We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of it all!”
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Simple yet elegant. You can not beat the location. Really quaint boutique hotel. Love the fact that most rooms had a suite. It was great to be able to spread out. Great views. Special place for a quick getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishtarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is located in what it seems an old house, but it has been fully renovated, spacious rooms, and bathrooms, top notch toiletries, fresh linens, beautiful location on the heart of the prettiest little town. Loved my time there, definitely will go again if in the area. This is the type of hotel where the concierge will meet you, but after that they wont bother you again, there is no room service, is not that kind of hotel, you don't really need it, just around the corner there are a ton of little cafes, restaurant, etc. and if you like antiquing, you will be in the 5th heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Manhattan, gorgeous suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicainjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a great little boutique hotel right on the square in Dahlonega. Stayed here with my daughter to visit the University of North Georgia. It is walking distance to restaurants, shops, entertainment, bars, and UNG. The hotel has a great outdoor area and the rooms are well decorated and immaculate. The staff and owners are very friendly and responsive. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delaineAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a one night stay in the peak leave season. The hotel staff was excellent and the rooms were clean and very updated. It is in the center of downtown and convenient to walk anywhere in town. There is a patio configured with a fire pit. It appears controlled as we did not see wood readily available. I would recommend a second floor room as you readily here the activities on the upper floors. I would not splurge on the suite unless you plan to spend a lot of time in the room. The was a great clean place to stay very centrally located.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veggie201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights to assuage the pains of moving home. The location is ideal for central Dahlonega, and the building is an old motel which has been resolutely moved upmarket (though having a tuxedo shop on the premises is perhaps a step too far),

The hotel offers suites with separate bedroom and sitting room. The décor is reasonably fresh (though I dislike the glass bowl sink in the bathroom - just too "trendy"). Comfortable bed, two TVs, big whirlpool bathtub.
The brochure which offers a bottle of wine needs updating (or maybe that is offered only to special guests, which we obviously were not). No restaurant or breakfast - but with all of Dahlonega only a step away, who needs that?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodhake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Pros:
We came up for an event and were here a couple of nights. We were met in the parking lot by a young gentleman who took our bags to our upstairs room. That was great. Their customer service was really impressive. The hotel itself is old, old old. Maybe was an old house? Our room was small but was absolutely lovely. I loved the furnishings. Very country, but updated, too with nice touches. We only had a double bed and the bathroom/shower was basically adjoined so there was little privacy. (there was a sliding door with frosted glass and wood that was open at the top and bottom). That worked out ok.
The location is great. You're on the square and the rooms have wrought iron patio furniture so you can watch the activities. There's also seating out front near the street. I really liked that. You can walk to anywhere around the square or the college from here. Very laid back atmosphere.
The bed was very cozy and comfortable and everything was very very clean. I loved the hardwood floors and the furnished wine glasses. I would, without hesitation, stay there again.
Cons:
The room was not cheap. It was really overpriced but this being a college town with multiple events for a variety of populations, I'm sure that keeps out clientele that might not respect the lovely, quaint furnishings.
Parking was awful. There were literally no parking spaces when we arrived and we were told to temporarily park in a handicapped spot. Once we parked we didn't move the car again. The lovely young woman at the front desk actually apologized for the inconvenience. The hotel shares parking with 2 public parking areas that has local employees as well as tourists parking there. There were no events Sunday morning and someone waited for us to leave to get our parking space because there were none available.

Room Tip: Travelers with mobility issues need to request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiselass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great hotel, perfect location! The staff was very accommodating. I highly recommend Park Place. I was able to park my car and walk everywhere. Great restaurants, candy stores and shopping within steps of the hotel. I felt very safe.

Room Tip: Room 5 has an amazing King Size Bed, hardwood floors, great walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshleyWo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.3 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
357 reviews
18.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 27 S Park St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1211
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: £96 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Place is a special upscale Inn located on the Historic Square in downtown Dahlonega. The Suites are detailed with all the luxuries of the finest Hotels, from beds, linens, climate control, wet bars, flat screen televisions, Starbucks coffee and complimentary wine. The spacious one room Suites and two room Suites are all unique in furnishings, however their cleanliness, decorations and fine details are like no other, even compared with the larger Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing