We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Greyfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cumberland Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greyfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
N Carolina USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed here in August 08 to celebrate an anniversary. The previous reviewer's comment about staying at a rich uncle's house was right on target. It's as if you are a guest in someone's home with the run of the house for the living room, porch, library, yard, kitchen etc. The staff is not visible at all times but helpful if needed. When you arrive, you are given a tour of the home and grounds, but then left to your own devices. There are interesting touches everywhere - insect repellent, an outdoor station to wash off your shells, small coolers to carry water, beach chairs, umbrellas, bikes, lots of porch chairs, constantly available fruit, cookies, drinks and books.

This would be a great place to stay if you appreciate history, antiques, conservation, unspoiled surroundings, independent activities, quiet, relaxation, beaches, biking, walking, reading, birdwatching, shelling, introspection and a helpful but inobtrusive staff.

Don't go if you need to be on the computer/phone or watching TV constantly or if you want staff to fawn over your every need or want. Also don't go if you can't appreciate the charm and beauty of an old house with low water pressure, slow to heat water, musty old books and stairs to walk.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travlbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    29
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
170
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

My family (wife, 16-year old son, 14-year old daughter) stayed at the Greyfield Inn for two nights. I wish it could have been longer. It truly is like visiting a rich relative's house, without having to put up with visiting with the relative. In our short stay we got to kayak, beach comb, swim, bike, hike and eat to our heart's content. My wife and I are planning our return trip without kids.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Greyfield Inn is the only lodging on Cumberland Island, 90% of which is a nature reserve under the US Park Service. You can only reach the island by ferry, and there are no TVs or phones at the Inn. (Blackberries work, however.) The room rate of $550 per night (not including service charge and taxes) includes all meals, ferry from Fernandina Beach, FL (near Jacksonville airport) to the island and back, use of bikes and kayaks, and an excellent half-day guided tour of the island (on wheels, with a bit of walking) by a naturalist.
The Inn is a former Carnegie family mansion with a great front porch (swings, revolving fans, rocking chairs) and shady grounds with beautiful old live-oak trees and local wildlife wandering through (while we were there: wild horses, wild turkeys, gopher tortoise, a baby alligator, and an armadillo). Birding opportunities are excellent on the island (habitats include forest, marsh and beach); there are many hiking trails, and the beach on the Atlantic side is magnificent: fine, soft sand, packed hard for good walking by the water, and pristine; water is shallow for a good way out, and warm). Food is over-abundant (we skipped the big 8:30 am eggs, grits and ham breakfast after the first day and just had granola and fruit at 7:30), and a bit disappointing, because they apparently don't serve local fresh seafood. It was still pretty good, however. For lunch the Inn packs you a hearty and tasty picnic basket, so you can eat on the porch, the lawn, the beach, the dock, or the woods.
This is a beautiful, tranquil getaway place. It gets hot in the summer, but rooms and dining room are air-conditioned, so you can get out of the heat for an afternoon nap and a pleasant dinner - family style with other guests, or your own private table, as you prefer.

  • Liked — Beauty of surroundings, tranquillity, "old South" charm with NO glitz
  • Disliked — Inn doesn't serve fresh local seafood
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

I really can't add much to all the other lovely comments--they were right on. If you are the type traveler we are, it doesn't get any better than this. Quiet, peaceful, historical surroundings, carefree days spent exploring and picnicking, reading in front of the great 24 hour fireplace, having conversations with the other guests, who you come to think of as part of your house party in an old country manor. The food was very good and plentiful, and the picnic baskets charming. Perfect for that total getaway, many guests seem to be celebrating milestone birthdays, it was my 50th birthday. Honeymooners who want a romantic special place to remember--this is it. No phones, tv, radio, music--heaven for a few days. Staff was topnotch and lowkey. Gratuities are included, but we gave more to our outstanding naturalist , Fred, and great bartender, Eric. You can not believe this is still there and preserved as it is. I hope it is always so.

  • Liked — peace and simplicity
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Ky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We had camped multiple times on Cumberland Island but decided to 'splurge' and stay at Greyfield. I can not think of anything that would have improved our visit. The employees and other guests were so friendly. When they say not to bring alot of items as they have most of everything they are telling the truth. The bikes from the bike barn were fine, the food was wonderful and there was plenty of it. There were beach chairs at the beach and beach towels at the Inn. There was also suntan lotion and bug repellent at multiple locations. The accomations (we stayed in the large cottage) was so nice. I think the atmosphere of being on Cumberland without TV or cell phones was a wonderful way to relax. It was like visiting friends on a wonderful island and also making new friends and going out to dinner with them every night. The 'dressing for dinner' was basically dressing for visiting friends for dinner. Women could just wear a nice 'Sunday' dress. Just be warned if you like golf courses, crowds, and shopping this is not the place to be. If you like meeting interesting people and seeing a barrier island as a barrier island should be then this is a jewel you should not miss.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patellaOwensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Our stay at Greyfield Inn was all I hoped for and more. We travel with another couple and we booked the small cottage. It was perfect - a living room with bedrooms and bath on both sides (no sharing of bathroom)- an area off the living room with a table, small frig, and coffee pot. It had a nice deck off the back with a table and chairs and an outdoor shower. A small front porch with two rocking chairs. Since we were across the "yard" from the main house, we were given flashlights to guide our way back from dinner. Umbrellas and bug spray were provided if needed.

We were honestly treated like family. You could invade the kitchen at all times. They always had fresh cookies in the cookie jar, a basket of chips, and a basket of fruit. We thought the meals were great. The picnic baskets they had for us were not your standard "lunchbox" meals. One day we walked to the beach and had our lunch there. We were the only people on the beach. We spent hours walking up and down picking up shells.

The tour they took us on was interesting. Riding in the back of the pickup was rough but we saw a Eagle, armadillos, lots of horses, deer, but no people. This really is a special place.

I would go back in a heartbeat, but this is not the place for someone who cannot relax. There are no telephones, television, or internet service. There are beautiful trees, clean beaches, old truins within walking distance. The only thing missing were hammocks. We played lots of cards, read alot, and did alot of walking. It was a wonderful, restful, three days.

  • Liked — Quiet and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nantippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

Without question this is one of the most unique and most wonderful places in the world... Cumberland Island is an unspoiled treasure and the the Greyfield Inn is a jewel. It is as though you've travelled back in time and are a house guest of a gilded age family.. the Inn is full of antiques and family photos.. it is all very interesting and very comfortable. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is excellant.. eating dinner with the other guests and hearing about what they saw and did during the day is delightful. I could sit on the front porch in the swing forever. The tour of the Island is well worth it. Thank God the island was saved and not turned in to an overdeveloped clone of Hilton Head. You stand on the beach at Cumberland and all you see is sand dunes, shells, shore birds, waves, and blue sky... for miles.. simply not to be missed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — having to depart
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland Island
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfield Inn

Property: Greyfield Inn
Address: Cumberland Island, GA 31527
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Cumberland Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cumberland Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Greyfield Hotel Cumberland Island
Greyfield Resort All Inclusive
Greyfield Inn Ga
Greyfield b&b Cumberland Island
Greyfield Inn Cumberland Island, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing