We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home base for Slackpacking the Georgia AT”
Review of Hiker Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hiker Hostel
Ranked #4 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic home base for Slackpacking the Georgia AT”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the best place to stay when slackpacking the Appalacian Trail in Georgia. We stayed here for a week and it was like home away from home. It felt like a bed and breakfast but you share a room and bathroom with three other people. Leigh, Josh, and Willie were fantastic. The breakfast was hearty and delicious and the hostel was extremely clean and homey. It is well priced and the shuttle service was a fantastic feature. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebo, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have been using the Hiker Hostel as my launching point for several Appalachian Trail treks over the years now. Can’t say enough good things about Josh and his wife. They are the best. Shuttle service, laundry, will hold mail drops/resupply packages. It doesn’t get any better than this. Highly recommended for anyone hiking the AT, weather your are just starting, slack packing or a SOBO (south bounder) ending your adventure at Springer Mountain. Mega thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlingshotGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Eight of my friends and members of the Virginia Old Dominion Appalachian Trail Club (ODATC) were hosted by this combination hostel / B&B for a week while we hiked most of the Georgia section of the Appalachian Trail. The hostel offers a very reasonably-priced package of "slackpacking" the AT that members of our club have taken advantage of twice this year. Our hosts carried us out to sections of the AT each day and then picked us up each evening to return to the hostel. Their hostel was very cozy and relaxing and included a wonderful large breakfast each morning before we left for the trail. The hosts were extremely accommodating and the bunk-rooms were sparse but comfortable with unlimited hot water. Each bunk-room held four people and had its own bathroom. The nearby town of Delonega included numerous excellent restaurants that we took advantage of each evening. However, tired hikers can bring their own groceries and use the guest kitchen to make their own dinner. I hardily recommend this package and hostel for the discriminating yet avid hiker!

Room Tip: For maximum savings, choose a bunk in the bunk-room. For maximum luxury, choose a double guest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hostel prior to and after a 3day hike trip. Everything said is true. They were very accommodating with information, transportation to and from the area and with our rooms. Being a bit older I was a little concerned too that we would feel out of place, as hostels from my younger years definitely had a different "experience". This was like staying at a great B&B with a bunch of new friends. Highly recommend to hikers or cyclists coming to the area. We will see them next year for sure!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Geriwkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

After a bunch of scary movies in the 90's the idea of staying in a hostel was not on the top of my list. What a wonderful surprise when i got there. It was like having your own log cabin that you share with some extended family members. This place was very comfortable to sleep at and breakfast was included. As long as you are not an introvert you will love the homestyle breakfast. Their is a guest kitchen down stairs and plenty of movies to watch if you have had enough hiking. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batmaninsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hiker Hostel one night as we were stopping through Georgia to do a day hike up Blood Mountain. We arrived later than planned due to traveling in the rain, but we were happily greeted and shown around the cabin. We stayed in a bunk room on the third floor, which was very clean and pleasant. The whole cabin has a clean and comfortable feel to it. A hearty breakfast of french toast, eggs, grits, and oatmeal was served at 7:30 in the morning, all personally prepared by Josh and Leigh. There was Wi-Fi throughout the cabin, and a full kitchen for guest use downstairs. All the other guests appeared to be hiking the Appalachian Trail so it made for interesting conversation. We are new to hiking and were definitely inspired by the people that we met and the general atmosphere of the hostel. We would like to return and spend multiple days hiking in Georgia.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyReverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

After all the great reviews we saw online, we wanted to check it out and it was as wonderful as everyone else said - maybe even better!!

We stayed in one of their private rooms so it felt more like a B&B than a hostel. Can't say enough nice things about the staff, the house, the location, the breakfast! Everything was beyond what you would expect for a hostel and for the price. Exceptional value!

Also we were traveling with our Australian labradoodle and they were not only pet friendly but didn't even charge a pet fee or deposit!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
12.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
16.2 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lily Creek Lodge
Lily Creek Lodge
#8 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiker Hostel

Property: Hiker Hostel
Address: 7693 Highway 19 N, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1968
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing