We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remote, But Close”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega
Ranked #5 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remote, But Close”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the MTL. It feels quite remote while driving to the top of the mountain, but you are within 10 minutes of activities and restaurants. Everything was really clean, comfortable and cozy. Our only complaint were the people above us - they seemed to enjoy moving furniture and getting in a 6am workout on both Sat and Sun while we were there. We stayed in room 11 which was in one of the outer buildings and I would definitely recommend the location, but perhaps in an upper room instead so that you don't have the possibility of noisy guests above. Other than that, we had a beautiful view from our cozy room and enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Top Lodge.

Room Tip: The outer building rooms are great, but I would get one on the upper floor to avoid any noisy guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainTopInnkeeper, Owner at Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the problem caused by the guests above you. Thank you for choosing the Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    23
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
124
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you are picky about where you stay, like me, don't stay here! Smelled like "Grandma's" house and low ceilings in main room (had to be 7") made me claustrophobic. The only positive about the place was that it was clean. Other than that, I don't have anything nice to say. I guess if you aren't picky it's fine, but if you are, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperFab1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainTopInnkeeper, Owner at Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for visiting our lodge. I regret that it didn't fit your personal tastes.

I appreciate that you enjoyed our cleanliness and service. The rustic wood décor, local art pieces and antiques create a charming experience that so many people look forward and enjoy when they come to the mountains. The natural cedar-clad ceilings in the 1st floor bedrooms are 8ft (not 7ft as indicated), and the hallway is open construction approximating 9ft height. The large cedar-clad Great Room provides relaxing public space and the ceiling is 19 feet high.

It is difficult to respond to the "smell" comment. We use standard products (ex: sanitizing bleach, courtesy sprays for the bathrooms) but don't use any odor masking sprays (ex: Febreze) for the soft-furnishings (ex: rugs, furniture). Perhaps you were aware of another guest's perfume or cologne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Paul Carmody, Inkeeper is welcoming and his B&B is a great place to stay. The large home is quaint and charming and its located in a picturesque area. The grounds are beautiful. The breakfasts Paul makes are delicious and the coffee is good too. You won't go wrong! Its quiet, relaxing, clean and the attentive hospitality you will enjoy! from L.Jacobson

Room Tip: We were in Room #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The stay was wonderful and the hosts were delightful. The breakfast was the best home cooked breakfast I ever had. Beautiful view and property. The inn was very clean and homey. Close to hiking and many small towns to visit.
Just a lovely place for a getaway. Another plus close to several wineries.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkistall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying the weekend at the Mountain Top Lodge and it was perfect. We have had a previously had a negative experience with a bed and breakfast in Helen did not know what to expect. Were we pleasantly surprised. The Inn and room were immaculate and the grounds well kept.
The Host/owner is a gentleman with a great personality and is a pleasure to sit and chat with. Not to mention he is a fabulous chef.

We will be going back and will recommend the Inn to everyone we know of who would appreciate all that the Mountain Top Lodge has to offer.
Georgia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, GA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed during the wine festival and although the wineries were crowded, Mountain Top Lodge was very peaceful. We were about 5 minutes from downtown but still felt that we were very secluded at the lodge. We stayed in room 10. It was definitely worth the couple extra bucks to stay in that room. The remote control fireplace and private balcony were great. There was also a huge jetted tub in the bathroom. There was a small fridge and little amenities like wine glasses, books, and coffee in the room that just made it extra special. The room was very clean. Also, Paul and his wife were very nice. They served a nice breakfast each morning of baked goods, fruit, and an omelet/quiche and breakfast meats. My husband and I had a great break from the rat race. My only minor suggestion is that the bed we slept on was too hard for our taste but it didn't affect our experience and we will definitely recommend the lodge to others!

Room Tip: Room 10 is worth it with fireplace, private balcony, and huge jetted tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I love to head to the mountains to have some needed rest for myself and do some local photography as my hobby. I wanted to find a special retreat of beauty and quietness for this special week. This bed and breakfast is just what was needed: a peaceful and incredible week. It is beautiful, and beautifully maintained. Paul, the innkeeper, was very hospitable, and quite the host and cook. Loved each breakfast, especially what one reviewer noted as the baked egg and cheese, along with fresh peach jam and biscuits, and views on a summer day. Everything as noted by other reviewers is true: the room, facilities, grounds were spotless; service was excellent as well. My room overlooked a balcony and I was delighted to catch a view of a mother deer and her babies one early morning. Paul helped with directions to places to visit as well. I will definitely visit again, but hopefully with my husband the next time. Well worth staying here at this gem of a place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
8.7 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lily Creek Lodge
Lily Creek Lodge
#8 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega

Property: Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega
Address: 447 Mountain Top Lodge Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-4464
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the country B&B charm of this secluded 14 acre estate property. Relax on the decks and porches of the main lodge or the romantic Hillside Lodge. Choose from 12 bedrooms, some with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, decks and separate entrances. Inviting decor using antiques, regional art pieces and quilts create a warm and 'country rustic' feel. Full breakfast; WIFI ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Top Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing