotel around it. The rooms are clean and nice almost like new. I also went to Helen Georgia witch is only about 20 mins away from the motel. I do recommend this motel to others if you want to save some money. I'll sure stay there again if I go back.

Room Tip: Try # 10 non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laylow7870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornelia
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Cornelia
Super 8 Cornelia
#2 of 4 in Cornelia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cornelia
Hampton Inn Cornelia
#1 of 4 in Cornelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Toccoa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Toccoa Inn and Suites
Toccoa Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Toccoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cornelia
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Cornelia
Days Inn Cornelia
#1 of 1 in Cornelia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland Motel

Property: Skyland Motel
Address: 263 S Main St, Cornelia, GA 30531-8009
Region: United States > Georgia > Cornelia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cornelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located Historic Downtown Cornelia,Nearby HELEN, GA. Habersham County Surround by a Wide Variety of Restaurants.Cocktails Lounges.Antique Stores and Specialty Shops on Bus. Hwy.441/105 and nearby Hwy.365/23 Free local calls, Free FAX service, Free WI- FI Air Conditioning (In Room),Balcony/Terrace,Bathtub,Hair Dryer,Radio/Alarm Clock,Refrigerator, Microwave oven, Shower,Telephone,Television,Cable-with HBO,CINEMAX,CNN ESPN,etc; UP ON Request: Wake-up Service,iron, iron- board, DVD Player available,Pets friendly, Non- Smoking, Smoking rooms available. Open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Skyland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing