We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place”
Review of Greyfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cumberland Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greyfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Our stay at Greyfield Inn was all I hoped for and more. We travel with another couple and we booked the small cottage. It was perfect - a living room with bedrooms and bath on both sides (no sharing of bathroom)- an area off the living room with a table, small frig, and coffee pot. It had a nice deck off the back with a table and chairs and an outdoor shower. A small front porch with two rocking chairs. Since we were across the "yard" from the main house, we were given flashlights to guide our way back from dinner. Umbrellas and bug spray were provided if needed.

We were honestly treated like family. You could invade the kitchen at all times. They always had fresh cookies in the cookie jar, a basket of chips, and a basket of fruit. We thought the meals were great. The picnic baskets they had for us were not your standard "lunchbox" meals. One day we walked to the beach and had our lunch there. We were the only people on the beach. We spent hours walking up and down picking up shells.

The tour they took us on was interesting. Riding in the back of the pickup was rough but we saw a Eagle, armadillos, lots of horses, deer, but no people. This really is a special place.

I would go back in a heartbeat, but this is not the place for someone who cannot relax. There are no telephones, television, or internet service. There are beautiful trees, clean beaches, old truins within walking distance. The only thing missing were hammocks. We played lots of cards, read alot, and did alot of walking. It was a wonderful, restful, three days.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nantippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2007

Without question this is one of the most unique and most wonderful places in the world... Cumberland Island is an unspoiled treasure and the the Greyfield Inn is a jewel. It is as though you've travelled back in time and are a house guest of a gilded age family.. the Inn is full of antiques and family photos.. it is all very interesting and very comfortable. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is excellant.. eating dinner with the other guests and hearing about what they saw and did during the day is delightful. I could sit on the front porch in the swing forever. The tour of the Island is well worth it. Thank God the island was saved and not turned in to an overdeveloped clone of Hilton Head. You stand on the beach at Cumberland and all you see is sand dunes, shells, shore birds, waves, and blue sky... for miles.. simply not to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2007

I booked this as a surprise for my husband for our 11th anniversary. We loved it and are already recommending it to all our friends. I thought the room rate was reasonable considering the destination and the fact that it's an all-inclusive. One of the concerns I had beforehand was that the staff and the other guests might be stuffy or pretentious and that we wouldn't be comfortable at the group dinner and cocktail hour. I couldn't have been more wrong. We met some really interesting people who, from my observation, were all there to relax and enjoy the natural beauty that is rapidly disappearing in the places where most of us live. The dinner/cocktail hour was like eating with family friends. Don't be put off by "jacket required." The dress doesn't have to be fussy and it brought back the dignity many dinners lack. Black pants or a skirt with a nice top is definitely fine for a woman. Sports coats were the norm for the men. Casual clothes for exploring the island and relaxing are fine for the rest of the time. Jamie Ferguson (one of the owners) was our host and guide for our jeep tour. He makes you feel like a family friend and his love for the island and it's history is obvious. Each room is unique. They've thought of everything. Don't miss this!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank let'sgomommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Just returned from a 2-night stay at the Greyfield. Enjoyed it very much. Beautiful island and house. We were concerned about the weather but it turned out OK. Windy and cloudy but no rain so we'll take it. Cool nights so we really enjoyed the fireplaces. Naturalist tour was interesting and definitely recommended. Cumberland is bigger than we thought, and not easy to bike with the bikes provided by Greyfield. (The roads are often very washboard bumpy or sandy - both tricky to bike on with not exactly state-of-the-art bikes.) The naturalist tour (by truck) was very bumpy, but worth it. Took us to the Plum mansion as well as the small church where the Kennedy wedding was.

Favorite part was venturing off by bike to Dungenness. Wild horses and turkeys all over. Got some great pictures. Easy to find and the road to Dungenness was very bike-able.

Greyfield staff was friendly and down to earth. They are not kidding when they describe dinner as a formal affair, however. Dresses for women and jackets (many in full suits/ties) for men. Besides dinner clothes, bring nothing but your most comfortable casual wear. Lots of "sand spurs" so long pants are recommended, or at least socks and/or high top durable hiking shoes. Bugs were not a problem for us, likely due to time of year and the windy weather.

We weren't sure about how sharing a bathroom with strangers and then eating dinner with strangers would be...not really "our thing" but it was fine. No conflicts with the bathroom and everyone was very nice. After talking to people who stayed in a cottage we were glad we stayed in the main house.

Highly recommend calling ahead to get the menu. If we had to make one minor complaint, it would be that there was no option at all when it came to all 3 meals. Especially at dinner, if you do not like the main dish, you are in trouble. Not a lot of other food besides the main course...basically 1 small salad. I happened to like what they made (shrimp, then duck), but others clearly did not. Remember that you can't go down the road and eat somewhere else on the island..there is nothing else.

Nature is the highlight. Wildlife, beaches, marsh areas, all beautiful and you hardly see any other people. The house itself is great. We felt very at home in all parts of the house.

All in all, we had a very nice time and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JaxSoxFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

I have been to Cumberland Island many times but I never had the luxury of sleeping in a bed! The Greyfield gave us the opportunity to do so. I have been visitng Cumberland since I was five years old. Not at The Greyfield. We took the ferry over from St. Mary's, GA when it was still a sleepy little town and no mention of Kingsbay Naval Base.
I loved the Greyfield. It was worth every penny. We loved the time we spent with the naturalist who knows the island so well. We had picnics everyday in front of Dungeness and rarely saw another person. It was like having the island to ourselves. When we came back to The Greyfield my husband really enjoyed the cocktail hour where you get to mingle with the other guests. Everyone was very interesting and had their story to tell, I just wish we had more time. I think because it's off the beaten path the people that visit appreciate the island more. You have to want to go! The food was excellent and they even had a steak every night for my husband who is the pickiest eater I've ever met. Just let them know ahead of time that you have dietary requests and they will honor them. Because they can't run off to the store and purchase one. I have nothing bad to say about our experience except that it was too short! That place is magical. Wish I was there now.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cumberlandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Gainesville GA
16
Reviewed 3 July 2006

We have stayed many times at the inn and have never been sorry or disappointed. The staff and owners allow you to feel as if you were part of the family. The food is delicious and you can request special dietary restrictions and/or requests if needed. This is a romantic, relaxing and unique experience for anyone over the ages of 12 or 13. Children would not appreciate the slow pace, lack of television, or the dining experience. There is no golf, tennis, etc. but if that does not interest you, you will fit right into the whole Greyfield experience. Since we do not need these things, we always leave having met new friends because they are there for the same reasons we were there. We already had a common interest---the Greyfield experiences. Riding bikes under the canopy of trees, enjoying the lack of commercialism, the solitude.The naturalist tours are terrific in all seasons and each time we return, we still discover new beauty and wildlife. Enjoy your stay---we always do and will return for years to come.

Stayed: September 2005
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2006

For an idyllic stay on a fantastic island steeped in history, we strongly recommend Greyfield Inn. Near the site of the last battle of the War of 1812, Cumberland Island was the home of Revolutionary War hero Nathaniel Greene and the burial place of "Lighthorse" Harry Lee, the father of Robert E. Lee. Our stay included a 4 1/2 hour tour of the island, most of which is owned by the National Park Service, given by Jamie Ferguson, whose family has inhabited the island for well over 100 years (the approximate age of Greyfield Inn).
First class service here, from the time your bags are picked up at the jumping-off place in Fernandina Beach Florida. We found a dedicated staff and a pleasant atmosphere, including time to mingle with the other, interesting guests during the evening cocktail hour. While we would not rate the food as highly as other reviewers, it was certainly not subject to complaints. And the expense at over $400 per night might cause you to hesitate booking a stay, we can assure you that this is a unique adventure on a pristine barrier island which cannot be duplicated.

Stayed: April 2006
11  Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland Island
8.1 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
690 reviews
19.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,258 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
215 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
777 reviews
8.2 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfield Inn

Address: Cumberland Island, GA 31527
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Cumberland Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cumberland Island
Price Range: £127 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Greyfield Hotel Cumberland Island
Greyfield Resort All Inclusive
Greyfield Inn Ga
Greyfield b&b Cumberland Island
Greyfield Inn Cumberland Island, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing